Due to COVID 19, the last couple of years have resulted in a reduced number of races and limits on spectator attendance. In 2022, the federal and provincial governments have lifted many of the restrictions, which means that the APC United Late Model championship for Pro Late Models has a full race calendar and will see the return of fans.

The 2022 APC United Late Model championship for Pro Late Models kicks off on the Victoria Day weekend at Sunset Speedway with the race called the Dayco 100. In early June, the teams make the first of two stops at Flamboro Speedway for the London Recreational 100. In the middle of June, the AP 100 is held at Peterborough Speedway. On the Canada Day weekend, drivers compete at Delaware Speedway during the Spectra Premium 100. The next race sees the championship make its final appearance at Flamboro Speedway. The Stewarts 100 is conducted at the end of July at Sauble Speedway. Round seven, also called the Stewarts 100, will take place at Sunset Speedway. The penultimate event of 2022 is at Sauble Speedway. Titles are determined on September 24th at Delaware Speedway.

The series rules remain unchanged from last season, with the cars constructed to specifications and controls common to most stock car series. The chassis is a tube frame covered with fiberglass bodies. Depending on the engine choice, a car can weigh as much as 2800-lbs. Crate motors from General Motors (GM 604 & GM 602) and Ford (347) are used in the series. To regulate expenses, competitors use a spec tire from American Racer and Bilstein A2 shock absorbers. There are also rules which restrict the options available for transmissions, ignition components, body material, brakes, etc.

The third round of the 2022 APC United Late Model championship for Pro Late Models was held at Peterborough Speedway. Drivers would compete in the AP Emissions Technologies 100, a one-hundred-lap contest around the 1/3-mile semi-banked asphalt oval.

Round three of the 2022 APC United Late Model championship for Pro Late Models attracted twenty-three competitors. Starting on the pole was the No. 29 JBEX Construction Toyota Camry of the fourth-fastest qualifier, Ryan Kimball. Beside Kimball is the No. 52 Cameron Crane and Riggers Ford Mustang of Jake Sheridan, who qualified second fastest. Row two is occupied by Dale Shaw and Danny Benedict.
J.R. Fitzpatrick, the 2018 series champion, made some significant adjustments to his racing program for the 2022 season. The most significant change was a move to a McColl chassis. While driving the No. 84 Cambridge Rigging, Fitzpatrick won round two at Flamboro and gave notice at Peterborough that he was a threat by setting a new qualifying lap record. He started eighth and, by lap-60, moved past Ryan Kimball for the lead and victory.
Finishing in the runner-up position was the 2016 series title-holder, Andrew Gresel. Gresel was 2.085-seconds behind J.R. Fitzpatrick at the checkered flag. The driver of the No. 81 Gallinger Capital/Image Wraps Ford Mustang qualified and started in the seventh position. He was part of the freight train that passed Ryan Kimball with forty laps to go. Sixteen circuits later, Gresel moved past Jake Sheridan for second.
Jake Sheridan won his first APC United Late Model event in 2021 at Sauble Beach. Sheridan was showing great speed this year. He qualified fifth fastest at Sunset Speedway and started on the pole - at Flamboro, he was gridded third. However, Sheridan didn’t have the same good fortune in the races. His luck changed at Peterborough. Sheridan started and qualified second; after one hundred laps, he finished third.
Rick Spencer-Walt’s racing plan for the 2022 season is to compete in all rounds of the APC United Late Model series with an eye on winning the championship. In round one at Sunset Speedway, Spencer-Walt started his campaign with a victory. Flamboro wasn’t as kind; after a couple of incidents, he finished twelfth. Spencer-Walt was back on form at Peterborough. He started in the fifth spot and finished fourth.
Josh Stade encountered a series of disappointments last year. He was leading at Sunset Speedway when the left front suspension collapsed late in the event. After three rounds of the 2022 season, things were looking up for the driver of the No. 17 Ridgeline Toyota Camry. At Peterborough Speedway, Stade started in the tenth position and finished fifth. Coupled with his other two fifth-place results, Stade is fourth in points.
Last year, Treyten Lapcevich missed winning the APC United Late Model championship by a single point. This season, Lapcevich is committed to the NASCAR Pinty’s series and won the first race of 2022 at Sunset Speedway. But his schedule also includes some events on the APC calendar. His first was Peterborough Speedway, where he qualified third fastest but retired after being involved in an incident on lap 60.
The top three finishers for round three of the 2022 APC United Late Model championship for Pro Late Models at Peterborough Speedway. In the center is the winner of the AP Emissions Technologies 100 and the current points leader, J.R. Fitzpatrick. On the right is the runner-up, Andrew Gresel, who scored a third-place finish in round two at Flamboro. Finishing third and collecting his best result to date is Jake Sheridan.

18JR FitzpatrickCambridge Rigging/ATV Depot / Chevrolet SS100
27Andrew GreselGallinger Capital/Image Wraps / Ford Mustang100
32Jake SheridanCameron Crane & Riggers / Ford Mustang100
45Rick Spencer-WaltStruyk Energy Systems / Chevrolet SS100
510Josh StadeCanadian Flat Roof Systems / Toyota Camry100
61Ryan KimballSMG Motorsports / Toyota Camry100
76Kyle StecklyAPC Auto Parts Centres / Chevrolet SS100
815Billy SchwartzenburgSpira Fire Protection / Ford Fusion100
916Shawn ChenowethLondon Recreation Racing / Chevrolet Camaro100
1012Shae GemmellAPC Auto Parts Centres / Chevrolet Camaro100
1114Blair WickettJP Powder Coating / Chevrolet Camaro100
1218Gord ShepherdWeMoveIt.ca / Chevrolet SS100
1320Jade FranklinCalldecott Millwright Services / Chevrolet Camaro99
143Dale ShawNTN Bearings / Chevrolet SS99
1513Matt PritikoGlobal Warranty / Ford Mustang99
1619Dwayne BakerNISCO National Leasing / Ford Mustang99
1717Tom GibbonsTom Gibbons Concrete Finishing / Chevrolet Camaro99
1821James HornerCustom Forming Walls / Chevrolet Camaro99
1923Erik Dalla RivaSDR Seating / Chevrolet SS99
2011Connor JamesSSG Gloves / Toyota Camry60
219Treyten LapcevichAce Services / Toyota Camry60
224Danny BenedictMobil 1/GTA Racing Design / Chevrolet Camaro27
2322Jordan HowseMcMaster GMC Orangeville / Chevrolet SS2

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021

Return to home page.