The Nissan Micra Cup series made its debut in 2015. The championship was designed to provide racers with the most affordable race vehicle in Canada. New for 2021, and replacing the Micra series, was the Nissan Sentra Cup. This year the grids will still include the older Micras, but the focus will be on the Sentra.

  • Nissan Sentra – Each Nissan Sentra competing in the series carries a price tag of $39,990. The Sentras were prepared by the Motorsports in Action team at St-Eustache, with the development being performed by Canadian racing veteran Jean-Francois Dumoulin. The cars are powered by a DACT four-cylinder 2.0-liter sequential multi-point fuel injection engine which produces 149-horsepower at 6,400-rpm. Some performance upgrades include four-piston front calipers, adjustable coil-overs, 18”X9” alloy wheels, braided stainless steel flex lines and a MoTec M1 Series ECM. To address safety, the Sentra Cup cars include features such as an FIA Spec six-point roll cage, FIA homologated six-point harness and FIA homologated racing seat.
  • Nissan Micra – The Micra is powered by a 1.6-liter DOHC 4-cylinder engine which produces 109-horsepower. For safety purposes, much of the interior (seats, door panels, etc.) is removed and a safety cage, five-point harness, window net and FIA-approved racing seat are installed. To improve the performance of the cars, they are fitted with a racing suspension kit, high-performance brake pads, Pirelli racing tires and a modified exhaust system.

Each race weekend consists of two forty-minute contests.

  • May 26-28 - Circuit Mont-Tremblant
  • July 9 - Complexe ICAR
  • August 4-6 - Circuit de Trois-Rivières
  • August 26 - Complexe ICAR
  • September 1-3 - Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
  • September 22-24 - Circuit Mont-Tremblant

Rounds nine and ten of the 2023 Nissan Sentra Cup were held on the CTMP Labour Day Sprints weekend at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. Drivers would compete in two contests around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

The start of round nine for the 2023 Nissan Sentra Cup and twelve competitors (seven Nissan Sentra Cup and five Nissan Micras) funnel into Canadian Tire Motorsport Park's turn one. Leading the pack is the pole-sitter and defending Sentra Cup champion, Valerie Limoges, in the No. 1 Groupe Gabriel / Total Energies Nissan Sentra Cup. Behind Limoges are the Sentras of Matt Miron and Alexandre Fortin.
The reigning Nissan Sentra Cup champion is Valerie Limoges. Unfortunately, the defense of her title started poorly, with a DNF and tenth-place result in the opening rounds. However, Limoges has had some highlights, which include four podium finishes, of which one was a victory. She qualified on the pole at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park and won race one. Sunday's contest ended when she was hit by Daniel Fortin.
There were only five Nissan Micra Cup entries, but the racing was intense. The category points leader, Nicolas Levesque, drove the No. 50 Lévesque Motorsport Nissan Micra. In Saturday's race, Levesque traded the top spot with Charles-Étienne Boucher and the defending champion, Raphaël St-Pierre, before earning another victory. The next day, the usual suspects battled again, with Levesque sweeping the weekend.
The No. 427 Tite Frette Nissan Sentra was driven by Nicolas Barrette. Barrette split last season between the Sentra and Micra classes. This year, he has five podium results after eight rounds. In race one at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, Barrette qualified seventh and charged to the front, finishing second by a margin of 0.996-seconds. On Sunday, he retired after nine laps but enters the final weekend second in the championship standings.
The pace lap for Sunday's Nissan Sentra Cup and thirteen competitors line up on Canadian Tire Motorsport Park's front straight. On the pole for a second time this weekend in Valerie Limoges in the No. 1 Groupe Gabriel / Total Energies Nissan Sentra Cup. Beside Limoges is the No. 32 Ste-Foy Nissan / Fix Auto Nissan Sentra Cup driven by Alexandre Forin. Row two is occupied by the Nissans of Mathieu Miron and Daniel Fortin.
With just two races remaining in the 2023 Nissan Sentra Cup, Alexandre Fortin leads the standings by sixty-seven points. The No. 32 Ste-Foy Nissan / Fix Auto Nissan Sentra driver collected four victories before the series stopped at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. On Saturday, Fortin qualified second but slowed at the end of the race and finished sixth. On Sunday, he redeemed himself with a win after starting second.
Round ten would be memorable for Simon Vincent as he earned his first Nissan Sentra Cup podium. To date, Vincent's best result was a pair of fifth-place results during the series' first stop at ICAR. He qualified and finished fifth in round nine, driving the No. 91 Vincent2 racing team Nissan Sentra. Vincent was gridded fifth in the finale, but issues for Nicolas Barrette, Daniel Fortin and Valérie Limoges allowed him to finish second.

11SentraValérie LimogesNissan Sentra22-
27SentraNicolas BarretteNissan Sentra22-
33SentraMathieu MironNissan Sentra22-
44SentraDaniel FortinNissan Sentra22-
55SentraSimon VincentNissan Sentra22-
62SentraAlexandre FortinNissan Sentra22-
79MicraNicolas LévesqueNissan Micra22-
810MicraRaphaël St-PierreNissan Micra22-
98MicraCharles-Étienne BoucherNissan Micra22-
1012MicraSean ScullyNissan Micra21-
1111MicraMax PoirierNissan Micra20-
126SentraNicolas MironNissan Sentra15-
-13SentraChristian ThibaultNissan Sentra-Did Not Start
-14SentraJonathan CoutureNissan Sentra-Did Not Start

12SentraAlexandre FortinNissan Sentra19-
25SentraSimon VincentNissan Sentra19-
36SentraNicolas MironNissan Sentra19-
43SentraMathieu MironNissan Sentra19-
514SentraChristian ThibaultNissan Sentra19-
69MicraNicolas LévesqueNissan Micra19-
710MicraRaphaël St-PierreNissan Micra19-
88MicraCharles-Étienne BoucherNissan Micra19-
912MicraSean ScullyNissan Micra19-
1011MicraMax PoirierNissan Micra18-
111SentraValérie LimogesNissan Sentra12Did Not Finish
124SentraDaniel FortinNissan Sentra12Did Not Finish
137SentraNicolas BarretteNissan Sentra9Did Not Finish
-13SentraJonathan CoutureNissan Sentra-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021

Return to home page.