The Nissan Micra Cup series made its debut in 2015. The championship was designed to provide racers with the most affordable new race vehicle in Canada. To keep costs down and to ensure all the Micras were equal, the are cars prepared by a single performance shop – Motorsports in Action.

The Micra is powered by a 1.6-liter DOHC 4-cylinder engine which produces 109-horsepower. For safety purposes, much of the interior (seats, door panels, etc.) is removed and a safety cage, five-point harness, window net and FIA-approved racing seat are installed. To improve the performance of the cars, they are fitted with a racing suspension kit, high-performance brake pads, Pirelli racing tires and a modified exhaust system.

In the first season, there were six race weekends - all being held in Quebec. The popularity of the series grew and in 2016, there were three events held in Ontario and five in Quebec. Now in its fourth season, the series opens in May on the Victoria Day Weekend at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. This event is followed by races at Calabogie Motorsport Park and Circuit Mont-Tremblant in June and July. The championship then competes at the Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres. The penultimate round is at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park and the season finale will be held at Circuit Mont-Tremblant.

The opening rounds of the 2018 Nissan Micra Cup series were held at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. Drivers would compete in two thirty-minute races around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course during the Victoria Day Speedfest Weekend.

The first lap of race one for the 2018 Nissan Micra Cup series at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. Leading the field of sixteen entrants through corner two is the pole-sitter, Olivier Bedard, in the No. 1 Solid Xperts Inc. Nissan Micra. Behind Bedard is the other front row starter, Normand Boyer, driving the No. 11 Belvedere Nissan Micra and the third-fastest qualifier, Kevin King, in the No. 40 L&P Apparel Nissan Micra.
The two-time Nissan Micra Cup series champion, Olivier Bedard, started the defence of his title by qualifying on the pole for round one. Bedard would lead the very wet contest on Saturday flag-to-flag and win by a margin of 5.017-seconds. On Sunday, the No. 1 Solid Xperts Nissan Micra was gridded on the pole. During the race, Bedard exchanged positions with Kevin King and Normand Boyer before finishing second.
The other winner this weekend was Kevin King driving the No. 40 King Motorsports / L&P Apparel Nissan Micra. King made his series debut in 2015 and finished third in the 2016 and 2017 championship standings. He qualified third fastest for the first event of the weekend and finished the race in the same position. King started the finale in the fourth spot but battled his way to the front and captured the victory.
The most experienced driver in the field is Normand Boyer, who piloted the No. 11 Belvedere Nissan Micra. Boyer’s racing resume dates back to the Honda Michelin series and includes time spent in the Canadian Touring Car Championship. Boyer started race one at Canadian Tire Motorsport on the outside of the front row and finished in the runner-up spot. The next day, he crossed the finish line in fourth.
The first lap through Moss Corner for round two of the 2018 Nissan Micra Cup series. Leading the field is the reigning champion and pole-sitter, Olivier Bedard, driving No. 1 Solid Xperts Inc. Nissan Micra. Chasing Bedard are the third and fourth fastest qualifiers, Normand Boyer and Kevin King. Trailing the top three are the Nissan Micras of Valerie Limoges and the second-place starter, Fadi Mourad.
Sports car racing veteran Valerie Limoges has competed in the Nissan Micra Cup championship since the series inception. Last season was her best year when she finished fourth in the final standings. In 2018, Limoges returned in the No. 220 Total Racing Team Nissan Micra. She qualified fifth for the opening event but only completed one lap in the wet race. The next day, Limoges redeemed herself with a third-place result.
Rookie Fadi Mourad recorded a very respectable qualifying time for his first Nissan Micra Cup event. At the end of the session, the driver of the No. 77 Nissan Gabriel Racing Nissan Micra was fourth fastest. Unfortunately, he retired before the end of lap-1 in Saturday’s wet contest. During qualifying for the finale, Mourad was second fastest. He has the speed; however, his inexperience in the race showed and he finished fifth.

11Olivier BédardNissan MicraSolidXperts13
22Normand BoyerNissan MicraBelvédère Nissan13
33Kevin KingNissan MicraKing Motorsports / L&P Apparel13
48Jake ExtonNissan MicraTeam Moovit13
59Peter DyckNissan MicraNRW Rennsport13
610Federic BernierNissan MicraHi-Fi Racing13
713Michael HabrichNissan MicraSolidXperts13
86Edward WongNissan MicraAlta Group Nissan13
912Mike OgrenNissan MicraLombard Bros Gaming13
107Austin RileyNissan MicraRacing with autism13
1115Sylvain OuelletNissan MicraAutomobiles S.Ouellet13
1214Alex P HabrichNissan MicraSolidXperts13
1311Mario BerthiaumeNissan MicraMB Performance13
1416Victor SimoneNissan MicraAlta Group Nissan3
155Valérie LimogesNissan MicraTotal Racing Team1
164Fadi MouradNissan MicraNissan Gabriel Racing0

14Kevin KingNissan MicraKing Motorsports / L&P Apparel16
21Olivier BédardNissan MicraSolidXperts16
35Valérie LimogesNissan MicraTotal Racing Team16
43Normand BoyerNissan MicraBelvédère Nissan16
52Fadi MouradNissan MicraNissan Gabriel Racing16
67Jake ExtonNissan MicraTeam Moovit16
710Federic BernierNissan MicraHi-Fi Racing16
812Mike OgrenNissan MicraLombard Bros Gaming16
98Austin RileyNissan MicraRacing with autism16
1015Sylvain OuelletNissan MicraAutomobiles S.Ouellet16
1113Michael HabrichNissan MicraSolidXperts16
1214Alex P HabrichNissan MicraSolidXperts16
1316Victor SimoneNissan MicraAlta Group Nissan16
1411Mario CharetteNissan MicraMB Performance15
156Edward WongNissan MicraAlta Group Nissan11
169Peter DyckNissan MicraNRW Rennsport11

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018

Return to home page.