Due to COVID 19, the last couple of years have resulted in a reduced number of races and limits on spectator attendance. In 2022, the federal and provincial governments have lifted many of the restrictions, which means that the APC United Late Model championship for Pro Late Models has a full race calendar and will see the return of fans.

The 2022 APC United Late Model championship for Pro Late Models kicks off on the Victoria Day weekend at Sunset Speedway with the race called the Dayco 100. In early June, the teams make the first of two stops at Flamboro Speedway for the London Recreational 100. In the middle of June, the AP 100 is held at Peterborough Speedway. On the Canada Day weekend, drivers compete at Delaware Speedway during the Spectra Premium 100. The next race sees the championship make its final appearance at Flamboro Speedway. The Stewarts 100 is conducted at the end of July at Sauble Speedway. Round seven, also called the Stewarts 100, will take place at Sunset Speedway. The penultimate event of 2022 is at Sauble Speedway. Titles are determined on September 24th at Delaware Speedway.

The series rules remain unchanged from last season, with the cars constructed to specifications and controls common to most stock car series. The chassis is a tube frame covered with fiberglass bodies. Depending on the engine choice, a car can weigh as much as 2800-lbs. Crate motors from General Motors (GM 604 & GM 602) and Ford (347) are used in the series. To regulate expenses, competitors use a spec tire from American Racer and Bilstein A2 shock absorbers. There are also rules which restrict the options available for transmissions, ignition components, body material, brakes, etc.

The fifth round of the 2022 APC United Late Model championship for Pro Late Models was held at Flamboro Speedway. Drivers would compete in a one-hundred-lap contest around the 1/3-mile semi-banked asphalt oval.

Twenty-one APC United Late Model competitors line up on Flamboro’s front straight in anticipation of the start. On the pole is the No. 21 SMG Motorsports Toyota Camry of Ryan Kimball. On the outside of Kimball is Billy Schwartzenburg driving the No. 86 Spira Fire Protection Ford Fusion. The top ten grid positions are set by series rules and by a happy coincidence, Kimball was the fastest qualifier.
Last season, Kyle Steckly entered his first APC United Late Model race at Flamboro Speedway and won. The 2021 Flamboro Late Model track champion collected his second series victory on Saturday evening. The second-generation driver qualified and started seventh driving the APC Auto Parts Centres Chevrolet SS. Steckly wasted little time joining the leaders. With two laps to go, he passed Shae Gemmell for the win.
Finishing in the runner-up spot at Flamboro Speedway was the winner’s teammate, Shae Gemmell, in the No. 3 APC Auto Parts Centres Chevrolet Camaro. In his last outing at Flamboro, Gemmell finished fourth. During the time trials for round five, he was second fastest but started in the eighth position. Gemmell moved into the lead on lap-32 and held the position until Kyle Steckly moved him up the track for the win.
In round five, Danny Benedict earned his second third-place finish of the season, but it was not without drama. An issue with the car became evident early in the first practice session. A replacement part was located and the next time the No. 54 Mobil 1 Chevrolet Camaro appeared was during qualifying. Benedict was fourth fastest in time trials and started third. For most of the race, he ran around by himself.
All good things must end, which proved to be true for J.R. Fitzpatrick. The points leader began a winning streak in round two at Flamboro Speedway and collected two more at Peterborough and Delaware. Back at Flamboro, Fitzpatrick was fifth quickest during the time trials and started ninth. He moved up to fourth place in the race but needed a caution, which never came, to catch the leaders.
On numerous occasions, Josh Stade has come close to collecting his first APC United Late Model victory. He scored three top-five finishes in the first four rounds this season. When the series returned to Flamboro, the driver of the No. 17 Ridgeline sponsored Toyota Camry qualified and started in the sixth position. A steady performance was rewarded with his fourth fifth-place result of the year.
The 2015 APC United Late Model champion, Dale Shaw, is looking to return to his winning ways. His last victory came in 2016 at Sunset Speedway. Shaw had a mediocre qualifying session at Flamboro and was gridded in the thirteenth position for the one-hundred-lap contest. In the race, he started his charge to the front. By the time the checkered flag fell, Shaw had advanced seven positions to finish sixth.
The top three finishers for round five of the 2022 APC United Late Model championship at Flamboro Speedway. In the center is the winner, Kyle Steckly. Steckly made his series debut at this event last year and won the race. Finishing in the runner-up position and standing on the right is Steckly’s teammate, Shae Gemmell. Completing the top three is Danny Benedict, who earned his second, third place result of the season.

17Kyle StecklyAPC Auto Parts Centres / Chevrolet SS100
28Shae GemmellAPC Auto Parts Centres / Chevrolet Camaro100
34Danny BenedictMobil 1/GTA Racing Design / Chevrolet Camaro100
49JR FitzpatrickCambridge Rigging/ATV Depot / Chevrolet SS100
56Josh StadeCanadian Flat Roof Systems / Toyota Camry100
613Dale ShawNTN Bearings / Chevrolet SS100
75Rick Spencer-WaltStruyk Energy Systems / Chevrolet SS100
811Andrew GreselGallinger Capital/Image Wraps / Ford Mustang100
915Tom GibbonsTom Gibbons Concrete Finishing / Chevrolet Camaro100
1010Gord ShepherdWeMoveIt.ca / Chevrolet SS100
1117Matt PritikoGlobal Warranty / Ford Mustang100
1219Jordan HowseMcMaster GMC Orangeville / Chevrolet SS100
1314Treyten LapcevichAce Services / Toyota Camry100
1412Erik Dalla RivaSDR Seating / Chevrolet SS99
152Billy SchwartzenburgSpira Fire Protection / Ford Fusion99
1621James HornerCustom Forming Walls / Chevrolet Camaro99
1720Jade FranklinCalldecott Millwright Services / Chevrolet Camaro97
181Ryan KimballSMG Motorsports / Toyota Camry49
1916Shawn ChenowethLondon Recreation Racing / Chevrolet Camaro48
203Jake SheridanCameron Crane & Riggers / Ford Mustang7
2118Blair WickettJP Powder Coating / Chevrolet Camaro7

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021

Return to home page.