Now in its thirty-third year, the Ontario Stock Car Association of Asphalt Racers (OSCAAR) is responsible for sanctioning two divisions: Modified and Hot Rod.

On November 1, 2022, it was announced that OSCAAR had merged with the United Racing Series. The relationship increases OSCAAR’s resources and allows the United Racing Series to expand its brand and footprint in motorsports.

In other news, Knightworks Design signed on as the title sponsor for the Hot Rod division. The championship has been renamed the Knightworks Design OSCAAR Hot Rod Series.

Eleven races are on the 2023 Knightworks Design OSCAAR Hot Rod schedule.

  • May 27 - Flamboro Speedway
  • June 17 - Sauble Speedway
  • June 30 - Delaware Speedway
  • July 1 - Delaware Speedway
  • July 15 - Full Throttle Speedway
  • August 5 - Peterborough Speedway
  • August 12 - Brighton Speedway
  • August 19 - Sauble Speedway
  • September 23 - Delaware Speedway
  • September 39 - Flamboro Speedway
  • October 6-8 - Peterborough Speedway

The cars competing in the championship are constructed to specifications and rules common to most stock car series. What makes the Hot Rod division unique are the makes and models that compete in the division. The cars must be North American, have a steel body and have been produced between 1949 and 1974. No pickup trucks, convertibles or front-wheel-drive vehicles can participate in this series. The Hot Rods must have a stock roof, grill, tail and the rest of the body panels can be fabricated from 22-gauge sheet steel but must retain a stock appearance. Many other rules governing this class are for safety and to keep the costs down.

Round four of the 2023 Knightworks Design OSCAAR Hot Rod doubleheader was held at Delaware Speedway as part of the Canada Day Weekend. The event included the OSCAAR Modifieds, Qwick Wick Super Stocks and APC United Late Models. Drivers would compete in a twenty-five-lap contest around the 1/2-mile semi-banked asphalt oval.

The pace lap for round four of the 2023 Knightworks Design OSCAAR Hot Rod series at Delaware Speedway. Eighteen competitors line up for the twenty-five-lap contest. On the pole is the No. 44 1964 Pontiac Laurentian of Matt Hopkins and beside Hopkins is Cole Weber driving the No. 9 1964 Rambler American. Row two is occupied by the No. 85 1969 Ford Mustang of Nick Clarke and the No. 58 1958 Chevrolet Bel Air driven by Jeremy Taggart.
The 2017 and 2018 Hot Rod champion, Tyler Hawn, had a difficult season start. He finished sixteenth at Flamboro and was fourth at Sauble Beach, driving the No.2 1966 Pontiac Beaumont. Hawn's fortunes may have turned around at the doubleheader weekend. In round three on Friday, he finished third. Hawn crossed the finish line in second-place the next day but was awarded the win when Dalen Martin was excluded.
Another driver benefitting from the exclusion of Dalen Martin was Cole Weber. Weber kicked off his year with a victory at Flamboro but struggled at Sauble Beach. On Friday, at Delaware, he could do no better than an eighth-place finish. In Saturday's second heat race, he finished in the runner-up spot. Weber took the checker in third in the feature, but after Martin's Mustang failed the post-race tech, he was given second place.
The No. 6 1972 AMC Javelin was driven by Rob Bromley. Bromley began the 2023 season with a retirement at Flamboro Speedway. However, he bounced back with a runner-up result at Sauble Beach. In round three, Bromley collected a seventh-place finish. On Saturday, he was second in the first heat race and started the finale in fifth. Bromley was fourth at the end of twenty-five-laps but would be classified with a third-place.
J.R. Patrick had his turn driving the Steve Book No. 64 1974 Chevrolet Camaro at Flamboro Speedway. Piloting the Camaro on Friday was another Late Model racer, Jo Lawrence. The nod went to the 2021 Qwick Wick Super Stock champion, Lane Zardo, for Saturday's contest. However, Book's regular ride, the 1960 Studebaker Hawk, was leaking fluid in the opening practice. As a result, Book replaced Zardo in the Camaro.
The short-lived podium for round four of the 2023 Knightworks Design OSCAAR Hot Rod series at Delaware Speedway. In the center is Dalen Martin, the first driver to cross the finish line. However, his 1971 Ford Mustang failed to navigate lap-26. The car failed the post-race technical inspection and Martin was excluded from the results. The win went to Tyler Hawn, on the left, with Cole Weber picking up second place.

16Tyler Hawn1966 Pontiac Beaumont25-
22Cole Weber1964 Rambler Ambassador25-
35Rob Bromley1972 AMC Javelin25-
41Matt Hopkins1964 Pontiac Laurentian25-
511David Rockwood1966 Chevrolet Beaumont25-
612Rob Starr1972 Chevrolet Nova SS25-
77Steve Book1974 Chevrolet Camaro25-
817Dave Evison Sr.1964 Chevrolet Chevy II/Nova25-
94Jeremy Taggart1958 Chevrolet Bel Air25-
109Ryan Cowan1959 Pontiac Bonneville25-
1113Connor Ellis1968 Chevrolet Chevelle25-
1216Bill Clarke1965 Pontiac Parisienne25-
1310Jordan Morris1973 Pontiac Firebird20-
1418Douglas Fischer1971 Chevrolet Nova SS17-
1514Jamie Carins1969 Chevrolet Camaro SS10-
163Nick Clarke1969 Ford Mustang9-
1715Kyle Woods1954 Packard Super Clipper Panama4-
-8Dalen Martin1971 Ford Mustang Mach 125Excluded

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022 and 2023

Return to home page.