The 2018 Toyo Tires F1600 Championship schedule consists of six race weekends. Each event would be a tripleheader.

The season kicks off in May at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (CTMP) during the BEMC Spring Trophy Races. In June, the series returns to CTMP as a support event for the VARAC Canadian Historic Grand Prix event. In mid-July, competitors race at Shannonville Motorsport Park during the Peter Jackson Trophy Races. Then the Toyo Tires F1600 Championship makes its third of four stops at CTMP for the BARC Canadian Touring Trophy races. In late August, teams travel to Calabogie Motorsports Park for rounds thirteen, fourteen and fifteen. The BEMC Indian Summer Races is the series’ final weekend of competition and determines class champions.

Series entrants are also eligible to participate in the Formula 1600 Super Series, which includes drivers from Quebec. Points toward the Super Series championship are awarded at four events.

  • Canadian Grand Prix – Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve
  • VARAC Canadian Historic Grand Prix – Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
  • CTCC Summer Challenge – Shannonville Motorsport Park
  • Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres – Trois-Rivieres

The single-seater, open-wheel race cars in the championship are powered by one of two engine options - a four-cylinder, 1600-cc Ford engine or the 1.5-liter HPD Honda L15A7. Both motors produce approximately 120-horsepower. A mixture of European and North American chassis is used by competitors. Minimum vehicle weight is determined by the suspension design and ranges from 1050 to 1125-lbs. Teams are required to use a spec tire – the Toyo Proxes R888.

Drivers collect championship points in one of two groups.

  • F1600A – This category is for newer chassis’ built between 1995 and 2018.
  • F1600B – This group is for cars constructed between 1994 and older with the Ford engine.

The manufacture date for the individual car and not the model is used to determine the year split and whether a vehicle is categorized as F1600A or F1600B.

Major news for series competitors was this year’s champion would be awarded a ticket to the $200,000 Mazda Road to Indy USF2000 Scholarship Shootout in December. Winning the Mazda Road to Indy Shootout is the first step to a funded ride in the USF2000 series.

Rounds ten, eleven and twelve of the 2018 Toyo Tires F1600 Championship were held at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park during the BARC Canadian Touring Trophy Races. Drivers would score points in three races around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

By the time the championship had reached the mid-point of the season, there were two contenders vying for the F1600A title – Kellen Ritter and Jake Craig. Ritter had two victories to his credit which he collected in rounds five and eight. When the series returned to Canadian Tire Motorsport Park for the BARC Canadian Touring Trophy weekend, Ritter dominated the proceedings and captured three victories.
Zachary Vanier was having a difficult season prior to the BARC weekend. His best finish was a fourth-place, but his record also included two DNFs. Vanier’s weekend at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park began with a penalty for passing under a yellow. However, his performance turned around on Sunday. The driver of the No. 65 Mygale SJ14 battled with Kellen Ritter and Jake Craig before claiming a pair of runner-up finishes.
The defending F1600B champion, Graham Lobban, also had a slow start to the season and didn’t collect his first class win until round seven at Shannonville Motorsport Park. Since that event, he was ‘on a roll.’ Lobban would capture victories in all three races at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, driving the No. 12 Van Diemen RF94, despite trading the top spot with James Lindsay in the finale.
Championship contender Jake Craig drove the No. 4 Brian Graham Motorsports Piper DL7. Craig led the F1600A category entering round ten based on eight podium finishes, three of which were victories. He qualified fourth for race one at the BARC weekend and finished third after Zachary Vanier was penalized. Unable to match the pace set by Kellen Ritter and Vanier, Craig earned two third-place results on Sunday.
This year’s strong crop of rookies included Spike Kohlbecker. Kohlbecker was one of three newcomers to score a victory in this season’s championship. He opened the weekend at the BARC Canadian Touring Trophy Races by qualifying on the pole and finishing second. Kohlbecker’s engine failed to start for the first event on Sunday. As a result, he was gridded at the rear of the field for the finale but finished fourth.
F1600B competitor James Lindsay piloted the No. 35 Van Diemen RF91. Lindsay spent the weekend chasing Graham Lobban. He won the battle with Steve Bodrug for a runner-up result in round ten. Lindsay led most of Sunday’s first race before finishing second to Lobban. In the weekend’s final contest, he traded the top spot with Lobban five times, but at the checker, he was second by a margin of 0.207-seconds.

12A-1Kellen RitterSpectrum 01413-
21A-2Spike KohlbeckerSpectrum 01413-
34A-3Jake CraigPiper DL713-
46A-4Shane JantziVan Diemen RF0213-
55A-5Logan CussonPiper DL713-
68B-1Graham LobbanVan Diemen RF9413-
712B-2James LindsayVan Diemen RF9113-
811A-6Matt GidmanVan Diemen RF0313-
99B-3Steve BodrugVan Diemen RF9313-
1013A-7Connor WaglandPiper DL713-
1110A-8Keith LobbanVan Diemen RF9413-
127B-4Mike LeeVan Diemen RF9213-
1320B-5Bill TebbuttVan Diemen RF9113-
1414A-9Alexander ZellerVan Diemen RF0013-
1517B-6Mike DoddVan Diemen RF9413-
1616A-10Michael StewartPiper DF513-
1719A-11Ross SmithVan Diemen RF0112-
1821B-7Michael McGregorLola T-44012-
1915A-12Duncan MurdochVan Diemen RF9910-
203A-13Zachary VanierMygale SJ1413Penalty
2118B-8Bruce KitchenVan Diemen RF925Did Not Finish

12A-1Kellen RitterSpectrum 01415-
24A-2Zachary VanierMygale SJ1415-
33A-3Jake CraigPiper DL715-
46A-4Logan CussonPiper DL715-
57A-5Shane JantziVan Diemen RF0215-
69B-1Graham LobbanVan Diemen RF9415-
75B-2James LindsayVan Diemen RF9115-
812B-3Steve BodrugVan Diemen RF9315-
910A-6Matt GidmanVan Diemen RF0315-
1014A-7Keith LobbanVan Diemen RF9415-
1111A-8Connor WaglandPiper DL715-
1215B-4Bill TebbuttVan Diemen RF9115-
1317B-5Mike DoddVan Diemen RF9415-
1413B-6Mike LeeVan Diemen RF9215-
1516A-9Alexander ZellerVan Diemen RF0014-
1619A-10Ross SmithVan Diemen RF0114-
1718A-11Michael StewartPiper DF511-
1820B-7Bruce KitchenVan Diemen RF929-
-1ASpike KohlbeckerSpectrum 014-Did Not Start
-8BMichael McGregorLola T-440-Did Not Start
-21ADuncan MurdochVan Diemen RF99-Did Not Start

11A-1Kellen RitterSpectrum 01415-
22A-2Zachary VanierMygale SJ1415-
33A-3Jake CraigPiper DL715-
4-A-4Spike KohlbeckerSpectrum 01415-
55A-5Shane JantziVan Diemen RF0215-
66B-1Graham LobbanVan Diemen RF9415-
77B-2James LindsayVan Diemen RF9115-
84A-6Logan CussonPiper DL715-
98B-3Steve BodrugVan Diemen RF9315-
1011A-7Connor WaglandPiper DL715-
1110A-8Keith LobbanVan Diemen RF9415-
1213B-4Mike DoddVan Diemen RF9415-
1314B-5Mike LeeVan Diemen RF9215-
1417A-9Michael StewartPiper DF515-
1516A-10Ross SmithVan Diemen RF0114-
169A-11Matt GidmanVan Diemen RF0313-
1718B-6Bruce KitchenVan Diemen RF923Did Not Finish
1815A-12Alexander ZellerVan Diemen RF002Did Not Finish
-12BBill TebbuttVan Diemen RF91-Did Not Start
--BMichael McGregorLola T-440-Did Not Start
--ADuncan MurdochVan Diemen RF99-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.