2023 marks the seventeenth season of the Canadian NASCAR championship. Pinty’s Delicious Foods continues to be the series, title sponsor.

The season opens on May 13 at Sunset Speedway and thirteen races later, it ends on September 24 at Delaware Speedway.

  • May 13 - Sunset Speedway
  • May 21 - Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
  • June 10 - Autodrome Chaudiere
  • June 24 - Eastbound International Speedway
  • July 14 - Exhibition Place
  • July 22 - Edmonton International Raceway
  • July 26 - Sutherland Automotive Speedway - 1
  • July 26 - Sutherland Automotive Speedway - 2
  • August 6 - Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres
  • August 14 - Ohsweken Speedway - 1
  • August 15 - Ohsweken Speedway - 2
  • August 26 - Circuit ICAR
  • September 3 - Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
  • September 24 - Delaware Speedway

The cars competing in the NASCAR Pinty’s Series are constructed to specifications and rules common to most stock car series. The chassis is a steel tube frame design covered with a fiberglass body and must weigh no less than 3000-lbs. Body styles are from manufacturers such as Dodge (Challenger), Ford (Mustang) and Chevrolet (Camaro). Engine type and displacement are dictated by the make and model of the vehicle. The carbureted eight-cylinder motors produce approximately 550-horsepower. Depending on the gearing, these cars are estimated to have a top speed of 160-mph.

The final round of the 2023 NASCAR Pinty's Series was held at Delaware Speedway. The Pinty's Fall Brawl was a two-hundred-fifty-lap contest around the 1/2-mile semi-banked asphalt oval.

The first lap of the Pinty's Fall Brawl at Delaware Speedway. At the head of the twenty-two car field is the pole-sitter, Kyle Steckly, in the No. 22 APC / Pennzoil / Dayco / Federated Auto Parts Chevrolet Camaro. Slotting in behind Steckly is the other front-row starter and his teammate Treyten Lapcevich driving the No. 20 GSR / FBM / Delta Bingo / RGC Chevrolet Camaro. On the inside of Lapcevich is title contender Marc-Antoine Camirand.
To secure this year's NASCAR Pinty's Series title, Treyten Lapcevich only needed to start the final round. Lapcevich qualified second fastest in the No. 20 GSR / FBM / Delta Bingo / RGC Chevrolet Camaro. Early in the contest, he battled with his teammate Kyle Steckly. When Steckly retired on lap-98, Lapcevich took control of the race and faced no threats. He won the race by a margin of 4.127-seconds and claimed the championship.
Finishing in the runner-up position was Donald Theetge, driving the No. 80 Groupe Theetge Inc / XPN Chevrolet Camaro. Except for Trois-Rivieres, Theetge's focus has been the ovals. He was the fastest qualifier at Avondale and Saskatoon and also earned a second-place result in race two at Saskatoon. At Delaware, Theetge started in the seventh spot. Late in the race, Theetge fought with D.J. Kennington and got the upper hand.
The driver with the most laps around Delaware Speedway is local favourite D.J. Kennington. Kennington has had a year of mixed results. The series two-time champion earned a season-high third-place result at Ohsweken Speedway but retired with an engine issue at Avondale. For round nine, the No. 17 Castrol Edge / Spark Power / CIM Metals was gridded fifth and after a skirmish with Donald Theetge, Kennington finished third.
The reigning NASCAR Pinty's Series champion, Marc-Antoine Camirand, had a mathematical chance of winning this year's title, albeit very slim. For the scenario to be successful, he would have to win the race and Treyten Lapcevich would fail to make the start. Lapcevich took the green and the best Camirand could hope for was a victory to end 2023. He qualified third fastest. However, the engine developed an issue on lap-41, causing Camirand to retire.
On Saturday evening, Kyle Steckly won the APC United Late Model championship and early in the Pinty's Fall Brawl, it appeared that he would collect a victory. Steckly recorded the fastest time in the qualifying session driving the No. 22 Pennzoil / Dayco / Federated Auto Parts Chevrolet Camaro. He traded first place with his teammate, Treyten Lapcevich. Steckly led a total of eighty-three laps before retiring with a rear suspension problem.
The entry list for Delaware included some drivers making their series debut, like Amber Balcaen from ARCA. Balcaen retired from the race on lap-126. Others were returning after an absence. One such competitor was American Noah Gragson. When the Nascar Truck series visited Canadian Tire Motorsport Park in 2018, Gragson used the opportunity to obtain track time. At Delaware, he finished tenth in the No. 30 Dodge Challenger.
On his way to this year's NASCAR Pinty's title, Treyten Lapcevich delivered some impressive numbers. Lapcevich was on top of the point standings from round one at Sunset Speedway to the finale. He captured seven wins, eleven top-fives, thirteen top-tens and four poles. In addition, Lapcevich set a new record for the number of laps led in a single season and tied D.J. Kennington for the most wins in a year.

12Treyten LapcevichMalois Transport / Chevrolet Camaro250-
25Donald TheetgeGroupe Theetge/XPN / Chevrolet Camaro250-
37D.J. KenningtonCastrol Edge/Spark Power / Dodge Challenger250-
410Andrew RangerGM Paille Chevrolet / Chevrolet Camaro250-
56Kevin LacroixAdaptive One/NAPA / Dodge Challenger250-
64Alex GuenetteASSA ABLOY/Motos Illiimitées / Chevrolet Camaro250-
713Thomas NepveuEvirum/Home Hardware / Ford Mustang250-
88Jean Philippe BergeronProlon Controls/Rousseau Metals / Ford Mustang250-
916Dexter StaceyReCap / Chevrolet Camaro250-
1014Noah GragsonKasey Jones Racing / Dodge Challenger250-
1117Larry JacksonO'Neil Electric/Wonder / Dodge Challenger249-
1220Wallace StaceyK-Fibre Optic / Chevrolet Camaro247-
139Alex TaglianiSt. Hubert/NTN/Qwick Wick / Chevrolet Camaro241-
1415L.P. DumoulinWeatherTech Canada / Dodge Challenger235-
1521Trevor MonaghanGSR/Davey Trees / Dodge Challenger233-
1619John FletcherCurb Records/SSP Truck Lines / Chevrolet Camaro218Electrical
1722Amber BalcaenBrimstone Games/Dayco / Dodge Challenger126Overheating
1811Brandon WatsonLeland/Shear Metal Products / Chevrolet Camaro125Suspension
1912Jesse KennedyCanco/Wampum Fuels / Chevrolet Camaro121Front Suspension
2018Glenn StyresGSR/Ohsweken Speedway / Chevrolet Camaro103Transmission
211Kyle StecklyAPC/Pennzoil/Dayco / Chevrolet Camaro98Rear Suspension
223Marc-Antoine CamirandGM Paille Chevrolet / Chevrolet Camaro41Engine

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022 and 2023

Return to home page.