The Toyo Tires F1600 Championship Series was scheduled to hold eight race weekends during the 2020 season. But, it appeared that the outbreak of the COVID-19 virus would prevent any racing this year. However, track management at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park and Shannonville Motorsport Park, along with the Canadian Automobile Sports Clubs – Ontario Region, were able to work with all levels of government to make events possible.

The abbreviated 2020 Toyo Tires F1600 Championship calendar kicked off in July at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. The series returned to Canadian Tire Motorsport Park at the end of the month for a second race weekend. This event was followed by the SMP Summer Challenge at Shannonville Motorsport Park. The season ended where it started with a pair of race weekends at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. A total of fifteen contests were conducted during the season.

The single-seater, open-wheel race cars in the series are powered by a four-cylinder, 1600-cc Ford engine or a 1500-cc Honda motor, which produce approximately 120-horsepower. A mixture of European and North American chassis is used by competitors. Drivers are competing in one of two classes - the ‘A’ class is for the newer chassis, whereas the ‘B’ category is for cars constructed prior to 1995. Teams were required to use a spec tire from Toyo.

Round three of the 2020 Toyo Tires F1600 Championship Series was held at Shannonville Motorsport Park in an event titled the Al Craighead Memorial Can-Am Cup. Drivers would collect points in three races during the weekend.

The start of race one at Shannonville Motorsport Park for the 2020 Toyo Tire F1600 Championship. On the pole is the No. 64 Britain West Motorsports prepared Mygale SJ13 of Mac Clark. The next three cars on the grid were Piper DL7 out of the Brian Graham Racing stable. Drivers, Megan Gilkes, Jonathan Woolridge and Jack Polito qualified in positions two through four. There was a total of sixteen entrants.
Mac Clark swept another weekend of competition. Clark set a new qualifying record for race one of the Toyo F1600 series at Shannonville Motorsport Park. He would lead the contest flag-to-flag and win by a comfortable margin. In wet conditions on Sunday, Clark fell to third-place before capturing another victory. He started second in the finale but moved into the top-spot on lap-1 and held the position to the checker.
Jonathan Woolridge, driving the No. 2 Brian Graham Racing Piper DL7, qualified and finished third in the weekends first contest at Shannonville Motorsport Park. In less than ideal conditions on Sunday morning, Woolridge started in the third position but moved passed the pole-sitter, Mac Clark, for second place. After some shuffling, he would finish in the runner-up spot and delivered the same result in race three.
One of twenty female drivers to earn an entry in the prestigious 2019 W Series was Megan Gilkes. This season Gilkes was participating in the Toyo F1600 championship. She set the fastest time in practice, but qualified and finished second in race one. Gilkes started on the outside of the front row for the weekend’s penultimate contest and led briefly before finishing third. In the final event, she scored another third-place.
The Class A Toyo Tires F1600 Championship Series podium for the weekend’s final race at Shannonville Motorsport Park. In the center is the points leader from Britain West Motorsports, Mac Clark, who captured his eighth victory of the season. On the right side of the rostrum is the runner-up for the second time this event, Jonathan Woolridge. The final spot is occupied by the third-place finisher, Megan Gilkes.
The Toyo Tires F1600 series was the first race group on track after a delay for heavy rain and lightning. On the pole and entering the final turn is Saturday’s race winner, Mac Clark in the No. 64 Mygale SJ13. Sharing the front row is Megan Gilkes, driving the No. 3 Piper DL7. Behind the leaders are Gilkes’ Brian Graham Racing teammates, Jonathan Woolridge and Jack Polito.
While Mac Clark has dominated the Class A category, James Lindsay has enjoyed similar success in the Class B group. Lindsay, driving the No. 35 Britain West Motorsports prepared Van Diemen RF91, entered the Shannonville Motorsport Park weekend with a perfect record – six wins in six starts. He was on his way to another perfect until the final race on Sunday. Lindsay retired on the first lap after contact.
To date, class B competitor Connor Clubine’s season included four podium finishes, but he was yet to find the top step of the category podium. He opened the weekend at Shannonville Motorsport Park with a runner-up result but was a distant fourth in class on Sunday morning. In the finale, he was a beneficiary of the B class points leader, James Lindsay’s, issues and captured the victory.
The Class B Toyo Tires F1600 Championship Series podium for the weekend’s final race at Shannonville Motorsport Park. In the center from Britain West Motorsports is Connor Clubine, who earned his first victory of the year. Standing on the right side of the rostrum is the runner-up, Sean Johnston. The final position on the podium is occupied by the third-place finisher, Steve Bodrug.

1F1600AMac Clark2013 Mygale SJ13\Honda12-
2F1600AMegan Gilkes2014 Piper DL7\Honda12-
3F1600AJonathan Woolridge2014 Piper DL7\Honda12-
4F1600AJack Polito2014 Piper DL7\Honda12-
5F1600BJames Lindsay1991 Van Diemen RF91\Ford12-
6F1600ADean Baker2018 Spectrum 015\Honda12-
7F1600BConnor Clubine1991 Van Diemen RF91\Ford12-
8F1600AKeith Lobban1998 Van Diemen RF98\Honda12-
9F1600BSteve Bodrug1993 Van Diemen RF93\Ford12-
10F1600AMichael Stewart2014 Piper DL7\Honda12-
11F1600AByron Leis1998 Van Diemen RF98\Ford12-
12F1600BSean Johnston1992 Van Diemen RF92\Ford11-
13F1600ASam Baker2011 Spectrum 012b\Honda11-
14F1600BAndrew Mason1990 Van Diemen RF90\Ford6Did Not Finish
15F1600BKari Salo1990 Van Diemen RF90\Ford6Did Not Finish

1F1600AMac Clark2013 Mygale SJ13\Honda15-
2F1600AJonathan Woolridge2014 Piper DL7\Honda15-
3F1600AMegan Gilkes2014 Piper DL7\Honda15-
4F1600AGraham Lobban1994 Van Diemen RF94\Honda15-
5F1600ASam Baker2011 Spectrum 012b\Honda15-
6F1600ADean Baker2018 Spectrum 015\Honda15-
7F1600BJames Lindsay1991 Van Diemen RF91\Ford15-
8F1600BAndrew Mason1990 Van Diemen RF90\Ford15-
9F1600BSteve Bodrug1993 Van Diemen RF93\Ford15-
10F1600BConnor Clubine1991 Van Diemen RF91\Ford14-
11F1600BSean Johnston1992 Van Diemen RF92\Ford14-
12F1600AMichael Stewart2014 Piper DL7\Honda14-
13F1600AKeith Lobban1998 Van Diemen RF98\Honda14-
14F1600AJack Polito2014 Piper DL7\Honda13-
15F1600AByron Leis1998 Van Diemen RF98\Ford1Did Not Finish
-F1600BKari Salo1990 Van Diemen RF90\Ford0Did Not Start

1F1600AMac Clark2013 Mygale SJ13\Honda19-
2F1600AJonathan Woolridge2014 Piper DL7\Honda15-
3F1600AMegan Gilkes2014 Piper DL7\Honda19-
4F1600AGraham Lobban1994 Van Diemen RF94\Honda19-
5F1600AJack Polito2014 Piper DL7\Honda19-
6F1600ADean Baker2018 Spectrum 015\Honda19-
7F1600AKeith Lobban1998 Van Diemen RF98\Honda19-
8F1600AMichael Stewart2014 Piper DL7\Honda18-
9F1600BConnor Clubine1991 Van Diemen RF91\Ford18-
10F1600BSean Johnston1992 Van Diemen RF92\Ford18-
11F1600AByron Leis1998 Van Diemen RF98\Ford18-
12F1600BSteve Bodrug1993 Van Diemen RF93\Ford18-
13F1600ASam Baker2011 Spectrum 012b\Honda11-
14F1600BAndrew Mason1990 Van Diemen RF90\Ford3Did Not Finish
15F1600BJames Lindsay1991 Van Diemen RF91\Ford0Did Not Finish
-F1600BKari Salo1990 Van Diemen RF90\Ford0Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020

Return to home page.