In 2019, the Pro Mazda Championship presented by Cooper Tires entered its twenty-ninth season as one of North America's premier open-wheel driver development series. Series graduates have gone on to race in F1, Indy Cars, NASCAR and IMSA.

The attraction of the Pro Formula Mazda series is the scholarship program which advances drivers to the Indy Lights series.

In 2018, a new chassis was introduced. The Tatuus PM-18 would be the spec car for the Pro Mazda Championship presented by Cooper Tires. Tatuus is an Italian chassis manufacturer founded in 1980 by Artico Sandona.

The PM-18 uses the same chassis and components as the USF-17. The USF-17 is the car used for the USF2000 National Championship. The chassis is a full carbon and aluminum honeycomb monocoque chassis meeting FIA F4 safety standards, including side impact panels, front and rear impact structures. In addition to safety enhancements, the car includes a six-speed paddle shift gearbox and two-way adjustable shock absorbers.

The Tatuus is powered by a two-liter Mazda MZR-PM18A engine featuring a fly-by-wire throttle system and a Cosworth SQ6 engine management system.

The 2019 Pro Mazda Championship opening weekend was held at Saint Petersburg and the season ended in September at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. Races were in support of the IndyCar Series, except for the contest at Lucas Oil Raceway. All road and street course events were doubleheaders, with the exceptions of Lucas Oil Raceway and Gateway Motorsports Park, which hosted one race each.

  • March 9-10 – St. Petersburg
  • May 10-11 – Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • May 24 – Lucas Oil Raceway
  • June 22-23 – Road America
  • July 13-14 - Streets of Toronto
  • July 27-28 – Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • August 24 - Gateway Motorsports Park
  • August 31 - September 1 – Portland International Raceway
  • September 21-22 – WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca

Rounds eight and nine of the 2019 Pro Mazda Championship presented by Cooper Tires were held a Toronto's Exhibition Place. Drivers would compete in two forty-minute contests around the eleven-turn 1.755-mile temporary street circuit.

Daniel Frost earned three podium results before finding the rostrum's top step at Lucas Oil Raceway. The Singaporean driver qualified third fastest in the weekend's first race in Toronto. Frost slipped by the pole-sitter, Kyle Kirkwood, on the opening lap for the lead and despite two cautions, he held on for his second win of the season. On Sunday, he qualified and finished fourth in the No. 68 Tatuus PM-18.
Last year's USF2000 champion, Kyle Kirkwood, drove the No. 28 RP Motorsport Racing Tatuus PM-18. The title contender qualified on the pole for race one in Toronto. At the start of the contest, Kirkwood when a little wide and lost positions to Daniel Frost and Rasmus Lindh. On the second lap, his teammate, Ian Rodriguez, knocked him out of contention. Kirkwood won the finale despite pressure from Parker Thompson.
The points leader, Rasmus Lindh, drove the No. 10 Juncos Racing Tatuus PM-18. Lindh started round eight in Toronto on the outside of the front row. He used Kyle Kirkwood's opening lap error to follow Daniel Frost into second place. Lindh held the position to the checkered flag. He qualified second fastest for Sunday's race; however, early in the contest, Lindh lost the place to Parker Thompson and finished third.
Canadian Parker Thompson was one of the favourites to win this year's Pro Mazda Champion. The driver of the No. 8 Abel Motorsports Tatuus PM-18 finished second in last season's title chase and swept the first two rounds of 2019. Thompson qualified seven for Saturday's contest in Toronto and collected the final spot on the podium. He started third in the last race and battled with Rasmus Lindh to finish second.
The podium for round nine of the 2019 Pro Mazda Championship at Toronto's Exhibition Place. Standing in the center for the third time this season is the 2018 USF2000 Champion and race winner, Kyle Kirkwood. On the left, from Abel Motorsports, is the runner-up Canadian Parker Thompson. This was Thompson's second rostrum of the event. The final position is occupied by the points leader Rasmus Lindh.

13Danial FrostTatuus PM-1825-
22Rasmus LindhTatuus PM-1825-
37Parker ThompsonTatuus PM-1825-
49Antonio SerravalleTatuus PM-1825-
55Ian RodríguezTatuus PM-1825-
612Jacob AbelTatuus PM-1825-
710Kory EndersTatuus PM-1825-
81Kyle KirkwoodTatuus PM-1824-
98Phillippe DenesTatuus PM-1820Mechanical
106Nikita LastochkinTatuus PM-1815Accident
114Sting Ray RobbTatuus PM-1814Accident
1211Charles FinelliTatuus PM-1814Accident
1313Moisés de la VaraTatuus PM-184Accident

11Kyle KirkwoodTatuus PM-1830-
23Parker ThompsonTatuus PM-1830-
32Rasmus LindhTatuus PM-1830-
44Danial FrostTatuus PM-1830-
55Sting Ray RobbTatuus PM-1830-
67Ian RodríguezTatuus PM-1830-
712Jacob AbelTatuus PM-1830-
89Nikita LastochkinTatuus PM-1830-
910Kory EndersTatuus PM-1830-
1011Moisés de la VaraTatuus PM-1829-
1113Charles FinelliTatuus PM-1823Handling
126Phillippe DenesTatuus PM-180Mechanical
138Antonio SerravalleTatuus PM-180Accident

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.