In 2020, arrangements were made for the popular Super Stock division to compete as a support event at three APC United Late Model Series rounds. Contests were conducted at Sauble Speedway and Sunset Speedway, with the finale at Jukasa Motor Speedway. In 2021, the class received backing from Qwick Wick Fire Starters for the inaugural five-race championship.

There are five Qwick Wick Super Stock Series events this season.

  • Saturday, June 17 - Peterborough Speedway
  • Friday, June 30 - Delaware Speedway
  • Saturday, July 15 - Flamboro Speedway
  • Saturday, August 12 - Sunset Speedway
  • Friday, September 22 - Delaware Speedway

The Super Stock category includes a variety of makes and models from the ‘60s to the current year. The rules used in the class allow some suspension modifications and changes to the bodies. Some Super Stock cars retain the original steel bodies with plastic noses and fiberglass hoods; however, most use fiberglass body panels. They are powered by a modified small-block engines or crate motors from General Motors and Ford. The division serves as a ‘stepping stone’ for those drivers who aspire to compete in the Pro Late Model category.

A new restart procedure was introduced this year by series officials for the APC United Late Model and Qwick Wick Super Stock divisions called the 'choose rule.' On restarts, competitors are allowed to choose their lane. Their selection may be determined by the condition of the track, how many cars are ahead of them or the handling of their vehicle. If a driver changes their choice after the designated 'choose spot,' they must start from the rear of the field.

The second 2023 Qwick Wick Super Stock Series round was held at Delaware Speedway during the Canada Day Weekend. Drivers would compete in a fifty-lap contest around the ½-mile semi-banked asphalt oval.

Fifteen Qwick Wick Super Stock competitors line-up on Delaware Speedway’s back straight for round two of the championship. The seventh fastest qualifier, Shawn Chenoweth, is starting on the pole in the No. 89C London Recreational Racing Chevrolet Camaro. Next to Chenoweth is the No. 1 Inventory Express Chevrolet Camaro of the fourth fastest qualifier, Trevor Collver. Row two is occupied by Nic Ramsay and Chase Pinsonneault.
Former Delaware Speedway track champion, Trevor Collver, drove the No. 1 Inventory Express Chevrolet Camaro. Collver was fast at the season opener but had to pit in the race and lost a lap to the leaders. His home track would allow him to redeem himself. Collver started on the outside of the front row and made a pass for the lead on lap-5. He went unchallenged for the victory.
Carson Nagy took advantage of an incident between the leaders at Peterborough Speedway to grab the first Qwick Wick victory of 2023. He qualified second fastest at Delaware in the No. 93 Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC Chevrolet Camaro. After fifteen-laps into the race, Nagy passed Lane Zardo for third and challenged Shawn Chenoweth. After repeated tries, he got by Chenoweth for a second-place result.
Shawn Chenoweth was leading the season opener when contact with Gerrit Tiemersma eliminated him from the race. Chenoweth has been competing in Delaware weekly events with some success. After the redraw, he started race two on the pole in the No. 89C Chevrolet Camaro. He was no match for Trevor Collver and dropped second. Chenoweth held the spot until the final lap when he was passed by Carson Nagy.
The 2021 Qwick Wick Super Stock champion, Lane Zardo, kicked off his 2023 campaign at Peterborough Speedway with a runner-up result. The driver of the No. 36 Bester Forest Products Ford Mustang was the fastest qualifier at Delaware. After the redrawn, he was gridded in the fifth position. Zardo moved into third early but lost the spot to Carson Nagy. He kept the pressure on Nagy. Unable to regain the position, Zardo finished fourth.
Last year’s Qwick Wick Super Stock champion was Pete Vanderwyst. The southern Ontario stock car veteran, made his first series start of 2023 at Delaware Speedway; he also entered the APC Late Model event. During the time trials, Vanderwyst recorded the tenth fastest time and was gridded seventh in the No. 7 HD Custom Concrete Chevrolet Camaro. He avoided most of the drama and was rewarded with a fifth-place finish.
Ryan Bright is a regular at Delaware Speedway and entered round two, his first entry into this year’s Qwick Wick Super Stock Series. Bright piloted the No. 45 Bright Side Designs Chevrolet Camaro. By the end of qualifying, he had set the sixth-fastest time. During the fifty-lap contest, Bright ran a relatively clean race. His efforts paid off he crossed the finish line in the sixth position.
The top-three finishers for round one of the 2023 Qwick Wick Super Stock Series at Delaware Speedway. In the center is the winner, Trevor Collver. The victory made up for his sixteenth-place result at Peterborough Speedway. Standing on the left is the current points leader and runner-up, Carson Nagy. Completing the top three is veteran Shawn Chenoweth, who must have felt some redemption after the season opener.

14Trevor CollverInventory Express / Chevrolet Camaro50
22Carson NagyQueenston Chevrolet Buick GMC / Chevrolet Camaro50
37Shawn ChenowethLondon Recreational Racing / Chevrolet Camaro50
41Lane ZardoBester Forest Products / Ford Mustang50
510Pete VanderwystHD Custom Concrete Finishes / Chevrolet Camaro50
66Ryan BrightBright Side Designs / Chevrolet Camaro50
75Chase PinsonneaultFCF Custom Fabrication / Chevrolet Camaro50
83Ryan DysonAPC Auto Parts Centres / Chevrolet Camaro50
98Rick VerberneSpark Power/Castrol / Chevrolet Camaro50
1011Connor Van SteenselJM Controls and Electrical / Chevrolet Camaro50
1112Gord ShepherdElmer's Flighting Supply / Chevrolet Camaro50
129Nic RamsayRadar Auto Parts / Chevrolet Camaro49
1313Roy WilkeCanadian Crane Rentals / Ford Mustang49
1414Brandon McFerranStewarts/Kuboto / Chevrolet Camaro37
1515Coltin EveringhamGunn's Auto Service / Chevrolet Camaro24

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021

Return to home page.