The Ontario Stock Car Association of Asphalt Racers (OSCAAR) was formed in 1990 and has been responsible for sanctioning many divisions. The newest race group is the Hot Rod category, which was introduced in 2017. The Hot Rod division was created to have a sportsmanlike racing environment.

The Hot Rod series competes on oval tracks throughout southern Ontario. In 2019, the season kicks off in May with a double-header at Sunset Speedway and ends at Peterborough Speedway on Thanksgiving Weekend. In between these dates, there are also events at Jukasa Motor Speedway, Brighton Speedway and Flamboro Speedway. The title chase is scheduled to include a total of sixteen race events.

The cars competing in the championship are constructed to specifications and rules common to most stock car series. What makes the Hot Rod division unique are the bodies. The cars must be North American, steel body and have been in production between 1949 and 1974. No pickup trucks, convertibles or front wheel drive cars can participate in this series. The Hot Rods must have a stock roof, grill, tail and the rest of the body panels can be fabricated from 22-gauge sheet steel but must retain a stock appearance. Many of the other rules governing this class are for safety and to keep the costs down.

The first visit to Juskasa Motor Speedway this season was scheduled to be a thirty-lap event but with inclement weather in the forecast the series officials reduced the race by five laps.

Pacing the field for the twenty-five-lap Knightworks Design, Scott Reinhart Trailer Sale Ltd OSCAAR Hot Rod Series feature presented by Hanover Holidays was Nick Clarke in the Johnís Towing sponsored Ford Mustang. Sharing the front row with, Clarke was the pointís leader, Tyler Hawn in a 1968 Beaumont with backing from the series sponsor, Knightworks Design. A total of twelve drivers would take the Starterís green flag.
It was a big day for Jerry Broom as he scored his first Hot Rod series victory. Broom who started seventh in the No. 93 Chevrolet Camaro moved to the front early. During the contest, he found himself in a three-way battle with the Beaumont of Tyler Hawn and Steve Book in a Studebaker Hawk. Broom prevailed and in the closing laps was able to pull away from the other contenders. He captured his first win by a margin of 0.756-seconds.
The defending OSCAAR Hot Rod series champion, Tyler Hawn returned to the title chase in his 1968 Beaumont. Hawn started the twenty-five-lap feature on the outside of the front row. He moved the top spot early but soon found himself in a fight for the lead with the No. 47 Studebaker Hawk driven by Steve Book and seventh place starter, Jerry Broom. Unable to keep Broom behind him, Hawn captured the runner-up spot.
The field was filled with unique vehicles, but the oldest car was the 1960 Studebaker Hawk raced by Steve Book. Last season, Book competed in a Chevrolet Camaro and finished third in the championship. He started the race at Jukasa Motor Speedway on the inside of the second row. And, like Tyler Hawn and Jerry Broom moved to the front of the field early. Book led a number of laps before surrendering positions to Broom and Hawn.
The first and only retirement of the contest occurred on lap-8. Greg Belyea appeared to lose an engine or at the very least a head gasket in his 1969 Mercury Cougar. Belyea who competes regularly at Brighton Speedway in the trackís Pro Late Model category was gridded tenth for the start of the twenty-five-lap feature. He dropped to eleventh place just before his engine problem.
Starting on the pole for the twenty-five-lap contest was Nick Clarke. Clarke driving a 1969 Ford Mustang finished fifth in last seasonís standings and was currently sixth in the 2019 championship. Early in the race, he was able to maintain the pace of Tyler Hawn, Jerry Broom and Steve Book. By the halfway mark of the contest, Clarke had fallen out of contention. At the checkered flag, he fourth Ė 11.753-seconds behind the winner, Broom.
The top-three finishers for the twenty-five-lap Knightworks Design, Scott Reinhart Trailer Sale Ltd OSCAAR Hot Rod Series feature presented by Hanover Holidays at Jukasa Motor Speedway. In the center, capturing his first victory is Jerry Broom. To Broomís right is the two-time series champion and runner-up, Tyler Hawn. Rounding out the top-three is the driver of the No. 47 Studebaker Hawk, Steve Book.

17Jerry Broom1969 Chevrolet Camaro25-
22Tyler Hawn1967 Beaumont25-
33Steve Book1960 Studebaker Hawk25-
41Nick Clarke1969 Ford Mustang25-
55Jerry McLean1968 Chevrolet Chevelle25-
66Rodney Rutherford1961 Chevrolet Biscayne25-
78Brandon Robertson1974 Ford Torino25-
84Dalen Martin1971 Ford Mustang25-
99Douglas Fischer1971 Chevrolet Nova SS25-
1012Leroy Robinson1970 Chevrolet Camaro25-
1111Robert Robinson1971 Plymouth Satellite Sebring22-
1210Greg Belyea1969 Mercury Cougar8Engine

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.