Now in its thirty-third year, the Ontario Stock Car Association of Asphalt Racers (OSCAAR) is responsible for sanctioning two divisions: Modified and Hot Rod.

On November 1, 2022, it was announced that OSCAAR had merged with the United Racing Series. The relationship increases OSCAAR’s resources and allows the United Racing Series to expand its brand and footprint in motorsports.

In other news, Knightworks Design signed on as the title sponsor for the Hot Rod division. The championship has been renamed the Knightworks Design OSCAAR Hot Rod Series.

Eleven races are on the 2023 Knightworks Design OSCAAR Hot Rod schedule.

  • May 27 - Flamboro Speedway
  • June 17 - Sauble Speedway
  • June 30 - Delaware Speedway
  • July 1 - Delaware Speedway
  • July 15 - Full Throttle Speedway
  • August 5 - Peterborough Speedway
  • August 12 - Brighton Speedway
  • August 19 - Sauble Speedway
  • September 23 - Delaware Speedway
  • September 39 - Flamboro Speedway
  • October 6-8 - Peterborough Speedway

The cars competing in the championship are constructed to specifications and rules common to most stock car series. What makes the Hot Rod division unique are the makes and models that compete in the division. The cars must be North American, have a steel body and have been produced between 1949 and 1974. No pickup trucks, convertibles or front-wheel-drive vehicles can participate in this series. The Hot Rods must have a stock roof, grill, tail and the rest of the body panels can be fabricated from 22-gauge sheet steel but must retain a stock appearance. Many other rules governing this class are for safety and to keep the costs down.

Round nine of the 2023 Knightworks Design OSCAAR Hot Rod Series was held at Delaware Speedway. After two heat races, drivers competed in a thirty-lap contest around the 1/2-mile semi-banked asphalt oval.

Nineteen Knightworks Design OSCAAR Hot Rod Series drivers round corner one on the pace lap for race eight at Delaware Speedway. Starting on the pole is the No. 00 1971 Chevrolet Camaro of Trevor Thompson. Beside Thompson is Rob Bromley driving his recently completed No. 6 1972 Dodge Challenge. Row two is occupied by the 1960 Studebaker Hawk of Steve Book and Tyler Hawn driving a 1966 Pontiac Beaumont.
The points leader heading into round nine was Tyler Hawn. Hawn was fresh off wins at Brighton and Sauble Speedway. The No. 2 1966 Pontiac Beaumont driver finished second in heat race two. He started the feature in the second row with the other title contender, Steve Book. Hawn moved into the lead on lap-3 and held off intense challenges from Rick Spencer-Walt and Steve McCaw to claim his third consecutive victory.
Although he finished second on the track, Steve McCaw scored an emotional victory for many in attendance. At the Canada Day Weekend event at Delaware Speedway, McCaw finished second in round three when he suffered a medical emergency and was transported to hospital. In his first race weekend back, McCaw won his qualifier and finished 0.322-seconds behind the feature winner, Tyler Hawn, for a runner-up result.
Driving Rob Bromley’s 1972 AMC Javelin at Delaware Speedway was APC United Late Model competitor Rick Spencer-Walt. Spencer-Walt adapted to the Javelin quickly and finished second in the first heat race. He lined up in the eighth spot for the feature but was chasing the leader, Tyler Hawn, by lap-6. On the final restart, Spencer-Walt was pushed high by Hawn and lost a position to Steve McCaw to finish third.
In 2019, Darryl Lake made his first APC United Late Model start. At Delaware Speedway’s Great Canadian Weekend, Lake made his Knightworks Design OSCAAR Hot Rod Series debut. He drove the No. 93 1969 Chevrolet Camaro, usually piloted by Jerry Broom. Familiar with the track, Lake was a quick study and finished third in the first qualifier. He was gridded sixth for the feature and crossed the finish line in fourth place.
Heading into round nine, three drivers are in contention for the 2023 crown. The leader is Tyler Hawn, but trailing him is Steve Book, the 2021 and 2022 title holder. Book drives the familiar the No. 47 1960 Studebaker Hawk and got off to a good start by winning his qualifier. He started the finale in third place but fell out of contention early and finished sixth. The points gap between Book and Hawn increased to thirty-five markers.
The third driver with realistic title aspirations is Steve Bromley, who sits third in the standings. Bromley debuted his new No. 6 1972 Dodge Challenger mid-season and it has proved to be a competitive package. He started the feature on the outside of the front row after finishing fourth in the first heat race. Unfortunately, Bromley was unable to maintain the pace of the leaders and finished fifth. He trails Tyler Hawn by thirty-six points.
The top three finishers for round eight of the 2023 Knightworks Design OSCAAR Hot Rod Series at Delaware Speedway. In the center is the race winner and current points leader, Tyler Hawn. Hawn also was the series champion from 2017 to 2019. Standing on the right is the runner-up, Steve McCaw, who is the best racing story of 2023. Finishing in third was the former APC Late Model regular, Rick Spencer-Walt.

14Tyler Hawn1966 Pontiac Beaumont30-
27Steve McCaw1969 Chevrolet Chevelle30-
38Rick Spencer-Walt1972 AMC Javelin30-
46Darryl Lake1969 Chevrolet Camaro30-
52Rob Bromley1972 Dodge Challenger30-
63Steve Book1960 Studebaker Hawk30-
710Cole Weber1968 Rambler Ambassador30-
81Trevor Thompson1971 Chevrolet Camaro30-
917Nick Clarke1969 Ford Mustang30-
1012Mark Lamont1966 Chevrolet Beaumont30-
1115Dave Evison Sr.1964 Chevrolet Chevy II/Nova30-
1216Ryan Cowan1959 Pontiac Bonneville30-
1318Kyle Woods1954 Packard Super Clipper Panama30-
1411Connor Ellis1968 Chevrolet Chevelle18-
159Steve Ecker1974 Chevrolet Camaro16-
165Jordan Morris1974 Pontiac Firebird13-
1719Steve Adams1970 Oldsmobile Cutlass13-
1814Bill Clarke1965 Pontiac Parisienne6-
1913Rob Starr1972 Chevrolet Nova SS5-

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022 and 2023

Return to home page.