Now in its thirty-second season, the Ontario Stock Car Association of Asphalt Racers (OSCAAR) is responsible for sanctioning two divisions: Modified and Hot Rod.

The Hot Rod division, which receives backing from Qwick Wick Fire Starter, draws many competitors and features some exciting races. Due to COVID 19, the last couple of years have resulted in a reduced number of races and limits on spectator attendance. In 2022, the Federal and Provincial governments have listed many of the restrictions, which means OSCAAR has a full calendar and will see the return of fans.

Fourteen races are on the 2022 Qwick Wick Fire Starter OSCAAR Hot Rod schedule.

  • May 21-22 - Sunset Speedway
  • June 18 - Sauble Speedway
  • June 25 - Sunset Speedway
  • July 1 - Delaware Speedway
  • July 2 - Delaware Speedway
  • July 23 - Sunset Speedway
  • July 30 - Peterborough Speedway
  • August 13 - Brighton Speedway
  • August 20 - Sauble Speedway
  • August 27 - Flamboro Speedway
  • September 17-18 - Sunset Speedway
  • September 24 - Delaware Speedway
  • October 1 - Flamboro Speedway
  • October 7-9 - Peterborough Speedway

The cars competing in the championship are constructed to specifications and rules common to most stock car series. What makes the Hot Rod division unique are the makes and models that compete in the division. The cars must be North American, have a steel body and have been produced between 1949 and 1974. No pickup trucks, convertibles or front-wheel-drive vehicles can participate in this series. The Hot Rods must have a stock roof, grill, tail and the rest of the body panels can be fabricated from 22-gauge sheet steel but must retain a stock appearance. Many other rules governing this class are for safety and to keep the costs down.

The third round of the 2022 Qwick Wick Fire Starter OSCAAR Hot Rod Series was held at Sunset Speedway on June 25. The results from six heat races on the 0.333-mile asphalt oval would determine the starting order for the thirty-lap feature event.

Twenty-five Qwick Wick Fire Starter OSCAAR Hot Rod Series drivers line up on Sunset Speedway's back straight for round three of the championship. On the pole is the No. 8SR 1968 Chevrolet Camaro of Paul Senior. Beside Senior is Bill Zardo, Sr., driving the No. 46 1971 Plymouth Superbird. The second row is occupied by the 1969 Ford Mustang of Nick Clarke and Amanda Balson driving a 1974 Chevrolet Camaro.
Anyone that followed the CASCAR or NASCAR Canadian Tire series would recognize the name, John Gaunt. After an absence, Gaunt has returned to racing in a 1966 Chevy II. The car made its debut in round three of the Hot Rod Series. He finished third in his first heat race and was gridded ninth for the feature. Gaunt moved up the order and when the race leader, Tom Walters, retired, he grabbed first place and the victory.
Claiming the runner-up spot in round three of Qwick Wick OSCAAR Hot Rod Series, by a margin of 0.405-seconds, was Nick Clarke. Clarke was driving the No. 86 1969 Ford Mustang and finished second in his heat races. During the feature, he dueled with Bill Zardo, Steve Book, Tom Walters and John Gaunt. An issue between Zardo and Book and the retirement of Walters allowed Clarke to capture the second position.
The No. 6 1972 AMC Javelin was driven by Rob Bromley. Like Nick Clarke, he finished second in both his qualifying races. He would start the thirty-lap feature in the fifth position. Bromley ran in the seventh position early in the contest. However, he was a beneficiary of some of the on-track incidents and moved up the race order. On lap 22, Tom Walters retired, which moved Bromley into a third-place finish.
Donny Beatty got his 2022 campaign off to an excellent start by finishing third in the opening round at Sunset. The driver of the No. 40 1974 Chevrolet Camaro was third in his first qualifier, but during his second heat, he had contact with No. 99 Oldsmobile of Steve Adams in corner one and retired. Beatty was gridded fourteenth for the feature. With repairs made to the Camaro, he charged through the field and finished fourth.
Like Donny Beatty, Amanda Balson had an on-track incident during one of her qualifying heats. Travis Farrow slowed dramatically with a mechanical issue as he was about to be passed by Balson. She made contact by was able to continue with some body damage to the No. 16 1974 Chevrolet Camaro. Balson's results in the heat races gave her the fourth starting position in the feature. She would finish fifth.
This year, recently inducted Canadian Motorsports Hall of Famer Bill Zardo, Sr., returned to the Ontario short track scene. Zardo was a competitive driver before hanging up his helmet many years ago. Driving the No. 46 1971 Plymouth Superbird, he demonstrated he hadn't lost any speed by finishing second in the opening round. In the series' second visit to Sunset, Zardo started second and led before finishing ninth.
Another member of the Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame, Tom Walters, showed his years of experience were paying off. He led the point standings after a victory in round one and a second at Sauble Beach. Returning to Sunset, it appeared that the driver of the No. 47W 1974 Dodge Dart was going to sweep the event. Walters would win both heats; however, he retired on lap 22 of the feature.

19John Gaunt1966 Chevrolet Chevy II30-
23Nick Clarke1969 Ford Mustang30-
35Rob Bromley1972 AMC Javelin30-
414Donny Beatty1974 Chevrolet Camaro30-
54Amanda Balson1974 Chevrolet Camaro30-
615Kyle Fetterly1965 Rambler Ambassador30-
77Paul Senior1968 Chevrolet Chevelle30-
88Adrian Foster1969 Chevrolet Chevelle30-
92Bill Zardo Sr1971 Plymouth Superbird30-
1022Jeremy McLean1968 Chevrolet Chevelle30-
1112Jerry Broom1969 Chevrolet Camaro30-
1211Jordan Morris1966 Chevrolet Beaumont30-
1310Dustin Kellar1969 Chevrolet Camaro30-
1413Gary Hannah1967 Dart Swinger30-
1518Ryan Cowan1959 Pontiac Bonneville30-
1620Ron Parson1964 Dodge Polara29-
1717Dan Rothwell1967 Ford Thunderbird29-
1821Luke Bos1974 Dodge Dart28-
1924Connor Ellis1968 Chevrolet Chevelle28-
2019Sean Walker1955 Chevrolet Bel Air28-
217Tom Walters1974 Dodge Dart22Did Not Finish
226Steve Book1960 Studebaker Hawk19Did Not Finish
2323Steve Mayhew1975 Chevrolet Nova18Did Not Finish
2425Paul Bogensberger, Jr.1969 Chevrolet Chevelle7Did Not Finish
2516Jeremy Taggert1958 Chevrolet Bel Air6Did Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020

Return to home page.