The Nissan Micra Cup series made its debut in 2015. The championship was designed to provide racers with the most affordable race vehicle in Canada. New for 2021, and replacing the Micra series, was the Nissan Sentra Cup. This year the grids will still include the older Micras, but the focus will be on the Sentra.

  • Nissan Sentra – Each Nissan Sentra competing in the series carries a price tag of $39,990. The Sentras were prepared by the Motorsports in Action team at St-Eustache, with the development being performed by Canadian racing veteran Jean-Francois Dumoulin. The cars are powered by a DACT four-cylinder 2.0-liter sequential multi-point fuel injection engine which produces 149-horsepower at 6,400-rpm. Some performance upgrades include four-piston front calipers, adjustable coil-overs, 18”X9” alloy wheels, braided stainless steel flex lines and a MoTec M1 Series ECM. To address safety, the Sentra Cup cars include features such as an FIA Spec six-point roll cage, FIA homologated six-point harness and FIA homologated racing seat.
  • Nissan Micra – The Micra is powered by a 1.6-liter DOHC 4-cylinder engine which produces 109-horsepower. For safety purposes, much of the interior (seats, door panels, etc.) is removed and a safety cage, five-point harness, window net and FIA-approved racing seat are installed. To improve the performance of the cars, they are fitted with a racing suspension kit, high-performance brake pads, Pirelli racing tires and a modified exhaust system.

Each race weekend consists of two forty-minute contests.

  • May 20-22 - Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
  • June 17-19 - Circuit Gilles Villeneuve
  • July 22-24 - Circuit Mont-Tremblant
  • August 5-7 - Circuit de Trois-Rivières
  • September 2-4 - Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
  • September 23-25 - Circuit Mont-Tremblant

The opening rounds of the 2022 Nissan Sentra Cup was held on the Victoria Day weekend at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. Drivers would compete in races one and two around the ten turn 2.459-mile road course.

Practice and qualifying were held in ideal conditions. However, just six laps were completed when race one had to be halted due to a severe storm. On Sunday, drivers had to deal with a wet track.

The first lap for the opening round of the 2022 Nissan Sentra Cup. Leading the field of eighteen starters into Canadian Tire Motorsport Park’s corner four is the No. 36 pole-winning Nissan Sentra of Justin Arseneau. Behind Arseneau is the other front-row starter, Alexandre Fortin, driving the No. 32 Nissan Sentra. Trailing the leaders are the Sentras of Simon Charbonneau and Simon Dion-Viens.
Winning the opening round of the 2022 Nissan Sentra Cup was Alexandre Fortin. Fortin, a rookie last year, grabbed victories at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park and Mont-Tremblant and finished fourth in the final standings. During qualifying for race one, he was second fastest in the No. 32 Nissan Sentra. He took the lead and victory when the race had to be stopped due to weather. On Sunday, Fortin finished third.
The finale was won by Simon Charbonneau. The driver of the No. 88 Nissan Sentra was also a rookie last season, finishing eighth in the final standings. On Saturday, Charbonneau qualified third but retired after five laps. He started third in the final event but moved into the lead on lap-1. Charbonneau lost the top spot, but when Justin Arseneau went off course, he moved back into first place for the victory.
Race two of the 2022 Nissan Sentra Cup at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park was conducted in wet conditions. Leading the field into corner one is the No. 36 Nissan Sentra of the polesitter, Justin Arseneau. Immediately behind Arseneau is the third-place starter, Simon Charbonneau, who would grab the lead before the end of the first lap. The other front-row starter, Alexandre Fortin, is the outside of the leaders.
Starting on the pole both days was Justin Arseneau. Arseneau drove the No. 36 Nissan Sentra and competed in last season’s US Formula 4 championship, where he finished seventh in the final standings. In the weekend`s first weather-shortened event, Arseneau finished second and on Sunday, he collected another runner-up result. Although Arseneau did not capture a victory, he left the weekend with the points lead.
There were only four Nissan Micra Cup entries. The Micras are gradually being replaced with the new Sentras or finding a home in the Super Production Challenge series. The weekend at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park belonged to Francois Angers-Routhier. Angers-Routhier drove the No. 90 Nissan Micra. On the way to his class victories, he qualified fifteenth overall on Saturday and finished twelfth. In the finale, he was ninth overall.
Canadian sports car veteran Normand Boyer competed in the 2018 Nissan Micra Cup series, where he finished fifth in the final standings and captured the crown in the Seniors division. Boyer returned to the championship in 2022, driving the No. 11 Nissan Sentra. On Saturday, he demonstrated the form for which he is known. After qualifying tenth, Boyer finished third. The next day, he lost a lap to the leaders.

12SentraAlexandre FortinNissan Sentra6-
21SentraJustin ArseneauNissan Sentra6-
310SentraNormand BoyerNissan Sentra6-
45SentraValérie LimogesNissan Sentra6-
58SentraDaniel FortinNissan Sentra6-
67SentraSylvain OuelletNissan Sentra6-
711SentraFrédérik ChaputNissan Sentra6-
812SentraJean AudetNissan Sentra6-
913SentraNicolas MironNissan Sentra6-
109SentraAndre LapointeNissan Sentra6-
1114SentraNicolas BarretteNissan Sentra6-
1215MicraFrançois Angers-RouthierNissan Micra6-
1316MicraRaphaël St-PierreNissan Micra6-
1417MicraMarie-Soleil LabelleNissan Micra6-
1518MicraMax PoirierNissan Micra6-
163SentraSimon CharbonneauNissan Sentra5Did Not Finish
174SentraSimon Dion-ViensNissan Sentra5Did Not Finish
186SentraÉric ChaputNissan Sentra-Did Not Start

13SentraSimon CharbonneauNissan Sentra17-
21SentraJustin ArseneauNissan Sentra17-
32SentraAlexandre FortinNissan Sentra17-
46SentraValérie LimogesNissan Sentra17-
513SentraNicolas MironNissan Sentra17-
67SentraSylvain OuelletNissan Sentra17-
711SentraDaniel FortinNissan Sentra17-
814SentraNicolas BarretteNissan Sentra17-
915MicraFrançois Angers-RouthierNissan Micra17-
1016MicraRaphaël St-PierreNissan Micra17-
1117MicraMarie-Soleil LabelleNissan Micra17-
1218MicraMax PoirierNissan Micra17-
1310SentraNormand BoyerNissan Sentra16-
145SentraÉric ChaputNissan Sentra15Did Not Finish
1512SentraFrédérik ChaputNissan Sentra11Did Not Finish
168SentraAndre LapointeNissan Sentra7Did Not Finish
179SentraJean AudetNissan Sentra7Did Not Finish
184SentraSimon Dion-ViensNissan Sentra1Did Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021

Return to home page.