2024 marks the tenth season of the very successful United Racing Series.

The 2024 APC United Late Model championship kicks off on the Victoria Day weekend at Sunset Speedway with a race called the Dayco 100. In early June, the teams make the first of two stops at Flamboro Speedway for the Spectra Premium 100. In the middle of June, the Peterborough 100 is held at Peterborough Speedway. On the Canada Day weekend, drivers compete at Delaware Speedway during the NTN BCA 100. The next race sees the championship make its final appearance at Flamboro Speedway for the London Recreational Racing 100. Then in early August teams compete at Sauble Speedway. Round seven, called the Stewart's / Kubota 200, will take place at Sunset Speedway. The penultimate event of 2024 is at Sauble Speedway and is titled the Stewart's / Kubota 100. Titles are determined on September 7th at Delaware Speedway in Castrol's Great Canadian 300.

The series rules remain unchanged from last season, with the cars constructed to specifications and controls common to most stock car series. The chassis is a tube frame covered with fiberglass bodies. A car can weigh as much as 2800-lbs depending on the engine choice. Crate motors from General Motors (GM 604 & GM 602) and Ford (347) are used in the series. Competitors use a spec tire from American Racer and Bilstein A2 shock absorbers to regulate expenses. There are also rules restricting the options for transmissions, ignition components, body material, brakes, etc.

To determine the starting order of the race, drivers participate in a qualifying session. The five fastest qualifiers selected starting positions one through five during a random draw. Before each race, the cars receive a technical inspection and are impounded until the start of the event.

A new restart procedure was introduced in 2023 by series officials for the APC United Late Model and Dayco Super Stock divisions called the 'choose rule.' On restarts, competitors are allowed to choose their lane. Their selection may be determined by the condition of the track, how many cars are ahead of them or the handling of their vehicle. If a driver changes their choice after the designated 'choose spot,' they must start from the rear of the field.

A special announcement for this season is the NTN BCA Bearings Triple Crown. Three marquee events, held at August 3rd at Sauble Speedway (150 laps), August 10th at Sunset Speedway (200 laps) and September 7th at Delaware Speedway (300 laps). The three-race mini-series has a prize fund of $15,000. First place pays $3,500, second $2,500, third $2,000 and fourth thru tenth $1,000.

The 2024 APC United Late Model championship opening round for Pro Late Models was held at Sunset Speedway. Drivers would compete in the Dayco 100, a one-hundred-lap contest around the 0.333-mile banked asphalt oval.

The pace lap for round one of the 2024 APC United Late Model championship. The event, held at Sunset Speedway, was a one-hundred-lap contest sponsored by Dayco Belts and Hoses. Starting on the pole was Josh Stade, driving the No. 17 Pioneer-sponsored Toyota Camry. Sharing the front row with Stade was track regular Dale Shaw in the No. 83 Wellington Systems Inc. Chevrolet SS. Behind the leaders are seventeen other competitors.
On Saturday evening, APC United Late Model veteran Jr Farrelly won his first series event. Farrelly, driving the No. 72 Berne Workwear / Peavey Mart Chevrolet SS, started the feature in the eighth spot. He wasted little time moving forward. Contact between Blair Wickett and Taylor Holdaway allowed him to move up the order and challenge the leader, Dale Shaw. In the end, Farrelly defended against Shaw and Wickett for the victory.
After not competing in the 2023 season, the series' inaugural champion, Dale Shaw, returned and finished in the runner-up position. Shaw Motorsports prepared the top three finisher's cars. Shaw was gridded on the outside of the front row for the Dayco 100. He grabbed the lead at the start and maintained the top position until lap 40 when he was passed by Jr Farrelly. Shaw was in third during the final laps but got by Blair Wickett for second.
At last year's season opener, Blair Wickett was the fastest qualifier in the No. 97 Ry-Matt Mini Storage Ford Mustang. Unfortunately, a flat tire during the race took him out of contention. Wickett started this year's opener in the seventh position but was in fifth place by lap 30. Late in the contest, he fought with Kyle Steckly. Once by Steckly, Wickett challenged the leader, Jr Farrelly. In an effort to get by held lost second to Dale Shaw and finished third.
Taylor Holdaway debuted the No. 41 Auto Serve 1 at the Steve SlaughterClassic two weeks earlier at Sunset Speedway but encountered issues and could not finish. With the problems resolved for the Dayco 100, Holdaway was the fastest qualifier. He started the feature in the third spot and ran in the top five for much of the contest. Late in the going, Holdaway got by Kyle Steckly but was passed by Dale Shaw to finish fourth.
Josh Stade has always been quick at Sunset Speedway, but luck hasn't been with him. However, in the first Late Model race, the Steve Slaughter Classic, of the season at Sunset Stade finished in the runner-up position. He had reason to be even more optimistic when he started the Dayco 100 on the pole. Stade lost the top spot to Dale Shaw but maintained the runner-up position until lap 15. He pitted with a terminal issue and was out of the race.
Kyle Steckly is the reigning APC United Late Model champion. In addition to defending the APC series title, Steckly is competing successfully south of the border in the ASA STARS National Tour. The driver of the No. 22 APC Auto Parts Centres sponsored Chevrolet SS was gridded in fifth position for the one-hundred-lap contest. During the race, he was one of several drivers to challenge Jr. Farrelly, but he fell off the pace and finished sixth.
The top three finishers for the 2024 APC United Late Model series opening round at Sunset Speedway. Standing in the middle is first-time winner Jr Farrelly. On the left is the series' inaugural champion, Dale Shaw, who finished in the runner-up position. Shaw had reason to be proud as the top three cars were prepared by Shaw Motorsports. The final position belongs to the third-place finisher, Blair Wickett.

18Jr FarrellyBerne Workwear / Chevrolet SS100
22Dale ShawShaw Motorsports / Chevrolet SS100
37Blair WickettRy-Matt Mini Storage / Ford Mustang100
43Taylor HoldawayAuto Serve 1 / Chevrolet SS100
511Jo LawrenceElite Racing Team / Ford Fusion100
65Kyle StecklyAPC Auto Parts Centres / Chevrolet SS100
714Danny BenedictNorth Country / Chevrolet SS100
818Shae GemmellAPC Auto Parts Centres / Chevrolet SS100
916Erik Dalla RivaSDR Seating/Mike's Towing / Chevrolet SS100
104Ray MorneauLiuna! / Ford Mustang100
119Connor PritikoDomus Developments / Chevrolet Camaro100
1212Shawn ChenowethLondon Recreation Racing / Chevrolet Camaro100
1310Tyler Di VenanzoBremner Construction / Chevrolet Camaro99
1419Kody FerriTeam 10 Garage / Chevrolet Camaro99
1517Cole QuintonJust Foam It / Chevrolet SS95
166Jake SheridanPride Seeds/Vibrent Farms / Ford Mustang82
1719Brandon WatsonRon Smith/Shear / Ford Mustang62
1815Kendra AdamsMobil 1 / Chevrolet Camaro40
191Josh StadeCanadian Flat Roof Systems / Toyota Camry15
--Brandon McFerranAC Academy / Chevrolet SSDid Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023 and 2024

Return to home page.