Now in its thirty-third year, the Ontario Stock Car Association of Asphalt Racers (OSCAAR) is responsible for sanctioning two divisions: Modified and Hot Rod.

On November 1, 2022, it was announced that OSCAAR had merged with the United Racing Series. The relationship increases OSCAAR's resources and allows the United Racing Series to expand its brand and footprint in motorsports.

In other news, Knightworks Design signed on as the title sponsor for the Hot Rod division. The championship has been renamed the Knightworks Design OSCAAR Hot Rod Series.

Eleven races are on the 2023 Knightworks Design OSCAAR Hot Rod schedule.

  • May 27 - Flamboro Speedway
  • June 17 - Sauble Speedway
  • June 30 - Delaware Speedway
  • July 1 - Delaware Speedway
  • July 15 - Full Throttle Speedway
  • August 5 - Peterborough Speedway
  • August 12 - Brighton Speedway
  • August 19 - Sauble Speedway
  • September 23 - Delaware Speedway
  • September 39 - Flamboro Speedway
  • October 6-8 - Peterborough Speedway

The cars competing in the championship are constructed to specifications and rules common to most stock car series. What makes the Hot Rod division unique are the makes and models that compete in the division. The cars must be North American, have a steel body and have been produced between 1949 and 1974. No pickup trucks, convertibles or front-wheel-drive vehicles can participate in this series. The Hot Rods must have a stock roof, grill, tail and the rest of the body panels can be fabricated from 22-gauge sheet steel but must retain a stock appearance. Many other rules governing this class are for safety and to keep the costs down.

Round ten of the 2023 Knightworks Design OSCAAR Hot Rod Series was held at Flamboro Speedway during the annual Frostoberfest Weekend event. After two heat races, drivers competed in a thirty-lap contest around the 1/3-mile semi-banked asphalt oval.

Nineteen Knightworks Design OSCAAR Hot Rod drivers line up on Flamboro Speedway's front straight for round ten of the series. On the pole is Rick Spencer-Walt in the No. 6W 1972 AMC Javelin. Next to Spencer-Walt is the No. 00 1971 Chevrolet Camaro driven by Trevor Thompson. Immediately behind the front row are the No. 9 1968 Rambler American of Cole Weber and Ryan Cowan in the No. 13 1959 Pontiac Bonneville.
A series of problems caused Rick Spencer-Walt to park his Late Model. In exploring other opportunities, Spencer-Walt joined OSCAAR's Hot Rod division and drove the No. 6W 1972 AMC Javelin. His first outing was at Delaware Speedway, where he finished third. At Flamboro Speedway, Spencer-Walt finished fifth in heat one and was first in the second qualifier. Starting from the pole in the feature, he went flag to flag for the victory.
Another competitor going flag-to-flag from his starting position was Trevor Thompson. Thompson drives the No. 00 1971 Chevrolet Camaro. He had problems in his first qualifier. With the issues rectified, Thompson finished behind Rick Spencer-Walt in the second heat race. With the grid set for the finale, he started on the outside of the front. Thompson was no match for Spencer-Walt and finished second by a margin of 3.121-seconds.
Finishing in the third position was the points leader, Tyler Hawn. Hawn entered round ten with three consecutive victories - Brighton, Sauble, and Delaware Speedway. Hawn didn't have the good fortune of starting at the front like Rick Spence-Walt and Trevor Thompson. At Flamboro, he won the first heat race and was fourth in the second. Hawn earned his third-place result from the sixth spot on the starting grid.
Currently sitting second in the title chase is Steve Book. Book won the OSCAAR Hot Rod crown in 2021 and 2022. Book drivers the No. 47 1960 Studebaker Hawk with backing from Refractory Removal Service. At Frostoberfest, he delivered some excellent results in the heat races and collected second and third-place results. In the feature, Book started ahead of his championship rival, Tyler Hawn, but finished behind him in fourth.
As they say, all good things must end, and that was the case for Cole Weber. Weber, who drivers the No. 9 1964 Rambler Ambassador, has three victories in his last three visits to Flamboro Speedway. The event looked promising after he finished second in heat one. However, in the next qualifier, Weber was sixth, but he started the main in third place. Weber fell down the race order and finished fifth.
Rob Bromley has been campaigning a 1972 AMC Javelin for the last couple of years. However, mid-season, he unveiled the No. 6 1972 Dodge Challenger. The Challenger has proved successful. In his first qualifier, he finished third. Bromley was doing well in his second heat when he fell back due to a flat tire. He was gridded in the eleventh position for the thirty-feature; however, he advanced five spots to finish sixth.
Rick Spencer-Walt has had a difficult 2023. Not only has he had issues with his Late Model program, but a key team member is dealing with a challenging medical condition. Spencer-Walt has parked his Camaro and has been taking on new racing challenges, which includes competing in the OSCAAR Hot and Modified series. At Flamboro's Frostoberfest, he won the Hot Rod feature and finished seventh in the Modified main.

11Rick Spencer-Walt1972 AMC Javelin30-
22Trevor Thompson1971 Chevrolet Camaro30-
36Tyler Hawn1966 Pontiac Beaumont30-
45Steve Book1960 Studebaker Hawk30-
53Cole Weber1964 Rambler Ambassador30-
611Rob Bromley1972 Dodge Challenger30-
710Cory McAllister1974 Dodge Dart30-
84Ryan Cowan1959 Pontiac Bonneville30-
914Steve Ecker1974 Chevrolet Camaro30-
1015Ed Peterson1972 Plymouth Road Runner30-
118Jeremy McLean1968 Chevrolet Chevelle30-
1217Kyle Woods1954 Packard Super Clipper Panama29-
1312Connor Ellis1957 Ford Fairlane29-
1416Dave Evison Sr.1964 Chevrolet Chevy II/Nova29-
1513Matt Spry1969 Chevrolet Chevelle27-
1619Paul Bogensberer Jr1967 Dodge Dart Swinger23Did Not Finish
1718Bill Clarke1965 Pontiac Parisienne14Did Not Finish
187Nick Clarke1969 Ford Mustang18Did Not Finish
199Luke Gignac1964 Dodge Polara9Did Not Finish
--Dave McMahon1966 Ford Galaxie-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020

Return to home page.