2023 marks the ninth season of the very successful United Racing Series.

The 2023 APC United Late Model championship kicks off on the Victoria Day weekend at Sunset Speedway with a race called the Dayco Spring Fling 150. In early June, the teams make the first of two stops at Flamboro Speedway for the Flamboro 100. In the middle of June, the Peterborough 100 is held at Peterborough Speedway. On the Canada Day weekend, drivers compete at Delaware Speedway during the Canada Day 100. The next race sees the championship make its final appearance at Flamboro Speedway for the London Recreational Racing 100. The Mid-Summer Classic 150 is conducted in early August at Sauble Speedway. Round seven called the Sunset 100, will take place at Sunset Speedway. The penultimate event of 2023 is at Sauble Speedway. Titles are determined on September 23rd at Delaware Speedway.

The series rules remain unchanged from last season, with the cars constructed to specifications and controls common to most stock car series. The chassis is a tube frame covered with fiberglass bodies. A car can weigh as much as 2800-lbs depending on the engine choice. Crate motors from General Motors (GM 604 & GM 602) and Ford (347) are used in the series. Competitors use a spec tire from American Racer and Bilstein A2 shock absorbers to regulate expenses. There are also rules restricting the options for transmissions, ignition components, body material, brakes, etc.

To determine the starting order of the race, drivers participate in a qualifying session. The five fastest qualifiers selected starting positions one through five during a random draw. Before each race, the cars receive a technical inspection and are impounded until the start of the event.

A new restart procedure was introduced this year by series officials for the APC United Late Model and Qwick Wick Super Stock divisions called the 'choose rule.' On restarts, competitors are allowed to choose their lane. Their selection may be determined by the condition of the track, how many cars are ahead of them or the handling of their vehicle. If a driver changes their choice after the designated 'choose spot,' they must start from the rear of the field.

Also new for this season is the NTN BCA Bearings Triple Crown. Three marquee events, held at Sunset Speedway, Sauble Speedway and Delaware Speedway, will be 150-lap contests in contrast to the standard event, which is 100-laps. The three-race mini-series has a prize fund of $15,000. First place pays $3,500, second $2,500, third $2,000 and fourth thru tenth $1,000.

Round five of the 2023 APC United Late Model Championship for Pro Late Models was held at Flamboro Speedway. Drivers would compete in the London Recreational 100, a one-hundred-lap contest around the 0.333-mile semi-banked oval.

The grid for round five of the 2023 APC United Late Model Championship at Flamboro Speedway. The eighth-fastest qualifier, Jr Farrelly, is on the pole in the No. 72 Berne Workwear Chevrolet SS. Next to Farrelly is the No. 97D, driven by Tyler Di Venanzo, who qualified seventh. Row two is occupied by the No. 3 APC Chevrolet Camaro of Shae Gemmell and the No. 17 Canadian Flat Roof Systems Toyota Camry driven by Josh Stade.
The five different winners after five rounds are proof that the APC series is competitive. On Sunday at Flamboro, Shae Gemmell became the fifth different driver to collect a victory in 2023. Gemmell started third in the No. 3 APC Chevrolet Camaro and led briefly before losing first place. It appeared that he would finish second, but on lap-92, the leader, J.R. Fitzpatrick, hit the wall allowing Gemmell to inherit the top spot and win.
The winner of the previous round was Jake Sheridan. He drove the No. 52 Cameron Crane and Riggers Ford Mustang. During time trials, Sheridan was second quickest and after the redraw, he was gridded in the sixth position. Sheridan joined the leaders before the mid-point of the race. As the laps wound down, it appeared that he would finish third. However, the retirement of J.R. Fitzpatrick gave him a runner-up result.
The first four rounds of the 2023 APC United Late Model Championship havenít been very kind to Blair Wickett. In fact, the No. 97 Ry-Matt Mini Storage Chevrolet Camaro wouldnít start for the race at Delaware Speedway. Wickett qualified and started thirteenth at Flamboro. Before the rain delay, he was in twelfth place. After the restart, Wickett began his march to the front of the field and finished in the third spot.
On lap-71, the London Recreational Racing 100 was stopped for rain. After an approximately forty-minute delay, the track was ready for racing. On the restart into corner one, Tom Gibbons moved to the inside and clipped Jr. Farrelly. The ensuing melee involved Gibbons and Farrelly and impacted Kyle Steckly, Josh Stade, Chase Pinsonneaul t and Cole Quinton. Gibbons, Steckly and Quinton retired.
J.R. Fitzpatrick was victorious when the series made its first visit of the season to Flamboro. The No. 84 Cambridge Rigging/ATV Depot Chevrolet SS driver qualified third fastest and started in the fifth spot. Fitzpatrick moved into the lead on lap-29 and took control of the contest. He was dominant even after the rain delay until the right front suspension failed with eight laps remaining. Fitzpatrick finished thirteenth.
Jo Lawrence is the points leader after four events, even though he hasnít won a race. His record includes three podiums and none of his finishes have been worse than fourth place. Flamboro would prove challenging for Lawrence and the No. 78 Great Lakes Concrete Chevrolet Camaro crew. He started the race in ninth and avoided most of the incidents to finish fourth, which allowed him to retain the championship lead.
The top-three finishers for the London Recreational Racing 100. In the center is the winner, Shae Gemmell. His result marks the fifth different victor in as many races. On the left is the runner-up, Jake Sheridan, who sits second in the points. On the extreme right is the third-place finisher, Blair Wickett. Standing between Gemmell and Wickett is Mike Schmidt. Schmidt is the primary sponsor for the event.

13Shae GemmellAPC Auto Parts Centres / Chevrolet Camaro100
26Jake SheridanCameron Crane & Riggers / Ford Mustang100
313Blair WickettRy-Matt Mini Storage / Chevrolet Camaro100
49Jo LawrenceBT Racing/MOM/APC / Chevrolet Camaro100
54Josh StadeCanadian Flat Roof Systems / Toyota Camry100
619Rick BurbridgeFleming Automotive / Chevrolet SS100
717Erik Dalla RivaSDR Seating/Eibach / Chevrolet SS100
81Jr FarrellyBerne Workwear / Chevrolet SS100
920Cory LucianoReal Landscaping Plus / Ford Mustang100
108Danny BenedictNorth Country / Chevrolet SS100
1110Chase PinsonneaultFCF Custom Fab / Chevrolet Camaro100
122Tyler Di VenanzoBremner Construction / Ford Mustang97
135J.R. FitzpatrickCambridge Rigging/ATV Depot / Chevrolet SS90
147Kyle StecklyAPC Auto Parts Centres / Chevrolet SS71
1511Tom GibbonsTom Gibbons Concrete Finishing / Chevrolet Camaro71
1618Cole QuintonStage it with Style / Ford Fusion71
1714Shawn ChenowethLondon Recreation Racing / Chevrolet Camaro66
1812Treyten LapcevichAcademy Construction / Chevrolet Camaro43
1916Mark BurbridgeFleming Automotive / Chevrolet SS41
2015James HornerCustom Framing / Chevrolet Camaro24

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022 and 2023

Return to home page.