Now in its thirty-fourth year, the Ontario Stock Car Association of Asphalt Racers (OSCAAR) is responsible for sanctioning two divisions: Modified and Hot Rod.

On November 1, 2022, it was announced that OSCAAR had merged with the United Racing Series. The relationship increases OSCAAR’s resources and allows the United Racing Series to expand its brand and footprint in motorsports.

In other news, JRS signed on as the title sponsor for the Hot Rod division.

Twelve races are on the 2024 JRS Auctions OSCAAR Hot Rod schedule.

  • June 1 - Flamboro Speedway
  • June 15 - Sauble Speedway
  • June 28 - Delaware Speedway
  • June 29 - Delaware Speedway
  • July 13 - Full Throttle Speedway
  • August 3 - Peterborough Speedway
  • August 17 - Sauble Speedway
  • August 24 - Sunset Speedway Speedway
  • September 7 - Delaware Speedway
  • September 21 - Brighton Speedway
  • October 5 - Flamboro Speedway
  • October 12 - Peterborough Speedway

The cars competing in the championship are constructed to specifications and rules common to most stock car series. What makes the Hot Rod division unique are the makes and models that compete in the division. The cars must be North American, have a steel body and have been produced between 1949 and 1984. No convertibles or front-wheel-drive vehicles can participate in this series. Changes to the rules in the off-season included the addition of pick-up trucks and an increase in the eligible year range from 1974 to 1984. The Hot Rods must have a stock roof, grill, tail and the rest of the body panels can be fabricated from 22-gauge sheet steel but must retain a stock appearance. Many other rules governing this class are for safety and to keep the costs down.

The JRS Auctions OSCAAR Hot Rod series began its 2024 campaign on June 1st at Flamboro Speedway. The event, titled the Bill Zardo Memorial, was a forty-six-lap contest around the 1/3-mile semi-banked asphalt oval.

Thirteen JRS Auctions OSCAAR Hot Rod competitors made the call for the feature on the opening night at Flamboro Speedway. Pacing the field is the No. 2 HMCW 1986 Chevrolet Monte Carlo driven by Tyler Hawn. Beside Hawn is Trevor Thompson in the No. 00 Aston Tool and Machine 1971 Chevrolet Camaro. Row two is occupied by Rob Bromley, driving the No. 6 Bromley Automotive 1972 AMC Javelin and Cole Weber's No. 9 1968 AMC Ambassador.
The three-time OSCAAR Hot Rod champion, Tyler Hawn, replaced his trusty 1966 Pontiac Beaumont with a 1986 Chevrolet Monte Carlo this season. The car made its first appearance at Sunset Speedway in the track's Hot Rod division, but Hawn hit the wall and finished seventh.  With repairs made, Hawn earned a second place and victory in the heats. He started the feature on the pole, and despite two red flags that bunched the field, Hawn went flag to flag for the win.
Rob Bromley had a couple of cars to choose from and picked the No. 6 Bromley Automotive 1972 AMC Javelin for round one. In his first heat race, Bromley finished fourth, but in the second qualifier, he grabbed the victory. Bromley was gridded third for the forty-six-lap final. He moved into the runner-up position on the lap-11 restart. However, Bromley could not match the pace of the leader, Tyler Hawn, and finished second.
Kenny McNicol, Jr. debuted his 1977 Chevrolet Laguna at Flamboro Speedway. The car is sporting the Hy-Gain livery as raced by Dale Earnhardt. McNicol encountered issues throughout practice, which the crew worked hard to resolve.    He won his first heat race; however, trouble struck again and McNicol failed to finish the second qualifier. He lined up eighth for the final contest but fell to ninth place early. Then McNicol began to move forward and was third at the checker.
Three cars encountered engine issues in the season opener at Flamboro Speedway. The first was the No. 47T Chevy II of Thomas Wunsch in practice. The next motor to explode was Ryan Cowan's No. 13 1959 Pontiac Bonneville on lap 10 of the feature. He dropped fluid between turns three and four, which resulted in a red flag. The next race stoppage was caused when the engine in Steve McCaw's No. 4 Chevrolet Camaro let go on lap 20.
The top three finishers for the Bill Zardo Memorial at Sunset Speedway. In the center is the winner, Tyler Hawn, who took command of the race on the opening lap and faced no serious challenges. On the left is the runner-up, Rob Bromley. Bromley also had a 1972 Dodge Challenger at his disposal but decided to go with his 1972 AMC Javelin. The final spot is occupied by Kenny McNicol, who debuted with his 1977 Chevrolet Laguna.

11Tyler Hawn1986 Chevrolet Monte Carlo46-
23Rob Bromley1972 AMC Javelin46-
38Kenny McNicol, Jr.1977 Chevrolet Laguna46-
44Cole Weber1964 Rambler Ambassador46-
56Steve Book1960 Studebaker Hawk46-
62Trevor Thompson1971 Chevrolet Camaro46-
712Steve Ecker1970 Chevrolet Camaro46-
813Dave Evison Sr.1964 Chevrolet Chevy II/Nova46-
97David Rockwood1974 Pontiac Firebird23Unknown
105Steve McCaw1978 Chevrolet Camaro20Engine
1111Connor Ellis1968 Chevrolet Chevelle20Accident
129Travis Farrow1965 Pontiac Firebird19Accident
1310Ryan Cowan1959 Pontiac Bonneville10Engine
--Hailey McNicol1971 Chevrolet C10-Did Not Start
--Thomas Wunsch1965 Chevrolet Chevy II-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020

Return to home page.