The Nissan Micra Cup series made its debut in 2015. The championship was designed to provide racers with the most affordable race vehicle in Canada. New for 2021, and replacing the Micra series, is the Nissan Sentra Cup. This year the grids will still include the older Micras, but the focus will be on the Sentra.

  • Nissan Sentra – Each Nissan Sentra competing in the series carries a price tag of $39,990. The Sentras were prepared by the Motorsports in Action team at St-Eustache, with the development being performed by Canadian racing veteran Jean-Francois Dumoulin. The cars are powered by a DACT four-cylinder 2.0-liter sequential multi-point fuel injection engine which produces 149-horsepower at 6,400-rpm. Some performance upgrades include four-piston front calipers, adjustable coil-overs, 18”X9” alloy wheels, braided stainless steel flex lines and a MoTec M1 Series ECM. To address safety, the Sentra Cup cars include features such as an FIA Spec six-point roll cage, FIA homologated six-point harness and FIA homologated racing seat.
  • Nissan Micra – The Micra is powered by a 1.6-liter DOHC 4-cylinder engine which produces 109-horsepower. For safety purposes, much of the interior (seats, door panels, etc.) is removed and a safety cage, five-point harness, window net and FIA-approved racing seat are installed. To improve the performance of the cars, they are fitted with a racing suspension kit, high-performance brake pads, Pirelli racing tires and a modified exhaust system.

Each race weekend consists of two forty-minute contests. The Nissan Sentra Cup kicks off on June 26-27 at Shannonville Motorsport Park. This event is followed by the first of two visits to Circuit Mont-Tremblant. Then teams travel to Trois-Rivieres to compete on the popular temporary street circuit. Rounds seven and eight are conducted at Circuit ICAR. Then the championship returns to Ontario for races at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. The season will end in the third week of September during Fall Classic at Circuit Mont-Tremblant.

The fifth weekend of the 2021 Nissan Sentra Cup season was held on the Labour Day weekend at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. Drivers would compete in races nine and ten around the ten turn 2.459-mile road course.

The pace lap for round ten of the 2021 Nissan Sentra Cup at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. Leading the field of nineteen entrants is the pole-sitter, Jesse Lazare, in the No. 21 Door Doctor / Motorsports in Action Nissan Sentra. Beside Lazare is Justin Di Benedetto driving the No. 4 Di Benedetto Racing Nissan Sentra. Row two is occupied by the No. 10 Sentra of Gavin Saunders and Kai Dalziel driving the No. 44 Nissan.
By mid-season, Nissan Sentra Cup rookie Alexandre Fortin displayed a lot of speed and collected podium finishes at Trois-Rivieres. The driver of the No. 32 Nissan Sentra qualified ninth fastest for round nine at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. Fortin was on the move early and caught the leaders. A pass for the lead just before a full course caution gave him the win. Fortin concluded the weekend with a seventh place.
Another rookie having a memorable weekend was Jesse Webb. Despite his status in the series, Webb’s record included podium finishes at Mont-Tremblant and Circuit ICAR. He was fifth fastest for the start of round nine and finished in the fourth position. For the finale, Webb was gridded eighth but caught the leaders, Jesse Lazare and Kevin King, and passed them late in the race to win by a margin of 0.322-seconds.
Currently sitting second in the title chase is Jesse Lazare. Lazare has an impressive record which includes four podium finishes, of which two are victories. He qualified ahead of the points leader, Kevin King, for Saturday’s contest at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park but lost first-place and the win to Alexandre Fortin. He started on the pole for round ten and collected another second-place result, and reduced the points gap to King.
The grids were split with the Nissan Micra Cup drivers receiving the Starter’s flag after the quicker Nissan Sentra competitors. Qualifying on the pole for the first race of the weekend at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park was Nicholas Hornbostel in the No. 71 Nissan Micra. Next to Hornbostel is the No. 28 Nissan Micra driven by Frederic Bernier. Behind the leaders are Francois Angers-Routhier and Andre Lapointe.
The reigning Nissan Micra Cup champion and current Nissan Sentra Cup points leader, Kevin King, had a challenging weekend at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. King qualified behind his main rival, Jesse Lazare, for the weekend’s first race and finished in the third position. On Sunday, he battled with Lazare, but contact between the two damaged his car and King finished fourth. However, he retained his championship lead.
Justin Di Benedetto was the sixth-fastest qualifier for race one of the Nissan Sentra Cup during the Canadian Tire Motorsport Park Labour Day Weekend Sprints. Unfortunately, he slipped down the order in the race and finished eighth. In the finale, Di Benedetto fared better. The No. 4 Nissan Sentra was gridded fourth and crossed the finish line in third place, equaling his best result earlier in the season at Shannonville.
Nicholas Hornbostel swept rounds nine and ten of the Nissan Micra Cup category at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. Hornbostel, driving the No. 71 Hornbostel Racing Nissan Micra, was gridded thirteenth overall for the weekend’s first contest and was in ninth-place at the checkered flag. The following day, he delivered the same results and closed the gap on the points leader, Sylvain Ouellet.

19SentraAlexandre FortinNissan Sentra18-
21SentraJesse LazareNissan Sentra18-
32SentraKevin KingNissan Sentra18-
45SentraJesse WebbNissan Sentra18-
512SentraDarren GrahamNissan Sentra18-
610SentraÉric ChaputNissan Sentra18-
77SentraKai DalzielNissan Sentra18-
86SentraJustin Di BenedettoNissan Sentra18-
913MicraNicholas HornbostelNissan Micra18-
1018MicraNicolas BarretteNissan Micra18-
1117MicraSylvain OuelletNissan Micra18-
1216MicraAndré LapointeNissan Micra18-
1320MicraMario BerthiaumeNissan Micra18-
1414MicraFrédéric BernierNissan Micra18-
1519MicraRaphaël St-PierreNissan Micra18-
1621MicraFrédéric ChaputNissan Micra18-
178SentraValérie LimogesNissan Sentra16Did Not Finish
183SentraOwen ClarkeNissan Sentra11Did Not Finish
194SentraGavin SandersNissan Sentra6Did Not Finish
2015MicraFrançois Angers-BouthierNissan Micra-Did Not Start
2111SentraSimon CharbonneauNissan Sentra-Disqualified

18SentraJesse WebbNissan Sentra23-
21SentraJesse LazareNissan Sentra23-
34SentraJustin Di BenedettoNissan Sentra23-
45SentraKevin KingNissan Sentra23-
511SentraÉric ChaputNissan Sentra23-
610SentraDarren GrahamNissan Sentra23-
79SentraAlexandre FortinNissan Sentra22-
812SentraSimon CharbonneauNissan Sentra22-
913MicraNicholas HornbostelNissan Micra22-
1017MicraSylvain OuelletNissan Micra22-
1118MicraNicolas BarretteNissan Micra22-
1316MicraAndré LapointeNissan Micra22-
1215MicraFrançois Angers-BouthierNissan Micra22-
1421MicraFrédéric ChaputNissan Micra22-
1520MicraRaphaël St-PierreNissan Micra22-
1619MicraMario CharetteNissan Micra22-
173SentraGavin SandersNissan Sentra8-
1814MicraFrédéric BernierNissan Micra3-
196SentraKai DalzielNissan Sentra3-
--SentraValérie LimogesNissan Sentra-Did Not Start
--SentraOwen ClarkeNissan Sentra-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021

Return to home page.