In 2006, the International Motor Sports Association (IMSA) unveiled the Lites class for single-seat prototype race cars. This series ran as a support event to the American Le Mans Series (ALMS). It served as a training ground for drivers and teams that wanted to move up to the ALMS. It is now called the IMSA Prototype Challenge.

Initially, there were three categories (Lites 1, Lites 2 and Lites 3). The weight of these sports racers and engine type and displacement determined their classification.

However, the series has evolved over time and underwent changes in 2019. The Mazda Prototype Challenge category, which has been part of the series since 2006, was dropped. Cars competing in this class are manufactured to Le Mans Prototype 3 specifications.

The Le Mans Prototype 3 (LMP3) category was introduced in 2017. There are a number of race car manufacturers producing chassis' for this category: Ligier, Ave-Riley and Norma. They are equipped with Michelin tires and powered by a 5.0-liter naturally aspirated Nissan V8 motor, which produces 420-horsepower. All vehicles must weigh no less than 2,050-lbs.

The 2019 season featured six race weekends, each contest one-hour, forty-five minutes in length. The exceptions were Daytona and Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, which were three-hour races.

  • January 5 Daytona International Speedway
  • March 14 Sebring International Raceway
  • May 5 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • July 6 Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
  • August 24 Virginia International Raceway
  • October 11 Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta

Round four of the 2019 IMSA Prototype Challenge was held at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. Drivers would compete in a three-hour contest around the ten turn 2.459-mile road course.

The start of round four of the 2019 IMSA Prototype Challenge at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. Leading the field of nineteen entries into corner one is the pole-sitter, Stevan McAleer, in the No. 10 Robillard Racing Norma M30. This was McAleer's first series pole. Beside McAleer is the other front-row qualifier and local racer, Garett Grist, driving the No. 51 K2R Motorsports Ligier JS P3.
Last year at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, the No. 47 Forty 7 Motorsports Norma M30 was victorious in the hands of Austin McCusker and TJ Fischer. The team returned this season, but Fischer was replaced by Rodrigo Pflucker, who qualified third fastest. During his stint, McCusker moved into the top spot on lap-60 of 129 and never looked back to win by a margin of 16.012-seconds. The pair now leads the title chase by thirteen points.
Finishing behind the Forty 7 Motorsports Norma M30 were Chris Archinaco and Scott Huffaker. Archinaco and Huffaker were sharing the No. 52 PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports Ligier JS P3. Archinaco was tenth fastest in qualifying. After the pit stops, Huffaker found himself battling with the JDC MotorSports Norma and the MLT Motorsports Ligier. He moved into second with four laps remaining and held on to the position.
The No. 9 JDC MotorSports Norma M30 of Scott Andrews and Gerry Kraut was gridded ninth to start the three-hour contest at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. The pair missed the opening round at Daytona but finished fifth at Mid-Ohio. Kraut drove the opening stint and moved the car into contention. Andrews drove the final leg and was in second place when he lost the position and finished third.
Dakota Dickerson and Dylan Murry won the previous round at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, driving the No. 54 MLT Motorsports Ligier JS P3. Murry performed the qualifying duties at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park and was fourth fastest. The pair ran as high as second place and as low as seventh. In the last half of the contest, Dickerson moved into the fourth position and would be the last car to finish on the lead lap.
Neil Alberico and Leo Lamelas shared the No. 4 Ligier JS P3 prepared by ANSA Motosports. The duo started the season with a victory at Daytona International Speedway. This was followed by a runner-up result in round three at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Lamelas qualified the car eighth fastest at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park but quickly moved up the race order. Alberico would receive the checker in fifth place.

13A. McCusker / R. PfluckerNorma M30129-
210C. Archinaco / S. HuffakerLigier JS P3129-
315G. Kraut / S. AndrewsNorma M30129-
44D. Dickerson / D. MurryLigier JS P3129-
58L. Lamelas / N. AlbericoLigier JS P3128-
67C. Cassels / J. FrenchLigier JS P3128-
72R. Hodes / G. GristLigier JS P3128-
813K. Koch / D. Grant / K. GrantLigier JS P3127-
911J. Brownson / M. ChlumeckyLigier JS P3127-
101J. Robillard / S. McAleerNorma M30127-
1118B. Hamilton / T. Kasemets / J. BufordLigier JS P3127-
125N. Reger / W. SchwabNorma M30127-
1317B. Baker / D. Baker / K. MassonLigier JS P3127-
1414W. Lin / B. Waddell / M. MillerLigier JS P3127-
1519D. House / P. LaHayeLigier JS P3125-
1616J. Janco / J. JorgeLigier JS P3118Did Not Finish
176B. Mount / M. HanrattyLigier JS P336Did Not Finish
1812N. Rao / M. BellLigier JS P316Did Not Finish
199L. Willsey / N. GreensallLigier JS P3127Penalty

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017

Return to home page.