The APC United Late Model championship for Pro Late Models debuted in 2015. As evidenced by its growth, the Ontario series has proven to be very popular with competitors and fans.

The 2019 season kicks off on the Victoria Day Weekend at Sunset International Speedway. In June the teams will make their way to Flamboro Speedway, Jukasa Motor Speedway and Delaware Speedway. The following month the series will make a second visit to Flamboro. The championship will also return to Jukasa but the race is being held on a Thursday evening. In early August, the drivers and their crews will visit Sauble Speedway for races on Friday and Sunday. The month will end with another visit to Sunset for the penultimate round. The finale will take place at Delaware Speedway.

The series cars are constructed to specifications and rules common to most stock car series. The chassis is a tube frame covered with fiberglass bodies. Depending on the engine choice, a car can weigh as much as 2800-lbs. Crate motors from General Motors (GM 604 & GM 602) and Ford (347) are used in the series. To regulate expenses, competitors use a spec tire from American Racer and Bilstein A2 shock absorbers. There are also rules which restrict the options available for transmissions, ignition components, body material, brakes, etc.

Cars that qualify in positions one to ten are inverted according to points and season attendance. Before each race, the cars are fitted with a new set of American Racer tires, receive a technical inspection and are impounded until the start of the event.

The first event of APC season would take place on the 0.333-mile oval at Sunset Speedway. Competitors would race for one-hundred-laps in the Dayco 100 presented by Quaker State.

Twenty-six entrantís line-up on the front straight of the 0.333-mile oval at Sunset Speedway for round one of the 2019 APC United Late Model championship. Starting on the pole is two-time series winner, Matt Pritiko and the No. 21 Toyota Camry. On the outside of the front row is the No. 24 Great Lake Concrete sponsored Chevrolet of Nick Goetz. Despite their positions of the grid, neither driver would be a factor in the contest.
Jordan Sims scored his first APC victory in a dominating fashion. The rookie started the one-hundred-lap event in the third position. By lap-7, Sims was in the lead and during the long green flag runs, he was able to open a gap on the field. The driver of the No. 47 Ford appeared to be in a comfortable position until the final caution with just four-laps remaining. Sims was able to protect his position on the restart and was first to the checker.
Guelph resident, Billy Schwartzenburg was gridded tenth for the start of the one-hundred-lap feature. Schwartzenburg advanced to the front of the field early in the race and spent most of the evening in the top-five. Near the end of the contest, he battled with 2015 champion, Dale Shaw. Schwartzenburg passed Shaw and then set his sights on Gord Shepherd who he got by with thirteen-laps remaining for a second-place finish.
The best result by a past series champion was delivered by 2015 title holder, Dale Shaw. Shaw started the contest in the eighth position driving a Chevrolet with backing from JS Construction, Shaw Motorsports and Waverdale Fleet Service. He was in contention for the victory during the event. With the race winding down, Shaw was in fourth place but a lap-87 pass on Gord Shepherd gave him a top three finish to start the season.
The last change qualifying race Ė a promoterís dream (too many cars) and a racerís nightmare (the risk of failing to make the feature). The opening round at Sunset Speedway had thirty-two entries with only twenty-six cars participating in the Dayco 100. Starting on the pole and winning the qualifying event was Dwayne Baker in the No. 48 Nisco National Leasing sponsored Ford. Baker would finish twenty-second in the finale.
For the start of the Dayco 100, the defending APC United Late Model champion, J.R. Fitzpatrick was in the fifteenth position. In the off-season, Fitzpatrick switched brands and replaced his venerable Chevrolet in favour of a new Ford Mustang. During the race, he ran as high as fifth but lost the position to the Toyota Camry of Treyten Lapcevich. Unable to retake the spot, Fitzpatrick captured a sixth-place finish.
It was a difficult evening for the 2016 APC series champion, Andrew Gresel. He drove the No. 81 Gallinger Ford Lincoln / Calhoun Super Structure sponsored Ford Fusion and started at the back of the field. Gresel was never in contention and brought out the raceís fifth caution period when he spun on the back straight just before the halfway point of the competition. At the checkered flag, Gresel was in the twenty-first position.
After all the qualifying procedures were completed, Matt Pritiko found himself starting on the pole. The driver of the No. 21 Global Warranty / Napa Certified Body Shops sponsored Toyota Camry had two series wins to his credit and was in an excellent position to add a third. Unfortunately, Pritiko was unable to maintain the pace of the leaders and dropped down the running order. After one-hundred-laps, he was in tenth place.
The top-three finishers for round one of the 2019 APC United Late Model championship for Pro Late Models. In the center from Sault. St. Marie is the winner of the Dayco 100 presented by Quaker State, Jordan Simms. This was Simms first series victory. On the left is the runner-up, Billy Schwartzenburg. Rounding out the top-three is the inaugural series champion, Dale Shaw.

13Jordan SimsSims Countertops / Ford-
210Billy SchwartzenburgSpira Fire Protection / Ford Fusion-
38Dale ShawShaw Motorsports / Chevrolet-
44Gord ShepherdLocking Business Machines / Ford-
57Treyten LapcevichACE Services / Toyota Camry-
615JR FitzpatrickCambridge Rigging / Ford Mustang-
75Jo LawrenceMcColl Racing Enterprises / Dodge-
86Rick Spencer-WaltAuto Trim / Ford Fusion-
913Shae GremmellSearles Motor Products Chevrolet / Chevrolet-
101Matt PritikoGlobal Warranty / Toyota Camry-
1114Jamie CoxLondon City Chrysler / Dodge-
129Josh StadeTiremaster/MEI Paving / Toyota Camry-
1311Jade FranklinCalldecott Millwright Services / Chevrolet-
1418Jason ParkerMowbrays Canadian Tire / Chevrolet-
1524Hudson NagyJUKASA Motor Speedway / Chevrolet-
1616Jake SheridanPride Seed/Vibrant Farms / Chevrolet-
172Nick GoetzGreat Lakes Concrete / Chevrolet-
1819Mat BoxMaple City Tire / Chevrolet-
1920Junior FarrellyTired Iron Equipment Services / Chevrolet-
2012Blair WickettCambridge Auto Repair / Chevrolet-
2125Andrew GreselGallinger Ford Lincoln / Ford Fusion-
2222Dwayne BakerNisco National Leasing / Ford-
2317Shawn McGlynnBlast Floor Coating / Chevrolet-
2421Andy KamrathLondon Recreational Racing / ChevroletDid Not Finish
2526Ryan KimballAP Racing Engines / ChevroletDid Not Finish
2623Todd DelisleDelisle Racing / Ford MustangDid Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.