The Indy Lights series originated in 1986 and was called the American Racing Series (ARS). It served as a training ground for racers with the intention of competing in CART (Championship Auto Racing Teams). Indy Lights is now considered the top rung of the ladder for Mazda’s Road to Indy. The Mazda Road to Indy is a driver development program providing a scholarship-funded path to reach the NTT IndyCar Series and the Indianapolis 500.

The first generation cars used in the American Racing Series were manufactured by March and powered by a Buick V6 engine. Since then, a number of different chassis and engine combinations have been used. In 2015, Indy Lights competitors started racing a Dallara IL-15 chassis powered by a 2.0-liter turbocharged Mazda MZR-R motor.

The championship has proven to be a successful training ground for some of the drivers competing in the 2019 NTT IndyCar series – Marco Andretti, Tony Kanaan, Scott Dixon, Josef Newgarden, Spencer Pigot, Ed Jones, Helio Castroneves, James Hinchcliffe, Graham Rahal, etc.

The eighteen-race schedule kicked off at Saint Petersburg and concluded in September at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.

  • Saint Petersburg Twin 150K - 1 - Streets of St. Petersburg
  • Saint Petersburg Twin 150K - 2 - Streets of St. Petersburg
  • Indy Lights Classic - 1 - Circuit of the Americas
  • Indy Lights Classic - 2 - Circuit of the Americas
  • Indy Lights Grand Prix - 1 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • Indy Lights Grand Prix - 2 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • Freedom 100 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • Mazda Grand Prix of Road America - 1 - Road America
  • Mazda Grand Prix of Road America - 2 - Road America
  • Grand Prix of Toronto - 1 - Exhibition Place, Toronto
  • Grand Prix of Toronto - 2 - Exhibition Place, Toronto
  • Grand Prix of Mid-Ohio - 1 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • Grand Prix of Mid-Ohio - 2 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • Illinois 250K - Gateway Motorsports Park
  • Grand Prix of Portland - 1 - Portland International Raceway
  • Grand Prix of Portland - 2 - Portland International Raceway
  • Monterey Grand Prix - 1 - WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca
  • Monterey Grand Prix - 2 - WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca

Rounds ten and eleven of the 2019 Indy Lights championship presented by Cooper Tires were held at Toronto’s Exhibition Place. Drivers would compete in two races (Saturday and Sunday) around the eleven-turn 1.786-mile temporary street circuit.

In 2019, Aaron Telitz split his time between Indy Lights and IMSA. At the Toronto Indy Lights event, he drove the No. 4 Bilardi Auto Racing Dallara IL-15. Telitz dominated race one, qualifying on the pole and leading flag-to-flag. In the finale, he was challenged by Rinus Veekay. An attempted pass by Veekay on lap-25 brought both cars to a halt in corner three. Telitz would continue but finish sixth.
Capitalizing on the errors by Rinus Veekay and Aaron Telitz in Sunday’s race was the point’s leader Oliver Askew. After running third, Askew moved into first and won the race by a margin of 6.833-seconds. The previous day, he started third in the No. 28 Index Invest Dallara IL-15 and finished second to Telitz. Askew’s results during the weekend increased his lead from three to twenty-five markers over Veekay.
Rookie Rinus Veekay won the previous race at Road America and was closing fast on the championship leader, Oliver Askew. Veekay would start on the outside of the front row for Saturday’s race in Toronto. However, Veekay was passed by Askew at the start and finished third. In the finale, he started second and chased Aaron Telitz. On lap-25, Veekay tried to pass the leader, Telitz and took them both out of contention.
Toby Sowery spent time in many British junior open-wheel categories. He also participated in a couple of Road to Indy USF2000 and Pro Mazda events. Sowery entered the 2019 season driving the No. 2 Rich Energy Dallara IL-15. He earned second and third-place finishes in his series debut at St Pete. In round ten, Sowery qualified and finished fifth. On Sunday, he benefitted from the Telitz / Veekay incident to collect second.
Last year, Dalton Kellett scored his first Indy Lights victory and finished seventh in the final standings. Kellett’s best result of 2019 was a fifth at Indianapolis. In the weekend’s first contest at Toronto, he qualified seventh, but issues relegated him to an eighth-place finish. The next day, Kellett started fourth. He was passed by Toby Sowery, but the errors made by Telitz / Veekay allowed him to finish third.
The 2019 Indy Lights podium for round eleven of the series at Toronto’s Exhibition Place. In the center and winning for the fourth time this season is the points leader Oliver Askew. Standing on the left and matching his best result of the year is the runner-up Toby Sowery. Completing the rostrum from Juncos Racing is Canada’s Dalton Kellett.

11Aaron TelitzDallara IL-1535-
23Oliver AskewDallara IL-1535-
32Rinus VeeKayDallara IL-1535-
44Ryan NormanDallara IL-1535-
55Toby SoweryDallara IL-1535-
69Robert MegennisDallara IL-1535-
78Lucas KohlDallara IL-1535-
87Dalton KellettDallara IL-1534-
96David MalukasDallara IL-1534-

11Oliver AskewDallara IL-1540-
25Toby SoweryDallara IL-1540-
34Dalton KellettDallara IL-1540-
48Ryan NormanDallara IL-1540-
56Robert MegennisDallara IL-1540-
63Aaron TelitzDallara IL-1540-
79Lucas KohlDallara IL-1540-
87David MalukasDallara IL-1540-
92Rinus VeeKayDallara IL-1536-

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.