The Nissan Micra Cup series made its debut in 2015. The championship was designed to provide racers with the most affordable new race vehicle in Canada. To keep costs down and to ensure all the Micras were equal the cars prepared by a single performance shop – Motorsports in Action.

The Micra is powered by a 1.6-liter DOHC 4-cylinder engine which produces 109-horsepower. For safety purposes, much of the interior (seats, door panels, etc.) is removed and a safety cage, five-point harness, window net and FIA-approved racing seat are installed. To improve the performance of the cars they are fitted with a racing suspension kit, high-performance brake pads, Pirelli racing tires and modified exhaust system.

In the first season, there was six race weekends - all being held in Quebec. The popularity of the series grew and in 2016, there were three events held in Ontario and five in Quebec. The third season started in May on the Victoria Day Weekend at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. This event was followed by races at Circuit Mont-Tremblant in May and July. The championship then competes at the Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres. The penultimate round is at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park and the season finale will be at Circuit Mont-Tremblant.

Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (CTMP) would host the first two rounds of the 2017 Nissan Micra Cup series. The races were 30-minutes in length around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

Race one of the 2017 season and the pace car leads the field of twenty-two starters through Canadian Tire Motorsport Park’s Moss Corner. On the pole is Stefan Gauthier in the Sorel-Tracy Nissan Micra. Behind Gauthier are Kevin King, Keishi Ayukai and eventual winner Jean-Michel Isabelle.
Jean-Michel Isabelle drove the No. 86 Perry Performance / Hull Nissan Micra. Isabelle dominated the weekend – winning rounds one and two. The Gatineau, Quebec driver’s victories did not come easy as he started from the fourth and fifth grid positions. Isabelle left Canadian Tire Motorsport Park with a comfortable points lead.
On the second lap of the weekend’s first race, six place qualifier, Brian Makse and the pole-sitter, Stefan Gauthier made contact entering Moss Corner. The incident caused Gauthier to spin but the consequences were more serious for Makse as his car rolled. Neither driver was injured as the result of the crash.
Sunday’s event was contested in very tough conditions. Rain started earlier in the day and got progressively worse. The Nissan Micra race preceded the Pirelli World Challenge SprintX event which was canceled. Competitors, Luc Richard (26) and Peter Dyck (73) survived the thirty-minute run.
Defending champion, Xavier Coupal two wheels it through Moss Corner during qualifying. Coupal driving Équipe Albi Total sponsored Micra started the season’s first race in fifth place and finished fourth. On Sunday, the champ, qualified second and was in the runner-up position at the conclusion of the contest.
2017 was the third season, for former Canadian Karting champion, Kevin King. King finished eleventh in the series the first year and was third in the Driver’s standings in 2016. He was in fine form at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park and recorded two podium finishes – second on Saturday and third on Sunday.
The series inaugural champion was Olivier Bedard and in 2016, he was the runner-up. Bedard kicked off the season by starting and finishing seventh. On Sunday, he was gridded third and was in fifth place at the checkered flag.
Qualifying on the pole for the season’s opening event was Stefan Gauthier. However, Gauthier collided with Brian Maske on the second lap and was excluded from the results. For his part in Saturday’s incident, he was required to start from pit lane the following day. On Sunday, Gauthier passed ten cars on the way to a ninth finish.
The series has also attracted international competitors. One such driver is, Keishi Ayukai from Queensland, Australia. The Queenslander had a good outing capturing the final spot on the podium on Saturday and finishing fourth the following day.

14Jean-Michel IsabelleNissan MicraPerry Performance / Hull Nissan11
22Kevin KingNissan MicraSorel-Tracy Nissan11
33Keishi AyukaiNissan MicraUnicorn Motors Ltd.11
45Xavier CoupalNissan MicraÉquipe Albi Total11
58Normand BoyerNissan MicraBevédère Nissan11
69Valérie LimogesNissan MicraTotal Racing Team11
77Olivier BédardNissan MicraÉquipe Albi Total11
813Marc-Antoine CardinNissan MicraSpeed & Sport11
911Edward WongNissan MicraAlta Group Nissan11
1012Peter DyckNissan MicraNRW Rennsport11
1118Nicolas BarretteNissan MicraBarrette Racing11
1221Martin BarretteNissan MicraBarrette Racing11
1315Alex P HabrichNissan MicraUnicorn Motors Ltd.11
1416Victor SimoneNissan MicraAlta Group Nissan11
1522Vincent DoyleNissan MicraMotorsport Agency11
1619Austin RileyNissan MicraAzure Racing11
1722Michael HabrichNissan MicraUnicorn Motors Ltd.11
1817Luc RichardNissan MicraRichard Motorsport11
1910Frédéric BernierNissan MicraHi-Fi Racing7
206Brian MakseNissan MicraVelocity BHP1
2114Samuel RoweNissan MicraNissan Gabriel RacingExcluded
221Stefan GauthierNissan MicraSorel-Tracy NissanExcluded

15Jean-Michel IsabelleNissan MicraPerry Performance / Hull Nissan16
24Xavier CoupalNissan MicraÉquipe Albi Total16
32Kevin KingNissan MicraSorel-Tracy Nissan16
47Keishi AyukaiNissan MicraUnicorn Motors Ltd.16
53Olivier BédardNissan MicraÉquipe Albi Total16
68Normand BoyerNissan MicraBevédère Nissan16
76Valérie LimogesNissan MicraTotal Racing Team16
810Marc-Antoine CardinNissan MicraSpeed & Sport16
91Stefan GauthierNissan MicraSorel-Tracy Nissan16
1015Luc RichardNissan MicraRichard Motorsport16
1114Nicolas BarretteNissan MicraBarrette Racing16
1222Vincent DoyleNissan MicraMotorsport Agency16
1317Peter DyckNissan MicraNRW Rennsport16
1419Victor SimoneNissan MicraAlta Group Nissan16
1518Austin RileyNissan MicraAzure Racing16
1616Martin BarretteNissan MicraBarrette Racing16
1720Alex P HabrichNissan MicraUnicorn Motors Ltd.15
1821Michael HabrichNissan MicraUnicorn Motors Ltd.15
199Edward WongNissan MicraAlta Group Nissan13
2011Brian MakseNissan MicraVelocity BHPDid Not Start
2112Samuel RoweNissan MicraNissan Gabriel RacingDid Not Start
2213Frédéric BernierNissan MicraHi-Fi RacingDid Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017

Return to home page.