Now in its thirty-second season, the Ontario Stock Car Association of Asphalt Racers (OSCAAR) is responsible for sanctioning two divisions: Modified and Hot Rod.

The Hot Rod division, which receives backing from Qwick Wick Fire Starter, draws many competitors and features some exciting races. Due to COVID 19, the last couple of years have resulted in a reduced number of races and limits on spectator attendance. In 2022, the Federal and Provincial governments have listed many of the restrictions, which means OSCAAR has a full calendar and will see the return of fans.

Fourteen races are on the 2022 Qwick Wick Fire Starter OSCAAR Hot Rod schedule.

  • May 21-22 - Sunset Speedway
  • June 18 - Sauble Speedway
  • June 25 - Sunset Speedway
  • July 1 - Delaware Speedway
  • July 2 - Delaware Speedway
  • July 23 - Sunset Speedway
  • July 30 - Peterborough Speedway
  • August 13 - Brighton Speedway
  • August 20 - Sauble Speedway
  • August 27 - Flamboro Speedway
  • September 17-18 - Sunset Speedway
  • September 24 - Delaware Speedway
  • October 1 - Flamboro Speedway
  • October 7-9 - Peterborough Speedway

The cars competing in the championship are constructed to specifications and rules common to most stock car series. What makes the Hot Rod division unique are the makes and models that compete in the division. The cars must be North American, have a steel body and have been produced between 1949 and 1974. No pickup trucks, convertibles or front-wheel-drive vehicles can participate in this series. The Hot Rods must have a stock roof, grill, tail and the rest of the body panels can be fabricated from 22-gauge sheet steel but must retain a stock appearance. Many other rules governing this class are for safety and to keep the costs down.

Round ten of the 2022 Qwick Wick Fire Starter OSCAAR Hot Rod Series was held at Flamboro Speedway. The schedule initially included two heats and a feature race for each driver. However, the incident-filled event caused many delays and with an 11:00 pm curfew at Flamboro, OSCAAR Officials canceled the second heat races. Drivers would compete in a thirty-lap finale around the 1/3-mile semi-banked asphalt oval.

The feature generated a couple of storylines. First, Jordan Morris was scheduled to start on the pole; however, he was having problems during the weekend with the No. 73 1966 Chevrolet Beaumont and began the thirty-lap contest from the rear of the field. Finally, contact on the final restart between Tom Walters and Jaeger McMaster resulted in a behavioural issue that led to the disqualification of McMaster.

The pace lap for round ten of the 2022 Qwick Wick Fire Starter OSCAAR Hot Rod Series. Leading the field down Flamboro Speedway’s back straight is the No. 47W 1974 Dodge Dart of the pole-sitter, Tom Walters. Next to Walters is the No. 8SR 1968 Chevrolet Chevelle driven by Paul Senior. The second row is occupied by the 1969 Ford Mustang of Nick Clarke and Rob Bromley driving a 1972 AMC Javelin.
Cole Weber captured the victory in the first heat. Driving the No. 9 1964 Rambler Ambassador, Weber started the feature in the seventh position. He advanced a place on the opening circuit. On the restart, after the final caution, there was contact between Tom Walters and Jaeger McMaster, which allowed Weber to move into the runner-up spot. On the last lap, Weber was able to pass Walters for the win.
Tom Walters drove the No. 47W 1974 Dodge Dart. Walters was the winner of the second heat and inherited the pole for the feature when Jordan Morris encountered issues. He grabbed the lead at the drop of the Starter’s flag. He shared the front row with the Ford Torino of Jaeger McMaster on the final restart. Contact between the two allowed Cole Weber to move into second. Weber would pass Walters on the last lap.
After eight rounds of the 2022 Qwick Wick Fire Starter OSCAAR Hot Rod Series, Nick Clarke was third in the title chase, just twelve points behind the leader, Steve Book. Clarke piloted the No. 86 1969 Ford Mustang and finished fourth in the first heat. He started the finale in the third position. However, Clarke fell as far back as sixth place before several incidents allowed him to move up the order and finish third.
Steve Book entered round ten at Flamboro Speedway with a record of three podium finishes, of which one was a victory at Brighton Speedway. The 2021 series champion had amassed enough points to lead the title chase. At Flamboro, Book finished fifth in heat two driving the No. 47 1960 Studebaker Hawk and started the final race in ninth. A steady drive was rewarded with a fifth place result and his points lead intact.
Rob Bromley was trailing the championship leader, Steve Book, heading into round ten. Bromley finished fourth in heat two, driving the No. 6 1972 AMC Javelin. He was gridded in the fourth position for the feature. Unfortunately, he was caught up in a late-race incident with Marty Monte, Ryan Cowan and Jordan Morris and finished eighth. However, Bromley inherited seventh when Jaeger McMaster was disqualified.

18Cole Weber1964 Rambler Ambassador30-
22Tom Walters1974 Dodge Dart30-
34Nick Clarke1969 Ford Mustang30-
43Paul Senior1968 Chevrolet Chevelle30-
510Steve Book1960 Studebaker Hawk30-
612Bill Zardo Sr1971 Plymouth Superbird30-
-6Jaeger McMaster1974 Ford Torino30Disqualified
75Rob Bromley1972 AMC Javelin30-
89Matt Hopkins1964 Pontiac Laurentian30-
918Ed Peterson1972 Plymouth Road Runner30-
101Jordan Morris1966 Chevrolet Beaumont30-
1113Ryan Cowan1959 Pontiac Bonneville30-
1211Connor Ellis1968 Chevrolet Chevelle29-
1317Matt Spry1969 Chevrolet Chevelle28-
1416Bill Clarke1966 Pontiac Parisienne27-
157Marty Monette1972 Ford Mustang26Did Not Finish
1615Nick Holman1969 Chevrolet Camaro19Did Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020

Return to home page.