2023 marks the seventeenth season of the Canadian NASCAR championship. Pinty’s Delicious Foods continues to be the series, title sponsor.

The season opens on May 13 at Sunset Speedway and thirteen races later, it ends on September 24 at Delaware Speedway.

  • May 13 - Sunset Speedway
  • May 21 - Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
  • June 10 - Autodrome Chaudiere
  • June 24 - Eastbound International Speedway
  • July 14 - Exhibition Place
  • July 22 - Edmonton International Raceway
  • July 26 - Sutherland Automotive Speedway - 1
  • July 26 - Sutherland Automotive Speedway - 2
  • August 6 - Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres
  • August 14 - Ohsweken Speedway - 1
  • August 15 - Ohsweken Speedway - 2
  • August 26 - Circuit ICAR
  • September 3 - Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
  • September 24 - Delaware Speedway

The cars competing in the NASCAR Pinty’s Series are constructed to specifications and rules common to most stock car series. The chassis is a steel tube frame design covered with a fiberglass body and must weigh no less than 3000-lbs. Body styles are from manufacturers such as Dodge (Challenger), Ford (Mustang) and Chevrolet (Camaro). Engine type and displacement are dictated by the make and model of the vehicle. The carbureted eight-cylinder motors produce approximately 550-horsepower. Depending on the gearing, these cars are estimated to have a top speed of 160-mph.

The penultimate round of the 2023 NASCAR Pinty’s Series was held at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. The WeatherTech 200 event would see drivers compete in a fifty-one-lap contest around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

The pole-sitter, L.P. Dumoulin, leads a field of thirty starters into Canadian Tire Motorsport Park’s turn one for the WeatherTech 200. Immediately behind Dumoulin is the No. 36 Lussier Chevrolet / Malois Transport / GBI Chevrolet Camaro of the third-place starter, Alex Labbe. Beside Labbe is championship contender and second fastest qualifier Marc-Antoine Camirand, driving the No. 96 GM Paille Chevrolet Camaro.
With six victories at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, his last being in May 2022, Kevin Lacroix was one of the favourites going into the WeatherTech 200. Lacroix qualified fourth fastest in the No. 74 Adaptive One / NAPA Auto Parts Dodge Challenger. He remained in contention during the race and on the final restart, Lacroix passed Alex Tagliani for the lead. Despite pressure from L.P. Dumoulin, he held on for his first win of 2023.
Three-time NASCAR Pinty’s champion, L.P. Dumoulin, put the No. 47 WeatherTech Dodge Challenger on the pole. Dumoulin led early and during the race, he ran with the leaders. On the final restart, Dumoulin battled with Marc-Antoine Camirand and D.J. Kennington. He pulled away from the pair and chased down the leader, Kevin Lacroix. Unable to pass, Dumoulin finished second by a margin of 0.117-seconds.
Last year’s NASCAR Pinty’s champion and title contender Marc-Antoine Camirand qualified on the outside of the front row in the No. 96 Chevrolet Canada / GM Paille Chevrolet Camaro. Camirand moved into the lead early, but late in the contest he was third. Camirand was no match for Kevin Lacroix and L.P. Dumoulin and finished third. However, he narrowed the points gap between himself and Treyten Lapcevich.
Finishing fourth in the WeatherTech 200 was the two-time NASCAR Pinty’s champion, D.J. Kennington. Kennington has had a season of ‘ups and downs.’ He finished third at Ohsweken Speedway, but at Eastbound Speedway, an engine failure resulted in a nineteenth-place result. Kennington was gridded tenth at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park but moved past six competitors before he received the checkered flag.
2017 NASCAR Pinty’s champion, Alex Labbe, has been competing in the NASCAR Xfinity series. He returned to Canada before the WeatherTech 200 and raced at Eastbound Speedway, Trois-Rivieres and ICAR. Labbe recorded runner-up results at Newfoundland and ICAR. He qualified third fastest at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park in the No. 36 Malois Transport Chevrolet Camaro and led the most laps before finishing fifth.
The championship leader, Treyten Lapcevich, has collected victories this season at Sunset Speedway, Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, Eastbound Speedway, the doubleheader at Sutherland Automotive Speedway and most recently, Ohsweken Speedway. Depending on the outcome of the WeatherTech 200, he could claim his first title. Lapcevich qualified seventh and finished sixth. The championship will go down to the wire.
If it wasn’t for bad luck, Andrew Ranger wouldn’t have any luck at all. The highlight of his season was a third-place result at Ohsweken Speedway. However, 2023 also includes six finishes outside the top ten, of which three were mechanical issues. Driving the No. 27 Chevrolet Canada / GM Paille Chevrolet Camaro, he qualified eighth fastest. Ranger was running second when his engine blew up on lap-39.
The top three finishers for round thirteen of the 2023 NASCAR Pinty’s Series. In the center is the winner of the WeatherTech 200, Kevin Lacroix. Lacroix had gone winless since May 2022. His last victory was at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. On the left is L.P. Dumoulin, who challenged Lacroix and finished a close second. The final seat is occupied by last season’s champion and title contender, Marc-Antoine Camirand.

14Kevin LacroixAdaptive One/NAPA / Dodge Challenger51-
21L.P. DumoulinWeatherTech Canada / Dodge Challenger51-
32Marc-Antoine CamirandGM Paille Chevrolet / Chevrolet Camaro51-
410D.J. KenningtonCastrol Edge/Spark Power / Dodge Challenger51-
53Alex LabbeFBM/Delta Bingo / Chevrolet Camaro51-
67Treyten LapcevichMalois Transport / Chevrolet Camaro51-
716Daniel BoisSierra Excavating/A&G / Chevrolet Camaro51-
811Alex TaglianiSt. Hubert/NTN/Qwick Wick / Chevrolet Camaro51-
918Ryan KluttLegendary Motorcar / Chevrolet Camaro51-
109Kyle StecklyAPC/Pennzoil/Dayco / Chevrolet Camaro51-
1119Larry JacksonO'Neil Electric/Wonder / Dodge Challenger51-
125Alex GuenetteASSA ABLOY/Motos Illiimitées / Chevrolet Camaro51-
1322Brandon WatsonLeland/GMS/RGC/Shear Meta / Chevrolet Camaro51-
1417Jean Philippe BergeronProlon Controls/Rousseau Metals / Ford Mustang50-
1515Peter KluttLegendary Motorcar / Dodge Challenger50-
1628Herby DrescherHerby's Lifts / Dodge Challenger50-
1725Sam FellowsAER Manufacturing / Chevrolet Camaro48-
1827Michael GoudieMuskoka Meat Center/Muskoka Aircraft / Ford Mustang48-
1920Matthew ScannellNitro 54 Variety / Dodge Challenger48-
2023Glenn StyresGSR/Ohsweken Speedway / Chevrolet Camaro48-
2126Darryl TimmersCurb Records/CMS Group / Chevrolet Camaro48-
2214Thomas NepveuEvirum/Home Hardware / Ford Mustang45Transmission
238Andrew RangerGM Paille Chevrolet / Chevrolet Camaro39Engine
246Gary KluttTOSOT/Bathica/EMCO / Dodge Challenger39Accident
2524Wallace StaceyK-Fibre Optic / Chevrolet Camaro38Accident
2612L.P. MontourKamloop / Chevrolet Camaro29Suspension
2713Dexter StaceyReCap / Chevrolet Camaro29Differential
2829David ThorndykeThorsons EVT / Chevrolet Camaro21Overheating
2930Brent WhellerQueensway Truck Centre / Dodge Challenger9Axle
3021J.F. LabergeDagobert Chevrolet / Chevrolet Camaro5Oil Pressure

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022 and 2023

Return to home page.