The Cooper Tires USF2000 National Championship powered by Mazda, made its debut in 2010. The series serves as the first rung on Mazda's Road to Indy and is sanctioned by IndyCar. The program aims to provide a scholarship fund path to reach the IndyCar Series and the Indianapolis 500. The Road to Indy has attracted driving talent from all over the world. Last year's champion, Kyle Kirkwood, is participating in the season's Pro Mazda Championship.

The 2019 USF2000 champion will win a prize package valued at $305,600, which includes a $250,000 scholarship to graduate to Pro Mazda and $55,600 in Cooper tires and entry fees for the following season. The Cooper Tires Pole Award is $1,000 per race.

In 2017, the series introduced the new Mazda-powered Tatuus USF-17. The Tatuus USF-17 is a full carbon and aluminum honeycomb monocoque chassis meeting FIA F4 safety standards, including side impact panels, front and rear impact structures. In addition to safety enhancements, the car includes a six-speed paddle shift gearbox and two-way adjustable shock absorbers. The Tatuus also uses thirteen-inch slick and rain tires manufactured by Cooper Tires, which are mounted on American Racing wheels.

USF2000 cars are powered by a Mazda MZR engine. The power plant is a four-cylinder, double-overhead camshaft, fuel-injected, two-liter motor which produces 175-horsepower and 160-foot pounds of torque. The motors are prepared and sealed by Elite Engines.

In addition to Mazda and Cooper Tires, series partners include Allied Building Products, Elite Engines, Carl Haas Automobile Imports, VP Racing Fuels, Performance Friction Brakes, Cosworth, Dynamic Suspensions and Racing Communications.

The 2019 schedule consists of fifteen races over eight race weekends on eight tracks – two street circuits, one oval, and five permanent road courses.

  • March 8-9 - Streets of St. Petersburg
  • May 10-11 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • May 24 - Lucas Oil Raceway
  • June 22-23 - Road America
  • July 13-14 - Toronto
  • July 27-28 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • August 31 - September 1 - Portland International Raceway
  • September 21-22 - Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

Rounds eight and nine of the 2019 Cooper Tires USF2000 National Championship powered by Mazda were held a Toronto's Exhibition Place. Drivers would compete in two contests around the eleven-turn 1.755-mile temporary street circuit.

After a few runner-up results, Darren Keane found the podium's top step in Saturday's contest at Toronto's Exhibition Place. He started race one on the outside of the front row in the No. 2 Cape Motorsports Tatuus USF-17. On lap-11, Keane passed the pole-sitter, Christian Rasmussen, and despite pressure, Keane held on for the win. On Sunday, Keane started on the pole, but he finished behind Rasmussen this time.
Before Toronto, Denmark's Christian Rasmussen had never finished on the podium in a USF2000 event – that was about to change. Rasmussen put the No. 6 Jay Howard Driver Development Tatuus USF-17 on the pole for Saturday's race but could not hold off Darren Keane and finished second. The next day it was Rasmussen's turn to earn his first victory. From the second position, he moved into the lead on lap-1 for the win.
Hunter McElrea entered the Toronto round second to Braden Eves in the points chase. He had six podium results, one of which was a victory. The Mazda Road to Indy USF2000 Scholarship Award winner started and finished third in race one. On Sunday, McElrea was eleventh fastest in qualifying and slipped down the race order to finish fourteenth. He left Toronto forty-one markers behind Eves.
The No. 27 BN Racing Tatuus USF-17 was driven by Matt Round-Garrido. The Englishman had a challenging season, with only two top-ten finishes after seven rounds. In the weekend's first contest at Toronto, Round-Garrido qualified eleventh and finished in the eighth position. On Sunday, he was gridded ninth. During the race, there were several incidents and Round-Garrido moved up the order to finish third.
The podium for round nine of the 2019 Cooper Tires USF2000 National Championship powered by Mazda. In the center collecting his first series victory is Christian Rasmussen from the Jay Howard Driver Development team. Standing on the left is yesterday's first-time winner and Sunday's runner-up, Darren Keane. The last position on the rostrum belongs to Matt Round-Garrido. This was his first podium finish.

12Darren KeaneCape MotorsportsTatuus USF-1720-
21Christian RasmusenJay Howard Driver DevelopmentTatuus USF-1720-
33Hunter McElreaPabst RacingTatuus USF-1720-
46Braden EvesCape MotorsportsTatuus USF-1720-
512Zach HoldenLegacy AutosportTatuus USF-1720-
65Colin KaminskyPabst RacingTatuus USF-1720-
713Manuel SulaimánDEForce RacingTatuus USF-1720-
811Matt Round-GarridoBN RacingTatuus USF-1720-
910Jack William MillerMiller Vinatieri MotorsportsTatuus USF-1720-
1015Christian BogleJay Howard Driver DevelopmentTatuus USF-1720-
117Bruna TomaselliPabst RacingTatuus USF-1720-
1217Jak CrawfordDEForce RacingTatuus USF-1720-
134Reece GoldCape MotorsportsTatuus USF-1720-
1414Yuven SundaramoorthyPabst RacingTatuus USF-1720-
159Eduardo BarrichelloMiller Vinatieri MotorsportsTatuus USF-1720-
1616Nolan SiegelNewman Wachs RacingTatuus USF-1720-
178Cameron ShieldsNewman Wachs RacingTatuus USF-1715Accident

12Christian RasmusenJay Howard Driver DevelopmentTatuus USF-1725-
21Darren KeaneCape MotorsportsTatuus USF-1725-
39Matt Round-GarridoBN RacingTatuus USF-1725-
48Manuel SulaimánDEForce RacingTatuus USF-1725-
513Jak CrawfordDEForce RacingTatuus USF-1725-
65Cameron ShieldsNewman Wachs RacingTatuus USF-1725-
716Bruna TomaselliPabst RacingTatuus USF-1725-
815Yuven SundaramoorthyPabst RacingTatuus USF-1725-
917Reece GoldCape MotorsportsTatuus USF-1725-
1012Nolan SiegelNewman Wachs RacingTatuus USF-1725-
113Braden EvesCape MotorsportsTatuus USF-1725-
124Colin KaminskyPabst RacingTatuus USF-1725-
1310Christian BogleJay Howard Driver DevelopmentTatuus USF-1724Did Not Finish
1411Hunter McElreaPabst RacingTatuus USF-1723-
157Zach HoldenLegacy AutosportTatuus USF-1711Accident
1614Jack William MillerMiller Vinatieri MotorsportsTatuus USF-1710Off Course
176Eduardo BarrichelloMiller Vinatieri MotorsportsTatuus USF-175Spin

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022

Return to home page.