Due to COVID 19, the last couple of years have resulted in a reduced number of races and limits on spectator attendance. In 2022, the federal and provincial governments have lifted many of the restrictions, which means that APC United Late Model championship for Pro Late Models has a full race calendar and will see the return of fans.

The 2022 APC United Late Model championship for Pro Late Models kicks off on the Victoria Day weekend at Sunset Speedway with the race called the Dayco 100. In early June, the teams make the first of two stops at Flamboro Speedway for the London Recreational 100. In the middle of June the AP 100 is held at Peterborough Speedway. On the Canada Day weekend drivers compete at Delaware Speedway during the Spectra Premium 100. The next race sees the championship make its final appearance at Flamboro Speedway. The Stewarts 100 is conducted at the end of July at Sauble Speedway. Round seven, also called the Stewarts 100, will take place at Sunset Speedway. The penultimate event of 2022 is at Sauble Speedway. Titles are determined on September 24th at Delaware Speedway.

The series rules remain unchanged from last season, with the cars constructed to specifications and controls common to most stock car series. The chassis is a tube frame covered with fiberglass bodies. Depending on the engine choice, a car can weigh as much as 2800-lbs. Crate motors from General Motors (GM 604 & GM 602) and Ford (347) are used in the series. To regulate expenses, competitors use a spec tire from American Racer and Bilstein A2 shock absorbers. There are also rules which restrict the options available for transmissions, ignition components, body material, brakes, etc.

To determine the starting order of the race, drivers participate in a qualifying session. Starting positions one through five were selecting during a random draw by the five fastest qualifiers. Before each race, the cars receive a technical inspection and are impounded until the start of the event.

The opening round of the 2022 APC United Late Model championship for Pro Late Models was held at Sunset Speedway. Drivers would compete in the Dayco 100 a one-hundred-lap contest around the 1/3-mile banked asphalt oval.

Twenty-seven drivers receive the Starter’s flag for round one of the 2022 APC United Late Model Series at Sunset Speedway. On the pole is Jake Sheridan in the No. 52 Cameron Crane & Riggers Ford Mustang. On the outside of Sheridan is the rookie Kyle Steckly driving the No. 22 Auto Parts Centres Chevrolet SS. Row two is occupied by the series 2015 champion, Dale Shaw and the fastest qualifier Rick Spencer Walt.
This year Rick Spencer Walt is running a full slate of APC United Late Model Series events. As a part time competitor, he won a round of the series in 2018. The driver of the No. 31 Struyk Energy Systems Chevrolet SS started his campaign by qualifying on the pole and started in the fifth position. Spencer Walt was patient and passed the leaders when as the opportunities arose. Once in the lead, he was never challenged.
Finishing behind Rick Spencer Walt was the series 2016 rookie of the year Shae Gemmell. Gemmell was seventh fastest during the time trials driving the No. 3 Auto Parts Centres Chevrolet Camaro. The team’s strategy was to setup the car for the long run. He remained in contention early in the event. Then Gemmel began making passes. His final move was on J.R. Fitzpatrick which was rewarded with a runner-up result.
Local driver Danny Benedict was gridded fourteenth for the Dayco 100 at Sunset Speedway. Benedict used his track knowledge to move the No. 54 Mobil 1 / GTA Racing Design Chevrolet Camaro up the race order. With fifteen laps remaining he was in sixth place. Benedict pushed hard getting by Andrew Gresel, Dale Shaw and Josh Stade. He made his final pass on J.R. Fitzpatrick in turn four for a third place finish.
The 2018 APC United Late Model Series champion, J.R. Fitzpatrick, was in the familiar No. 84 Chevrolet SS. He set the second fastest time during qualifying. After the five fastest drivers drew for their starting position, Fitzpatrick was gridded fifth. He was able to pass the front row starters, but was never in a position to challenge the leader, Rick Spencer Walt. At the end of contest with his car fading Fitzpatrick finished fourth.
APC United Late Model Series veteran Shawn Chenoweth was challenged during qualifying session at Sunset Speedway. At the end of time-trials, he was twenty-first fastest in a field of twenty-seven entrants. The driver of the No. 89C London Recreation Racing Chevrolet Camaro would have ‘his work cut out for himself’ during the Dayco 100. In the race, Chenoweth advanced thirteen spots to finish eighth.
The driver of the No. 52 Cameron Crane & Riggers Ford Mustang, Jake Sheridan, was the series 2018 rookie of the year. When qualifying was completed, had set the fifth fast time, which meant he was eligible to draw for a better starting position. Sheridan was the last driver to pick a number and, to no one’s surprise, it was one, he was gridded on the pole. Unfortunately, his race did not go well and he finished eleventh.
The top-three finishers for round one of the 2022 APC United Late Model championship at Sunset Speedway. In the center is last year’s Late Model track champion and the winner of his second APC race, Rick Spencer Walt. Standing on left is the runner-up who qualified fourteenth, Shae Gemmell. Completing top three is another Sunset Regular Danny Benedict.

14Rick Spencer-WaltStruyk Energy Systems / Chevrolet SS100
27Shae GemmellAPC Auto Parts Centres / Chevrolet Camaro100
314Danny BenedictMobil 1/GTA Racing Design / Chevrolet Camaro100
45JR FitzpatrickCambridge Rigging/ATV Depot / Chevrolet SS100
56Josh StadeCanadian Flat Roof Systems / Toyota Camry100
63Dale ShawNTN Bearings / Chevrolet SS100
710Andrew GreselGallinger Capital/Image Wraps / Ford Mustang100
821Shawn ChenowethLondon Recreation Racing / Chevrolet Camaro100
99Tom GibbonsTom Gibbons Concrete Finishing / Chevrolet Camaro100
102Kyle StecklyAPC Auto Parts Centres / Chevrolet SS100
111Jake SheridanCameron Crane & Riggers / Ford Mustang100
1220Jordan SimsSims Countertops / Ford Fusion100
1311Matt PritikoGlobal Warranty / Ford Mustang100
1416Blair WickettJP Powder Coating / Chevrolet Camaro99
158Erik Dalla RivaSDR Seating / Chevrolet SS99
1617Jade FranklinCalldecott Millwright Services / Chevrolet Camaro99
1713Connor JamesSSG Gloves / Toyota Camry99
1822Ryan KimballSMG Motorsports / Toyota Camry99
1923Billy SchwartzenburgSpira Fire Protection / Ford Fusion98
2026Shawn McGlynnBlast Floor Coating Epoxy / Chevrolet Camaro98
2115Jr FarrellyShaw Chassis / Chevrolet SS98
2225Sean GrosmanSMG Motorsports / Toyota Camry97
2324James HornerCustom Forming Walls / Chevrolet Camaro80
2418Travis HallyburtonHillsdale Service Centre / Ford Mustang67
2512Jordan HowseMcMaster GMC Orangeville / Chevrolet SS61
2627Dwayne BakerNISCO National Leasing / Ford Mustang50
2719Gord ShepherdWeMoveIt.ca / Chevrolet SS6

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021

Return to home page.