The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) original located in Novi, Michigan from 1989 to 2015 moved to Daytona International Speedway and opened in July 2016. The MSHFA celebrates the achievements of those participating in all forms of motorsport: Sports Cars, Open Wheel, Motorcycles, Stock Cars, Land Speed Records, Off-Road, Drag Racing, Powerboats and Aviation. Along with vehicles of historical significance are bronze sculptures of the 230 MSHFA inductees.

The mission of the Hall of Fame is to celebrate and instill the American core values of leadership, creativity, originality, teamwork and spirit of competition embodied in motorsports.

One of the unique displays at the Hall of Fame is a diorama which includes Sir Malcolm Campbell’s Campbell-Railton Blue Bird. Campbell was known for his speed record exploits on both land and water during the 1920s and 1930s. The 10,000-pound Blue Bird is powered by a V12 supercharged Rolls-Royce engine producing over 2,300-horsepower. In 1935, he succeeded in travelling over 300-mph at the Bonneville Salt Flats.
Appearing in another diorama is Henry Ford’s 999. The 999 was constructed by Ford and Tom Cooper. The car’s name came from the Empire State Express No. 999 locomotive that became the first vehicle to exceed 100-mph. The car weighs 2,730-pounds and the motor produces 80-horsepower. The 999 was successfully campaigned by Barney Oldfield and is credited with launching the Ford Motor Company.
Mounted on a ‘high bank’ display is Dale Earnhardt’s, Chevrolet Monte Carlo. Earnhardt had a long list of achievements during his racing career – some of the highlights include: NASCAR Winston Cup Series Champion – 1980, 1986, 1987, 1990, 1991, 1993 and 1994 and winning his first and only Daytona 500 in 1998. A year after his death in 2001, he was posthumously inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America.
Representing IndyCar is the Target Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara raced by Scott Dixon. The 1,550-pound Dallara is powered by a 3.8-liter V8 engine which produces 700-horsepower. The car can reach a top speed of 232-mph. This particular chassis, the IR6-4, racked up eight victories beginning at Nashville in 2006 and ending in 2010 at Kansas. One these eight wins also included the 2008 Indianapolis 500.
Another car mounted on the ‘high bank’ display is a replica of the 1959 Indianapolis 500 winning race car driven by Rodger Ward. This Watson Roadster is called the Leader Card Special. Powered by a four-cylinder Offenhauser engine the Watson chassis won five Indy 500s between 1959 and 1964. In 1959 and 1962, Ward won Indy 500 and the USAC National Championship.
Best known for competing in endurance events with Porsches, the late Peter Gregg also raced in the Can Am series. Gregg drove this 1970 Lola T-165. The 1,800-pound Lola is powered by a Chevrolet engine. The motor which was built by Jim Hall’s Chaparral organization allowed the Lola to reach speeds over 200-mph.
At the exit of the Hall of Fame is Denny Hamlin’s No. 11 FedEx Express Toyota Camry which won the 2016 Daytona 500. The car is still covered with the ‘battle scars’ from the race and confetti from the victory celebration. Hamlin earned his first Daytona 500 victory in the event’s closest finish. He beat Martin Truex Jr. also in a Toyota by 0.010-seconds.
In the Drag Racing area was the 1968 Sox & Martin Barracuda. This Plymouth competed in the very popular Super Stock class. The Barracuda weighs 3,000-pounds and is powered by a engine which produces about 975-horsepower. In 1970, based on the success of this category, the Pro Stock class was introduced which still exists today.
Also included in the Hall of Fame are motorcyclists and their motorcycles. This is Bruce Penhall’s 1982 Weslake Speedway Motorcycle. This category of motorcycle racing uses a single cylinder 500-cc motor running on methanol fuel. The bikes have a single gear and are not equipped with brakes. Penhall retired after winning the 1982 World Championship.
During his racing career, Peter Gregg enjoyed most of his victories competing in Porsches. One of Porsches most success models was the 935. Exhibited, is Gregg’s 1979 Brumos Porsche 935 which he used to win his last IMSA championship. The car is equipped with a six-cylinder 3.2-liter turbocharged engine which produces 680-horsepower. The 2,255-pound Porsche will reach speeds over 200-mph.
This is a 1914 Stutz Bearcat race car. The company started in 1911, was called the Ideal Motor Car Company which was eventually changed to Stutz after the founder Harry Stutz. The company prepared and entered three Bearcats in the 1914 Indianapolis 500. The 2,300-pound car uses a four-cylinder Wisconsin engine which produces about sixty-horsepower. American racing legend, Barry Oldfield finished fifth in the team’s first appearance.
Also mounted on the high bank exhibit is Kenny Bernstein’s Budweiser King Buick Funny Car. Bernstein won his first Funny Car championship in 1985 and successfully defended his title from 1986 to 1988. He was nicknamed ‘The King of Speed’ as he was the first driver to run over 300-mph on a quarter mile track. In 2009, Bernstein was inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America.
Representing Boat Racing is the 1966 Viking Spirit Race Boat of Bob Nordskog. The nineteen-foot boat is fitted with a Chevrolet engine which produces approximately 550-horsepower. Nordskog dominated the sport and earned the nickname ‘Iron Man’ as he often competed without a relief driver.

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016

Return to home page.