2023 marks the seventeenth season of the Canadian NASCAR championship. Pinty’s Delicious Foods continues to be the series, title sponsor.

The season opens on May 13 at Sunset Speedway and thirteen races later, it ends on September 24 at Delaware Speedway.

  • May 13 - Sunset Speedway
  • May 21 - Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
  • June 10 - Autodrome Chaudiere
  • June 24 - Eastbound International Speedway
  • July 14 - Exhibition Place
  • July 22 - Edmonton International Raceway
  • July 26 - Sutherland Automotive Speedway - 1
  • July 26 - Sutherland Automotive Speedway - 2
  • August 6 - Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres
  • August 14 - Ohsweken Speedway - 1
  • August 15 - Ohsweken Speedway - 2
  • August 26 - Circuit ICAR
  • September 3 - Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
  • September 24 - Delaware Speedway

The cars competing in the NASCAR Pinty’s Series are constructed to specifications and rules common to most stock car series. The chassis is a steel tube frame design covered with a fiberglass body and must weigh no less than 3000-lbs. Body styles are from manufacturers such as Dodge (Challenger), Ford (Mustang) and Chevrolet (Camaro). Engine type and displacement are dictated by the make and model of the vehicle. The carbureted eight-cylinder motors produce approximately 550-horsepower. Depending on the gearing, these cars are estimated to have a top speed of 160-mph.

Round ten of the 2023 NASCAR Pinty’s Series was race one of a doubleheader at Ohsweken Speedway. Drivers would compete in a 100-lap contest divided into three stages – two twenty-five-lap stages followed by a fifty-lap final around the 0.375-mile dirt oval. The event was called the Freshstone Dirt Classic.

The grid for the Freshstone Dirt Classic, round ten of the 2023 NASCAR Pinty’s Series, at Ohsweken Speedway. NASCAR veteran Ken Schrader is on the pole in the No. 22 APC / Federated Auto Parts / Pennzoil Chevrolet Camaro. Next to Schrader is the No. 20 GSR / FBM / Delta Bingo / RGC Chevrolet Camaro driven by the points leader, Treyten Lapcevich. Both cars are prepared by 22 Racing.
NASCAR Cup veteran Ken Schrader entered the Freshstone Dirt Classic driving the No. 22 APC / Federated Auto Parts / Pennzoil Chevrolet Camaro. Schrader won his heat race and started the feature on the pole. During the contest, he found himself chasing his teammate, Treyten Lapcevich. However, with twenty laps remaining, Lapcevich was slowed by a lapped car and Schrader grabbed the lead and victory.
Finishing in the runner-up position was Kevin Lacroix. This was a much better performance than last year when he was eleventh. Lacroix drove the No. 74 Dodge Challenger with backing from Gates Hydraulics. He competed in the final heat and finished second to D.J. Kennington. Lacroix started the feature in the sixth position. Late in the event, he found himself battling with Kennington for second and would take the spot.
Two-time NASCAR Pinty’s champion, D.J. Kennington, finished sixth in last year’s visit to Ohsweken after starting second. Driving the No. 17 Super Clean Dodge Challenger, Kennington earned an easy victory in heat race three and started the finale in the third position. He was no match for Ken Schrader and Treyten Lapcevich but found himself in a fight with Kevin Lacroix. Unable to hold Lacroix off, Kennington finished third.
The championship leader heading into round ten of the 2023 NASCAR Pinty’s Series was Treyten Lapcevich, with five victories. The defending race winner collected a win in the heat race, driving the No. 20 GSR / FBM / Delta Bingo Chevrolet Camaro. He started on the outside of the front row but grabbed the lead on lap-4. Lapcevich would dominate the contest until lap-78 when he had contact with Michael Goudie. He finished fifth.
Trailing the points leader, Treyten Lapcevich, was last year’s series champion, Marc-Antoine Camirand. The driver of the No. 96 GM Paille / Chevrolet Canada Chevrolet Camaro had victories in Chaudiere, Edmonton and Trois-Rivieres. Camirand struggled at Ohsweken and started round ten in the fifteenth spot. However, after the first stage, he pitted. The adjustment must have worked because Camirand finished fifth.
At Ohsweken Speedway, NASCAR Craftsman Truck competitor Stewart Friesen was making his second NASCAR Pinty’s start. The dirt track veteran finished second in last year’s event. Friesen struggled in practice and started sixth in heat race one but finished third. He was gridded seven for the feature driving the No. 19 Glenn Styres Racing Chevrolet Camaro and finished in the sixth position.
The top three finishers of the Freshstone Dirt Classic at Ohsweken Speedway. In the center is the winner, Ken Schrader. With his victory, Schrader made history, becoming the oldest winner in the series at 68 and was the first non-Canadian to capture first place. On the right is Kevin Lacroix, who finished in the runner-up spot. The final position is occupied by D.J. Kennington, who made his 200th start at this event.

11Ken SchraderAPC/Federated Auto Parts / Chevrolet Camaro101-
26Kevin LacroixGates Hydraulics / Dodge Challenger101-
33D.J. KenningtonSuper Clean/Castrol Edge / Dodge Challenger100-
42Treyten LapcevichRGC Sports/Delta Bingo / Chevrolet Camaro100-
515Marc-Antoine CamirandGM Paille Chevrolet / Chevrolet Camaro100-
67Stewart FriesenGlenn Styres Racing / Chevrolet Camaro100-
710Daniel BoisSierra Excavating/A&G / Chevrolet Camaro100-
85Thomas NepveuEvirum/Home Hardware / Ford Fusion100-
913Alex GuenetteASSA ABLOY/Fast Eddie / Chevrolet Camaro100-
104Alex TaglianiNTN/Qwick Wick / Chevrolet Camaro100-
1111Andrew RangerGM Paille Chevrolet / Chevrolet Camaro100-
129Dave BaileyTransaxle/Transport Sales & Service / Dodge Challenger100-
1324David HebertGM Paille Chevrolet / Chevrolet Camaro100-
1414Jean Philippe BergeronProlon/Rousseau / Ford Fusion100-
1512Brandon WatsonGMS/Shear Metal Products/APC / Chevrolet Camaro100-
1621L.P. DumoulinWeatherTech Canada / Dodge100-
178Dexter StaceyBully’s Truck Stop / Chevrolet Camaro100-
1818Malcolm StrachanCurb Records/Strode's / Chevrolet SS100-
1919Larry JacksonO’Neil Electric/Milwaukee / Dodge Challenger100-
2016Aaron TurkeyNitro54 Variety/Sit N Bull Tire / Ford Fusion81Suspension
2117Trevor MonaghanGSR/Solo Performance Exhaust / Dodge Challenger81Accident
2223Wallace StaceyK Fibre Optic / Chevrolet Camaro79Front End
2320Michael GoudieMuskoka Aircraft / Chevrolet Camaro77Suspension
2422Glenn StyresGSR/Ohsweken Speedway / Chevrolet Camaro38Engine

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022

Return to home page.