2024 marks the eighteenth season of the Canadian NASCAR championship.

The season opens on May 19 at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park and thirteen races later, it ends on September 24 at Delaware Speedway.

  • May 19 - Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
  • June 1 - Autodrome Chaudiere
  • June 22 - Eastbound International Speedway
  • June 29 - Riverside International Speedway
  • June 30 - Riverside International Speedway
  • July 11 - Ohsweken Speedway
  • July 20 - Sutherland Automotive Speedway
  • July 27 - Edmonton International Raceway
  • August 11 - Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres
  • August 17 - Delaware Speedway
  • August 24 - Circuit ICAR
  • September 1 - Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
  • September 22 - Autodrome Montmagny Speedway

The cars competing in the NASCAR Canada Series are constructed to specifications and rules common to most stock car series. The chassis is a steel tube frame design covered with a fiberglass body and must weigh no less than 3000-lbs. Body styles are from manufacturers such as Dodge (Challenger), Ford (Mustang) and Chevrolet (Camaro). Engine type and displacement are dictated by the make and model of the vehicle. The carbureted eight-cylinder motors produce approximately 550-horsepower. Depending on the gearing, these cars are estimated to have a top speed of 160-mph.

Round one of the 2024 NASCAR Canada Series was held at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. Drivers would compete on the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course for fifty-one laps in an event titled the ASSA ABLOY Accentra 200.

The contest was extended to fifty-three laps due to a late race caution.

Thirty competitors stream into Canadian Tire Motorsport Park’s corner one for the start of the ASSA ABLOY Accentra 200. At the head of the pack is the pole-sitter, Gary Klutt, in the No. 59 Bothwell-Accurate / Dodge Challenger. Beside Klutt is the other front-row starter, Kevin Lacroix, driving the No. 74 NAPA Auto Parts-sponsored Dodge Challenger. Immediately behind the leaders are GM Paille teammates Marc-Antoine Camirand and Andrew Ranger.
The 2022 NASCAR Canada champion, Marc-Antoine Camirand, got this season off to an excellent start. Last year at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, he led until the final corner on the last lap but was pushed wide and finished second. Camirand qualified the No. 96 GM Paille Chevrolet Camaro third fastest. He was in contention all day, leading a total of thirteen laps. He grabbed the top spot when Kevin Lacroix retired, and despite pressure from Gary Klutt, he claimed the victory.
Gary Klutt is always a threat to win at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. He has finished on the podium five times, one of which was a victory in 2015. Klutt was the fastest during qualifying and put the No. 59 Bothwell-Accurate Dodge Challenger on the pole.  He led the first five laps of the race before being passed by Kevin Lacroix. Klutt was third on the final restart, but he slipped by L.P. Dumoulin while Dumoulin was battling with Marc-Antoine Camirand and earned a runner-up result.
Another driver having a stellar outing was the three-time NASCAR Canada champion L.P. Dumoulin. Dumoulin and his team put in a lot of work in preparation for the season’s first event.  It paid off as he qualified fifth fastest in the No. 47 WeatherTech Dodge Challenger. As the contest concluded, Dumoulin was in second and challenging Marc-Antoine Camirand for the lead. However, in an effort to get by Camirand, he was passed by Gary Klutt and finished third.
Sam Fellows made his NASCAR Canada series debut in 2021. Unfortunately, he raced with older equipment and couldn’t showcase his talent. In the off-season, the team had a new car constructed by McColl Racing Enterprises. The decision paid off as Fellows went faster each time on the track and qualified fourteenth in the No. 87 AER / Polysleep  / Mobil 1 Chevrolet Camaro. Excellent driving and race strategy was rewarded with a fourth-place result – his first series top-five result.
Kevin Lacroix holds the record for the most victories at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. His seventh came in last year’s September event. During the off-season, he partnered with the newly formed Innovation Autosport team. Lacroix topped the time sheet in practice and qualified second by just 0.032 seconds slower than the pole. Lacroix would lead the most laps in the race but was left stranded when the transmission failed on lap 41.
After several seasons in the NASCAR Xfinity Series, the 2017 NASCAR Canada champion, Alex Labbe, has come back to contest all thirteen rounds. Labbe is piloting the No. 36 Lussier Chevrolet / AB Express Chevrolet Camaro. He recorded the eighth fastest time in practice for the ASSA ABLOY Accentra 200. In qualifying, Labbe could not go any quicker and started eighth. He put in a solid run and crossed the finish line in fifth place.
Series veteran D.J. Kennington returned for another season in the No. 17 Castrol Edge / CIM Metals / Brimstone Games Dodge Challenger. During practice, the two-time NASCAR Canada champion (2010 and 2012) was fourteenth fastest in a field of thirty entries. Kennington’s performance in qualifying was only slightly better, and he was gridded thirteenth for the fifty-one-lap contest. He kept out of trouble and advanced seven positions to finish sixth.

13Marc-Antoine CamirandGM Paille Chevrolet / Chevrolet Camaro53-
21Gary KluttBothwell-Accurate / Dodge Challenger53-
35L.P. DumoulinWeatherTech/Omnifab / Dodge Challenger53-
414Sam FellowsAER/Polysleep / Chevrolet Camaro53-
58Alex LabbeAB Express / Chevrolet Camaro53-
613D.J. KenningtonCastrol Edge/Spark Power / Dodge Challenger53-
710Jean Philippe BergeronProlon Controls/Rousseau Metals / Ford Mustang53-
84Andrew RangerGM Paille Chevrolet / Chevrolet Camaro53-
912L.P. MontourGilles Leduc Electricity / Chevrolet Camaro53-
107Alex TaglianiSt. Hubert/NTN/Qwick Wick / Chevrolet Camaro53-
1118Ryan KluttLegendary Motorcar / Chevrolet Camaro53-
1216Jason HathawayASSA ABLOY/Leland Industries / Chevrolet Camaro53-
1326Steve CoteEnvirum / Chevrolet Camaro53-
149Peter KluttLegendary Motorcar / Dodge Challenger53-
1525Herby DrescherGlenn Styres Racing / Dodge Challenger53-
1617Malcolm StrachanCurb Records/DarkhorseTrailers / Chevrolet Camaro53-
1722Larry JacksonO'Neil Electric/Castrol / Dodge Challenger53-
1828Domenic ScrivoSierra Excavating / Chevrolet Camaro53-
1923Glenn StyresGSR/Ohsweken Speedway / Chevrolet Camaro53-
2030David ThorndykeThorsons EVT / Chevrolet Camaro53-
2111Danny ChisholmJani-King Canada / Chevrolet Camaro53-
226Daniel BoisSierra Excavating / Chevrolet Camaro52-
2321Simon CharbonneauTransGestion Vehicle Transport / Chevrolet Camaro52-
2429Benoit CoultureBen & Florentine / Dodge Challenger52-
2515Dexter StaceyReCap Products / Chevrolet Camaro49-
2620Matthew ScannellNitro 54 Variety / Dodge Challenger46-
2719Thomas NepveuRichelieu Ford/Home Hardware / Ford Mustang45Electrical
282Kevin LacroixNAPA Auto Parts / Dodge Challenger41Transmission
2924Wallace StaceyK-Fibre Optic / Chevrolet Camaro32Accident
3027Michael GoudieMuskoka Aircraft / Ford Mustang9Transmission

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022 and 2023

Return to home page.