The USF2000 Championship, presented by Cooper Tires, debuted in 2010 and is a continuation of the USF2000 series, which ran from 1990 through 2006. Many successful drivers have participated in this category, including past and present IndyCar competitors such as Colton Herta, JR Hildebrand, Sage Karam, Kyle Kirkwood and Rinus Veekay.

A new car was introduced for the 2022 season called the Tatuus USF-22, which is expected to last at least until 2027. This car uses the latest developments in race car technology. The chassis is a full carbon composite and aluminum honeycomb monocoque that meets current FIA 2020 GEN 1 requirements, which includes the HALO safety device. The cars are fitted with Cooper thirteen-inch slick or rain tires, depending on the conditions. The Tatuus is powered by a 2-liter Mazda MZR, which produces 175 horsepower. All motors are assembled by Elite Engines.

This year's series champion will be awarded a scholarship package valued at $406,925 to take the next step on the Road to Indy ladder and compete in USF Pro 2000 series.

The 2022 season consists of nine race weekends and eighteen rounds.

  • February 26/27 - Streets of St. Petersburg
  • April 30/May 1 - Barber Motorsports Park
  • May 13/14 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • May 27 - Lucas Oil Raceway
  • June 11/12 - Road America
  • July 2/3 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • July 16/17 - Streets of Toronto
  • August 20 - World Wide Technology Raceway
  • September 2/3/4 - Portland International Raceway

Rounds thirteen and fourteen of the 2022 USF2000 Championship presented by Cooper Tires were conducted at Toronto's Exhibition Place. Drivers would compete in two twenty-lap races around the eleven-turn 1.755-mile temporary street circuit.

The pace lap for race two, Sunday morning, at Toronto's Exhibition Place and sixteen USF2000 drivers prepare to enter corner nine. Leading the field is the pole-sitter, Jace Denmark, in the No. 23 Pabst Racing Tatuus USF-22. Beside Denmark is the No. 3 Cape Motorsports Tatuus USF-22 driven by Jagger Jones. The second row is occupied by the third and fourth-fastest qualifiers Myles Rowe and Michael d'Orlando.
Pabst Racing's Jace Denmark collected a victory in the series' first weekend of racing and another at Road America. But the highlight of his season would be Toronto, where Denmark collected the most points. He started on the pole for Saturday's contest and finished in the runner-up position. The next day, he led flag to flag in the No. 23 Tatuus USF-22, giving him win number three for his 2022 campaign.
The driver with the most victories to date was Myles Rowe. Rowe led the title chase entering Toronto with four wins in thirteen races. At Toronto, he started the weekend's first contest in the third position but, on lap-3, passed Jace Denmark, which would give him the victory. On Sunday, Rowe was gridded third but fell to a fifth-place finish after contact on the final lap with the points leader, Michael d'Orlando.
Thomas Nepveu was the only Canadian in this year's USF2000 series. Nepveu regularly finished in the top ten but was yet to collect a podium result. He qualified thirteenth fastest for Saturday's contest in the No. 10 DEForce Racing Tatuus USF-22 and finished eleventh. The next day, Nepveu inherited a second-place result on the last lap when there was contact between Myles Rowe and Michael d'Orlando.
The second of three entries from DEForce Racing was piloted by Dylan Christie. Like his teammate Thomas Nepveu, Christie had a collection of top-ten finishes. However, his results were improving with each race. At Road America, Christie finished fourth in the No. 11 Tatuus USF-22. Like his Nepveu, he was a beneficiary of the incident between Rowe and d'Orlando and finished third. The previous day, Christie was tenth.
Jagger Jones drove the No. 3 Cape Motorsports Tatuus USF-22. Jones is a third-generation driver. His father is P.J. Jones and he is the grandson of 1963 Indianapolis 500 winner Parnelli Jones. Jones has had an up-and-down season with a victory at Barber Motorsports Park. In the first race at Toronto, he collected the final position on the podium. The next day, he started second, but contact resulted in a sixth-place finish.

13Myles RoweTatuus USF-22 / MazdaPabst Racing20-
21Jace DenmarkTatuus USF-22 / MazdaPabst Racing20-
32Jagger JonesTatuus USF-22 / MazdaCape Motorsports20-
45Michael d'OrlandoTatuus USF-22 / MazdaCape Motorsports20-
54Jacob DouglasTatuus USF-22 / MazdaExclusive Autosport20-
68Nicky HaysTatuus USF-22 / MazdaCape Motorsports20-
77Spike KohlbeckerTatuus USF-22 / MazdaTurn 3 Motorsport20-
86Christian WeirTatuus USF-22 / MazdaTurn 3 Motorsport20-
912Nicholas d'OrlandoTatuus USF-22 / MazdaExclusive Autosport20-
1011Dylan ChristieTatuus USF-22 / MazdaDEForce Racing20-
1113Thomas NepveuTatuus USF-22 / MazdaDEForce Racing20-
1210Bijoy GargTatuus USF-22 / MazdaDEForce Racing20-
1316Billy FrazerTatuus USF-22 / MazdaExclusive Autosport20-
1414Jorge GarciarceTatuus USF-22 / MazdaJay Howard Driver Development20-
1515Frederik LundTatuus USF-22 / MazdaJay Howard Driver Development15Mechanical
169Evagoras PapasavvasTatuus USF-22 / MazdaJay Howard Driver Development11Contact

11Jace DenmarkTatuus USF-22 / MazdaPabst Racing20-
26Thomas NepveuTatuus USF-22 / MazdaDEForce Racing20-
311Dylan ChristieTatuus USF-22 / MazdaDEForce Racing20-
44Michael d'OrlandoTatuus USF-22 / MazdaCape Motorsports20-
53Myles RoweTatuus USF-22 / MazdaPabst Racing20-
62Jagger JonesTatuus USF-22 / MazdaCape Motorsports20-
77Jacob DouglasTatuus USF-22 / MazdaExclusive Autosport20-
813Jorge GarciarceTatuus USF-22 / MazdaJay Howard Driver Development20-
915Christian WeirTatuus USF-22 / MazdaTurn 3 Motorsport19-
1012Nicky HaysTatuus USF-22 / MazdaCape Motorsports19-
1110Evagoras PapasavvasTatuus USF-22 / MazdaJay Howard Driver Development18-
1214Nicholas d'OrlandoTatuus USF-22 / MazdaExclusive Autosport16-
1316Frederik LundTatuus USF-22 / MazdaJay Howard Driver Development15-
149Bijoy GargTatuus USF-22 / MazdaDEForce Racing15-
155Billy FrazerTatuus USF-22 / MazdaExclusive Autosport5Contact
168Spike KohlbeckerTatuus USF-22 / MazdaTurn 3 Motorsport5Contact

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022

Return to home page.