The Masters Historic Racing is the vision of Ron Maydon. Maydon introduced the concept in 2004 with several principles in mind.

  • A respected and professionally run race series - with integrity and honesty at their core;
  • A community of racing drivers and enthusiasts who were passionate about historic racing;
  • Drivers and owners who wanted to be the custodians of these iconic cars and saw it as their responsibility to keeping them alive on track - for all to enjoy;
  • A great camaraderie between all involved;
  • Professional customer service for drivers, their families and preparers;
  • And last but not least, a fun and relaxed environment for drivers and their families to enjoy!

In the beginning the Masters Historic Racing organization was for Formula One cars from the 3-liter era, but has grown to include several race series in the UK, Europe and North America.

  • Masters Gentleman Drivers
  • Masters Racing Legends
  • Masters Sports Car Legends
  • Masters Pre-66 Touring Cars
  • Masters GT4 Classic Silverstone Challenge
  • Masters Endurance Legends – USA
  • Masters Formula Atlantic Plus
  • Masters Racing Legends – USA

Competing at Canadian Motorsport Park during the Chevrolet Grand Prix weekend were the Masters Endurance Legends – USA and Masters Formula Atlantic Plus.

  • Masters Endurance Legends – USA – This category is for Formula One cars competing from the 1966 to 1985. Competitors must use the 3-liter Cosworth DFV engine with a 10,000-rpm rev limit. The class is broken down into four periods.
    • Jackie Stewart – Formula One cars built and raced prior to 31/12/1972
    • Emerson Fittipaldi – Post-1972, non-ground effect Formula One cars
    • Patrick Head – Post-1972, ground effect Formula One cars
    • Niki Lauda – Post-1972, flat bottomed Formula One Cars
  • Masters Formula Atlantic Plus – This class is for under 2-liter single seaters built from 1969 to 1986.


4 – This 1983 Tyrrell 011B was driven by Jamie Constable and was the only car entered in the Lauda class. Constable won race one during the Chevrolet Grand Prix weekend. In 1983, Ken Tyrrell’s drivers were Danny Sullivan and Michele Alboreto. The team’s best result was a victory by Alboreto at Detroit.

8 – Lee Mowle drove the 1977 Lotus 78/2 in the Patrick Head category. Mowle finished second in the weekend’s first contest but claimed victory in the weekend’s finale. The 1977 Lotus 78/2 made its debut in 1977. This model was raced by Mario Andretti, Gunnar Nilsson and Ronnie Peterson. Nilsson won the 1977 Belgian Grand Prix and Peterson delivered the same results a year later at the South African Grand Prix.

11 – Dan Collins was entered in the No. 11 1982 Lotus 91/8. Collins topped the timesheets but crashed in Canadian Tire Motorsport Park’s corner nine and could not start the races. During the 1982 season, the Lotus was driven by Nigel Mansell and Elio de Angelis. De Angelis used the car to win the Austrian Grand Prix.

15 – The 1976 March 761 is classified Fittipaldi category and was raced by Gray Gregory. This popular model was campaigned in 1976 and 1977 and driven by Ronnie Peterson, Hans Joachim Stuck, Lella Lombardi, Arturo Merzario, Alex Ribeiro, Ian Scheckter, Brian Henton, Bernard de Dryver, Brett Lunger, Boy Hayje, Mikko Kozarowitzky, Andy Sutcliffe, Michael Bleekemolen, Patrick Neve and Vittorio Brambilla. Peterson claimed first place at the Italian Grand Prix in 1976.

16 – Another car competing in the Fittipaldi category was this 1977 Shadow DN8 driven by Canadian Dean Baker. The DN8 was raced from 1976 to 1978. The driver having the most success was Alan Jones, who finished third at the 1977 Canadian Grand Prix, held at Mosport, and won the Dutch Grand Prix in the same year.

24 – Four of the car entered at this event competed in the Fittipaldi class. One of them was the 1974 Hesketh 308, driven by James Hagan. The team’s driver in 1977, James Hunt, finished on the podium at the Swedish, Austrian and American Grand Prix. The following year the team introduced the 308B, which Hunt used to win the Dutch Grand Prix.

31 – Series principal, Ron Maydon, drove the 1977 LEC CRP1. This car also competed in the Fittipaldi category. The LEC was raced at only selected events during 1977. The car finished a season-high thirteenth place at the Belgian with David Purley behind the wheel.

61 – Bud Moeller drove this 1982 Williams FW08 in the Head class. The FW08 was driven by Keke Rosberg and Derek Daly during the 1982 Formula One season. Rosberg finished on the podium five times, with his best result being a victory at the Swiss Grand Prix.

70 – The only Formula Atlantic entry was the No. 70 Ralt RT-1 driven by Danny Baker. The RT-1 was introduced in 1975. In addition to Formula Atlantic, the Ralt was also a popular chassis for Formula Super Vee, Formula 2 and Formula 3 competitors.

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022

Return to home page.