Now in its thirty-second season, the Ontario Stock Car Association of Asphalt Racers (OSCAAR) is responsible for sanctioning two divisions: Modified and Hot Rod.

The Hot Rod division, which receives backing from Qwick Wick Fire Starter, draws many competitors and features some exciting races. Due to COVID 19, the last couple of years have resulted in a reduced number of races and limits on spectator attendance. In 2022, the Federal and Provincial governments have listed many of the restrictions, which means OSCAAR has a full calendar and will see the return of fans.

Fourteen races are on the 2022 Qwick Wick Fire Starter OSCAAR Hot Rod schedule.

  • May 21-22 - Sunset Speedway
  • June 18 - Sauble Speedway
  • June 25 - Sunset Speedway
  • July 1 - Delaware Speedway
  • July 2 - Delaware Speedway
  • July 23 - Sunset Speedway
  • July 30 - Peterborough Speedway
  • August 13 - Brighton Speedway
  • August 20 - Sauble Speedway
  • August 27 - Flamboro Speedway
  • September 17-18 - Sunset Speedway
  • September 24 - Delaware Speedway
  • October 1 - Flamboro Speedway
  • October 7-9 - Peterborough Speedway

The cars competing in the championship are constructed to specifications and rules common to most stock car series. What makes the Hot Rod division unique are the makes and models that compete in the division. The cars must be North American, have a steel body and have been produced between 1949 and 1974. No pickup trucks, convertibles or front-wheel-drive vehicles can participate in this series. The Hot Rods must have a stock roof, grill, tail and the rest of the body panels can be fabricated from 22-gauge sheet steel but must retain a stock appearance. Many other rules governing this class are for safety and to keep the costs down.

Round six of the 2022 Qwick Wick Fire Starter OSCAAR Hot Rod Series was held at Sunset Speedway on July 23. The results from six heat races on the 0.333-mile asphalt oval would determine the starting order for the thirty-lap feature event.

Nineteen competitors line up on Sunset Speedway’s back straight for round six of the 2022 Qwick Wick Fire Starter OSCAAR Hot Rod Series. Starting on the pole and pacing the field is the No. 9 1964 Rambler Ambassador of Cole Weber. Next to Weber is Tom Walters driving the No. 47W 1974 Dodge Dart. Row two is occupied by Paul Senior in a 1968 Chevrolet Chevelle and the 1971 Plymouth Superbird of Bill Zardo, Sr.
Cole Weber dominated the proceedings in round six of the Qwick Wick Fire Starter OSCAAR Hot Rod Series. The driver of the No. 9 1964 Rambler Ambassador won each of his heat races and earned the pole for the thirty-lap feature. During the final race, Weber had to deal with Tom Walters, but after the lap-5 caution period, Walters was focused on defending his position. Weber would go flag-to-flag for the victory.
Driving the No. 47W 1974 Dodge Dart, with backing from RGC Sports and Cathcart Trucking, was the Canadian Motorsport Hall of Famer Tom Walters. Walters grabbed the victory in the evening’s final heat race and started the feature beside the pole-sitter, Cole Weber. Early in the contest, he pressured Cole, but later in the race, Walters had to defend, first, against Paul Senior and then John Gaunt before finishing second.
Former CASCAR and NASCAR competitor John Gaunt made a triumphant debut in round three of the Qwick Wick OSCAAR Hot Rod Series at Sunset Speedway. He claimed a win in heat race five and started the feature in the seventh position. Gaunt drives the No. 96 Gaunt Collision sponsored 1966 Chevrolet Chevy II. After battles with Travis Farrow, Rob Bromley and Paul Senior, Gaunt finished third.
Despite this lurid spin in the sixth heat race, Paul Senior was a contender in the finale. Driving the No. 8SR PPG Canada / HRE Engines / Adams Graphics sponsored 1969 Chevrolet Chevelle, Senior was in the third position for the thirty-lap feature. He challenged Tom Walters early in the event but eventually found himself defending third. John Gaunt would pass him on lap-18, leaving him to finish fourth.
Round six at Sunset Speedway would see a change in the standings. When the weekend ended at Delaware Speedway, Rob Bromley was second in the title chase. During the heats races at Sunset, Bromley collected a pair of third place results driving the No. 6 Bromley Automotive 1972 AMC Javelin. In the feature, he started and finished fifth. More important, the retirement of Amanda Balson gave him the points lead.
After races four and five at Delaware Speedway, Amanda Balson’s lead in the championship shrunk to just three markers after she was involved in a multi-car wreck. With repairs made to the No. 16 London Recreation Racing 1974 Chevrolet Camaro, she was ready to defend her place in the standings. Unfortunately, on lap-5 of the feature at Sunset, Balson was involved in an accident. After round six, she was third in points.
The top three finishers for round six of the 2022 Qwick Wick Fire Starter OSCAAR Hot Rod Series at Sunset Speedway. In the center is the winner, Cole Weber. This event belonged to Weber as he won his heat races and the feature in the No. 9 1974 Rambler Ambassador. On the left is the runner-up, Canadian Stock Car veteran Tom Walters. Completing the top finishers is John Gaunt, who won last time at Sunset.

11Cole Weber1964 Rambler Ambassador30-
22Tom Walters1974 Dodge Dart30-
37John Gaunt1966 Chevrolet Chevy II30-
43Paul Senior1968 Chevrolet Chevelle30-
55Rob Bromley1972 AMC Javelin30-
68Travis Farrow1968 Pontiac Firebird30-
714Nick Clarke1969 Ford Mustang30-
815Donny Beatty1974 Chevrolet Camaro30-
910Steve Book1960 Studebaker Hawk29-
1013Ryan Cowan1959 Pontiac Bonneville29-
1111Connor Ellis1968 Chevrolet Chevelle29-
1212Gary Hannah1967 Dart Swinger30-
1317Bill Clarke1966 Pontiac Parisienne28-
1416Sean Walker1955 Chevrolet Bel Air27-
1519Matt Spry1969 Chevrolet Chevelle26-
1618Paul Bogensberger, Jr.1969 Chevrolet Chevelle7Did Not Finish
174Bill Zardo Sr1971 Plymouth Superbird5Did Not Finish
186Amanda Balson1974 Chevrolet Camaro5Did Not Finish
199Dustin Kellar1969 Chevrolet Camaro5Did Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020

Return to home page.