Now in its thirty-second season, the Ontario Stock Car Association of Asphalt Racers (OSCAAR) is responsible for sanctioning two divisions: Modified and Hot Rod.

The Modified division, which receives backing from Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC, draws many competitors and features some exciting races. Due to COVID 19, the last couple of years have resulted in fewer races and limits on spectator attendance. In 2022, the Federal and Provincial governments have listed many of the restrictions, which means OSCAAR has a full calendar and will see the return of fans.

There are thirteen races on the 2022 OSCAAR Modified schedule.

  • May 21-22 - Sunset Speedway
  • June 18 - Sauble Speedway
  • June 25 - Sunset Speedway
  • July 1 - Delaware Speedway
  • July 2 - Delaware Speedway
  • July 23 - Sunset Speedway
  • July 30 - Peterborough Speedway
  • August 20 - Sauble Speedway
  • August 27 - Flamboro Speedway
  • September 17-18 - Sunset Speedway
  • September 24 - Delaware Speedway
  • October 1 - Flamboro Speedway
  • October 7-9 - Peterborough Speedway

The cars competing in this class are purpose-built open-wheel vehicles. The Modifieds use a steel tube frame chassis, which is no less than 1-3/4-inch outside diameter with 0.095-inch wall thickness. Bodies are made of sheet metal, with the driver’s compartment and engine bay covered. The cars may be any make or model, but they tend to have little to no resemblance to their road-going counterparts.

The engine option selected by the car owner determines the weight of the vehicle. A Modified using 350-horsepower Crate Engine is the lightest at 2,600 pounds and 2,775 pounds is required for a car powered by a Built Motor. Weight may be added or removed depending on the choice of transmission.

Many of the other rules governing the OSCAAR Modified class are for driver safety and to keep costs down.

The third round of the 2022 Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC OSCAAR Modified Series was held at Sunset Speedway on June 25. The results from four heat races on the 0.333-mile asphalt oval would determine the starting order for the forty-lap feature event.

A field of sixteen drivers line up on Sunset Speedway’s back straight for the start of round three of the 2022 Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC OSCAAR Modified Series. The series 2019 champion, A.J. Emms, is on the pole in the No. 14 BAE Environmental Modified. Beside Emms is the No. 51 Scott Reinhart Trailers sponsored Modified driven by Dale Reinhart. Row two is occupied by Jason Keen and Jake Watson.
Andy Kamrath scored his third victory in as many starts. The current points leader drove the No. 35 LRR Modified. Kamrath finished first and second in his heat races. Winning the feature would be a challenge as he was gridded sixth. Kamrath moved into second early, but A.J. Emms had a comfortable lead. A yellow was Kamrath’s only hope and it came on lap-21 when Luke Gignac spun. He passed Emms to claim the win.
The 2019 series champion, A.J. Emms, drove the No. 14 BAE Environmental Modified. He finished third in heat one and won the fourth heat race. Emms started the feature on the pole and pulled out a commanding lead before Luke Gignac spun, causing the first caution. On the restart, the points leader, Andy Kamrath, was behind Emms. Unable to hold off Kamrath, Emms finished second by a margin of 0.868-seconds.
The defending Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC OSCAAR Modified champion was T.J. Edwards. Edwards drove the No. 34 Stewart’s Farm Equipment Modified. He was tied for second in the standings with Marshall Schrenk and Jake Watson. Edwards was victorious in heat race three and started the feature in the fifth spot. He eventually moved into third place and held the position to the checkered flag.
Finishing fourth in the feature was Dale Reinhardt. Reinhardt’s best result after two rounds of the 2022 Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC OSCAAR Modified championship was a third-place result at Sauble Beach. He finished second in heat race two and was gridded on the outside of the front row for the feature. Reinhardt was unable to hold-off Andy Kamrath and T.J. Edwards and was the first driver to finish one lap down.
Jason Keen finished third in last season’s championship standings. He returned this year with the familiar No. 18 Oakville Auto and Diesel Machine Shop sponsored Modified. Keen’s best result in this weekend’s heat races was a second place. He started the forty-lap feature in the third position. During the contest, Keen was passed by Andy Kamrath and T.J. Edwards, which resulted in a fifth-place finish.
Of those competitors scoring points this year, Ryan Dick was at the bottom of the list in twenty-first place. Hoping to turn his season around, Dick grabbed a victory in heat race one at Sunset Speedway. He started the feature in the seventh position, driving the No. 88D Modified with backing from Darrell Dick Excavating. A steady performance was rewarded with a six-place result.
The top three finishers for round three of the 2022 Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC OSCAAR Modified Series at Sunset Speedway. In the center is the points leader and race winner, Andy Kamrath, who is three for three this season. On the left is the 2019 series champion, A.J. Emms, who finished in the runner-up position. The final spot is occupied by last year’s title holder and the third-place finisher, T.J. Edwards.

1Andy KamrathModified / London Recreational Racing39-
2A.J. EmmsModified / BAE Environmental / FMR Scrap Buyers39-
3T.J. EdwardsModified / Steward's Farm Equipment39-
4Dale ReinhartModified / SGR Plumbing38-
5Jason KeenModified / Oakville Auto and Diesel38-
6Kelly BalsonModified / London Recreational Racing38-
7Ryan DickModified / Darrell Dick Excavating38-
8Mike HeartyModified / Surplus Furniture & Mattress38-
9Jake WatsonModified / Curt's Coolers38-
10Brian WilsonModified / RKS Electric38-
11Paul WilsonModified / Have1.com38-
12Tyler LiscumModified / -38-
13Chris MilwainModified / Lawn Care Property Maintenance37-
14Wally WilsonModified / The Fyre Place35-
15Herb WaltersModified / Majors Pharmacy26Did Not Finish
16Luke GignacModified / Port's Cooling & Heating20Did Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020

Return to home page.