The Knights of Thunder 360 Sprint Car Series debuted in 2022.

The championship is for winged Sprint Cars. These open-wheel tube frame vehicles have a high power-to-weight ratio and are limited to a fuel-injected V8 engine. Strict rules only permit the use of steel blocks equipped with spec cylinder heads from General Motors, Ford or Mopar. Even the intake ports are required to match specific gasket dimensions from Fel-Pro. The motor produces approximately 700 horsepower. Power from the engine is transferred through an in-or-out gearbox. As a result, the cars are not equipped with a starter motor and require a push to start.

The chassis rules are simple. They must be a four-post design and cannot use chassis or suspension cockpit adjustable devices. Brakes are limited to steel, aluminum or titanium rotors. Spec Hoosier Tires are mounted on eighteen-inch wide wheels on the right rear and on the left rear, wheels must not exceed fifteen inches.

After a race, this competitive package must weigh no more than 1,500 pounds (with the driver and no fuel).

The 2022 Knights of Thunder schedule consists of ten events at three tracks. The season starts in June and ends the first weekend of October. To make up for races lost due to the Global Pandemic, three contests have been designated as the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals.

  • June 30 – Humberstone Speedway
  • July 1 – Ohsweken Speedway (16th Canadian Sprint Car Nationals)
  • August 15 – Ohsweken Speedway (17th Canadian Sprint Car Nationals)
  • August 16 – Ohsweken Speedway
  • September 3 – Brighton Speedway
  • September 4 – Brighton Speedway
  • September 16 – Ohsweken Speedway
  • September 17 – Ohsweken Speedway (18th Canadian Sprint Car Nationals)
  • September 30 – Humberstone Speedway
  • October 1 – Humberstone Speedway

Round three of the Knights of Thunder 360 Sprint Car Series was held at Ohsweken Speedway. The event was for the 17th running of the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals. The race attracted thirty-seven entries vying for thirty spots in the A Main. After the two qualifying sessions, there were four heats races and a B Main to determine the starting order. Drivers competed in a thirty-five-lap contest around the 0.375-mile dirt oval to decide who would take the grand prize of $10,000.

The pace lap for the 17th running of the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals at Ohsweken Speedway. Leading the field of thirty drivers down Ohsweken’s back straight is the pole-sitter, Paulie Colagiovanni, in the No. 10C IndyKart Raceway sponsored 360 Sprint Car. Starting beside Colagiovanni is the No. 79 Mechanical Service Co. 360 Sprint Car driven by Jordan Thomas. Row two is occupied by Ryan Coniam and Josh Hansen.
In July, the 16th running of the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals was held at Ohsweken Speedway. At that event, Paulie Colagiovanni finished in the runner-up position after starting in fourth place. Upon his return to the track, Colagiovanni qualified fifth fastest and won the third heat race. He started the A Main on the pole in the No. 10C IndyKart Raceway 360 Sprint Car and held the top spot to the checkered flag.
Stewart Friesen was a regular on the dirt track scene in southern Ontario and the northeastern United States but has moved on to compete in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. Friesen was invited to compete in the Knights of Thunder and NASCAR Pinty’s Series during the 17th running of the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals. In both events, he finished a strong second after challenging the winners.
When the Knights of Thunder stopped at Ohsweken Speedway for the 16th running of the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals, Cory Turner finished eighth after starting twenty-fifth. When the series visited for the 17th running, Turner would deliver much better results. He qualified third and finished second in his heat race, driving the No. 13 Petroplus 360 Sprint Car. Turner started the A Main in seventh place and finished third.
Jordan Thomas started on the outside of the front row for the 17th running of the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals at Ohsweken Speedway. The driver of the No. 79 Mechanical Service Co. sponsored 360 Sprint Car was only ninth fastest in the first qualifying session but rebounded to finish second in the first heat race. However, during the A Main, Thomas finished fourth after being passed by Stewart Friesen and Cory Turner.
It appeared that it was going to be Dylan Westbrook’s night. Westbrook topped the timesheets in the two qualifying sessions, turning a time of 14.657-seconds. His performance earned him the Qwick Wick Fastest Qualifier Award and the Fastest Canadian Award. Westbrook started fourth in heat race one and grabbed the victory. Unfortunately, he was the second retirement of the A Main, completing only nineteen laps.
Local driver Aaron Turkey found a seat in the NASCAR Pinty’s 100. Turkey drove the No. 99 Buck Down Boys TV Dodge Challenger. He recorded the quickest time in Monday evening’s Qwick Wick Hot Lap Dash and collected the $1,500 prize. The next day, Turkey finished thirteenth in the Pinty’100. Driving the No. 68 Buck Down Boys TV 360 Sprint Car in the Canadian Nationals, Turkey started twenty-fifth and finished nineteenth.
The top three finishers for round three of the 2022 Knights of Thunder 360 Sprint Car series and the 17th running of the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals at Ohsweken Speedway. In the center is the winner, Paulie Colagiovanni, who led flag-to-flag for the victory. On the left is NASCAR Camping World Truck competitor and the runner-up, Stewart Friesen. The final spot belongs to the third-place finisher, Cory Turner.

11Knights of ThunderPaulie ColagiovanniIndyKart Raceway35
210Knights of ThunderStewart FriesenKingpin Farms35
37Knights of ThunderCory TurnerPetroplus35
42Knights of ThunderJordan ThomasMechanical Service35
59Knights of ThunderMitch BrownHill's Tires & Gas35
620Knights of ThunderNick SheridanVibrent Farms35
78Knights of ThunderMatt FarnhamFibreworks Composites35
83Knights of ThunderRyan ConiamFour-Six Group35
922Knights of ThunderMikey KruchkaTammy Media35
1011Knights of ThunderJordan PoirierRegifab Steels35
114Knights of ThunderJosh HansenAckland Insurance35
1218Knights of ThunderTodd HoddickFibreworks Composites35
1319Knights of ThunderTyler RandEllbrook Excavating35
1413Knights of ThunderBrayden CooleyGlenn Styres Racing35
156Knights of ThunderJake BrownCar Quest34
1627Knights of ThunderLiam MartinO'Neil's Equipment Sales & Service34
1717Knights of ThunderBaily HeardNTM Mechanical34
1824Knights of ThunderHolly PorterGlenn Styres Racing34
1925Knights of ThunderAaron TurkeyBuck Down Boys TV34
2016Knights of ThunderJim HuppunenUpper Canada Consultants34
2123Knights of ThunderJason BarneyE & V Energy34
2215Knights of ThunderMack DeManCarstar Collision34
2328Knights of ThunderDale GosselinDale Gosselin Racing34
2412Knights of ThunderGlenn StyresGlenn Styres Racing33
2514Knights of ThunderDJ ChristieCastrol / Qwick Wick33
2626Knights of ThunderJacob DykstraJR's Riverside Bait & Tackle32
2729Knights of ThunderShone EvansBig Red Excavating31
2821Knights of ThunderJamie TurnerBurger BarnDid Not Finish
295Knights of ThunderDylan WestbrookStys Tree ServiceDid Not Finish
3030Knights of ThunderJohn Burbridge JrGale's Auto AftermarketDid Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021

Return to home page.