The Cooper Tires USF2000 National Championship powered by Mazda, made its debut in 2010. The series serves as the first rung on Mazda's Road to Indy and is sanctioned by IndyCar. The program aims to provide a scholarship fund path to reach the IndyCar Series and the Indianapolis 500. The Road to Indy has attracted driving talent from all over the world. Last year's champion, Anthony Martin, is participating in the season's Star Mazda Championship.

This year the program offers over $511,000 in prizes and awards, with the USF2000 champion receiving a scholarship to advance to the Pro Mazda Championship presented by Cooper Tires.

In 2017, the series introduced the new Mazda-powered Tatuus USF-17. The Tatuus USF-17 is a full carbon and aluminum honeycomb monocoque chassis meeting FIA F4 safety standards, including side impact panels, front and rear impact structures. In addition to safety enhancements, the car includes a six-speed paddle shift gearbox and two-way adjustable shock absorbers. The Tatuus also uses thirteen-inch slick and rain tires manufactured by Cooper Tires, which are mounted on American Racing wheels.

USF2000 cars are powered by a Mazda MZR engine. The power plant is a four-cylinder, double-overhead camshaft, fuel-injected, two-liter motor which produces 175-horsepower and 160-foot pounds of torque. The motors are prepared and sealed by Elite Engines.

The National Class has returned for teams that own the Van Diemen DP08 chassis. Drivers competing in this class will have their point structure.

In addition to Mazda and Cooper Tires, series partners include Allied Building Products, Elite Engines, Carl Haas Automobile Imports, VP Racing Fuels, Performance Friction Brakes, Cosworth, Tilton, Dynamic Suspensions and Racing Communications.

The 2017 schedule consists of fourteen races over eight race weekends on eight tracks – two street circuits, one oval, and five permanent road courses.

  • March 11-12 - Streets of St. Petersburg
  • April 21-22 - Barber Motorsports Park
  • May 12-13 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • June 23-24 - Road America
  • July 9 - Iowa Speedway
  • July 16-17 - Toronto
  • July 28-29 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • September 2 - Watkins Glen International

Rounds twelve and thirteen of the 2017 Cooper Tires USF2000 National Championship powered by Mazda were held at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Drivers competed in two races around the 2.258-mile thirteen-turn road course.

After a disappointing round eleven in Toronto, Oliver Askew was looking to get his title aspirations back on track. Driving the No. 3 Cape Motorsports Tatuus USF-17, Askew qualified on the pole for Saturday’s event. He led the race flag-to-flag and scored his seventh win of 2017. The next day, Askew started fourth. He advanced in the race but lost positions when encountering problems with the steering rack. He finished fourth.
Parker Thompson entered Mid-Ohio with a pair of victories at Toronto. While driving the No. 90 Exclusive Autosport Tatuus USF-17, Thompson was third fastest while qualifying for the weekend’s first contest. On lap-3, he made his move on Lucas Kohl, which was rewarded with a runner-up result. On Sunday, he qualified on the pole and was the first competitor to cross the finish line for his third win of 2017.
Championship contender Rinus Veekay drove the No. 21 Pabst Racing Tatuus USF-17. After the Toronto weekend, the points race became tighter, with Veekay moving to within eighteen markers of the leader, Oliver Askew. He qualified fourth for race one at Mid-Ohio but finished third, with Askew taking the win. In the finale, Veekay finished ahead of Askew with a second-place result and narrowed the gap to thirteen points.
Like the points leader, Oliver Askew, Kaylen Frederick had mixed results at Toronto. Frederick qualified fourth for race one but retired on lap-2. The next day, he finished on the podium. At Mid-Ohio, Frederick was gridded eighth for Saturday’s contest and finished seventh. In the finale, he found the podium once again. Federick started and finished third in the No. 81 Team Pelfrey Tatuus USF-17.
David Malukas didn’t make his series debut until rounds five and six at Indianapolis. His next outing was at Road America, where he finished second. Malukas skipped Iowa and rejoined the series at Mid-Ohio. Difficulty in qualifying saw him start on the last row for round twelve. During the race, Malukas advanced eleven positions and finished sixth. For his efforts, he earned the Tilton Hard Charger Award.

11Oliver AskewCape MotorsportsTatuus USF-1721-
23Parker ThompsonExclusive AutosportTatuus USF-1721-
34Rinus VeeKayPabst RacingTatuus USF-1721-
42Lucas KohlPabst RacingTatuus USF-1721-
57Calvin MingPabst RacingTatuus USF-1721-
617David MalukasBN RacingTatuus USF-1721-
78Kaylen FrederickTeam PelfreyTatuus USF-1721-
85Kory EndersDEForce RacingTatuus USF-1721-
913Darren KeaneNewman Wachs RacingTatuus USF-1721-
1018Dev GoreExclusive AutosportTatuus USF-1721-
1119Devin WojcikArmsUp MotorsportsTatuus USF-1721-
1212Andrés GutiérrezDEForce RacingTatuus USF-1721-
1314Colin KaminskyJohn Cummiskey RacingTatuus USF-1721-
1416Jayson ClunieExclusive AutosportTatuus USF-1721-
1515Bruna TomaselliArmsUp MotorsportsTatuus USF-1721-
1611Jacob AbelNewman Wachs RacingTatuus USF-1721-
179Robert MegennisTeam PelfreyTatuus USF-1721-
186Phillippe DenesTeam PelfreyTatuus USF-1721-

11Parker ThompsonExclusive AutosportTatuus USF-1721-
22Rinus VeeKayPabst RacingTatuus USF-1721-
33Kaylen FrederickTeam PelfreyTatuus USF-1721-
44Oliver AskewCape MotorsportsTatuus USF-1721-
55Calvin MingPabst RacingTatuus USF-1721-
68David MalukasBN RacingTatuus USF-1721-
712Robert MegennisTeam PelfreyTatuus USF-1721-
84Lucas KohlPabst RacingTatuus USF-1721-
913Devin WojcikArmsUp MotorsportsTatuus USF-1721-
106Andrés GutiérrezDEForce RacingTatuus USF-1721-
1118Dev GoreExclusive AutosportTatuus USF-1721-
1216Jacob AbelNewman Wachs RacingTatuus USF-1721-
1317Bruna TomaselliArmsUp MotorsportsTatuus USF-1721-
1419Jayson ClunieExclusive AutosportTatuus USF-1721-
1511Darren KeaneNewman Wachs RacingTatuus USF-1721-
1614Colin KaminskyJohn Cummiskey RacingTatuus USF-1720Did Not Finish
1715Phillippe DenesTeam PelfreyTatuus USF-1720Did Not Finish
1810Kory EndersDEForce RacingTatuus USF-1718Did Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022

Return to home page.