The Battery Tender Global MX-5 Cup presented by BFGoodrich Tires is in its twelfth season. This is a spec series for Mazda’s MX-5 model. The cars are the fourth generation Miata - produced in 2016 and 2017.

The MX-5 Cup race cars are prepared to series standards by Long Road Racing. The process includes disassembly of the car, welding in a roll cage and the addition of more than 250 motorsports-components. To ensure parity, the SKYACTIV 2.0-liter engine, ECU, six-speed transmission and the limited-slip differential are sealed. The cars can be purchased from Mazda Motorsports for $58,900 USD.

The 2017 championship is contested at six different race tracks – Barber Motorsports Park, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Road America, Streets of Toronto, Watkins Glen International and the finale at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. Each race weekend includes two forty-five minute contests.

And, to motivate drivers and advance their racing career the Global MX-5 Cup champion earns a $200,000 scholarship.

For the first time, the Battery Tender Global MX-5 Cup drivers would compete at Toronto’s Exhibition Place. Two forty-five minute races would take place on the 2.82 kilometers (1.755-mile) eleven turn temporary street course.

Round seven’s Global MX-5 Cup podium. The winner, Robert Stout stands on top of the rostrum. This was Stout’s second win of the season – the rookie’s first victory came at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. To the left of Stout is the series point’s leader and runner-up, Patrick Gallagher. Completing the podium is third place finisher and another rookie, Bryan Ortiz.
A series rookie but an experienced racer, Robert Stout set the sixth fastest time during qualifying. Driving for the McCumbee McAleer Racing team, Stout was able to move from sixth to third on the opening lap. With ten-minutes remaining in the contest he was second and passed the race leader, Bryan Ortiz for the victory. The following day Stout started fourth but an incident at the start and pit-lane speed violation dropped him out of contention.
In qualifying, Patrick Gallagher earned his second pole of the season - but it was not without drama. Entering turn three after his fastest lap, Gallagher was hit Luke Oxner. The car suffered body damage to the rear but the McCumbee McAleer Racing team was able to make repairs. In the weekend’s first race, his lost a position to his teammate, Robert Stout and took the runner-up spot. On Sunday, Gallagher was on the top step of the podium.
Matt Cresci, set his quickest qualifying time following the red flag period. With only three-minutes left in the session, the driver of the No. 51 MX-5 turned the third fastest time. In the Saturday event, Cresci was passed by a hard-charging, Robert Stout and finished fourth. The following day, he started third but when Bryan Ortiz had a mechanical issue, Cresci inherited second. He was able to maintain his position and recorded his best finish of the season.
The pace lap for race two and the drivers enter corner nine. Starting positions for the weekend’s second event are determined by a competitor’s second best time during the qualifying session. On the pole, is Patrick Gallagher in the No. 29 McCumbee McAleer Racing MX-5. Sharing the front row with Gallagher is his teammate and Saturday’s winner, Robert Stout. A total of seventeen drivers would start round eight.
Defending series champion, Nathanial Sparks qualified fifth. Second in the driver standings, Sparks won the previous round at Road America. During round seven, he ran in the lead group which consisted of six cars running nose-to-tail. Sparks got by Tom Martin but was passed by the eventual winner, Robert Stout and finished fifth. He was gridded sixth for round eighth and battled with Luke Oxner and Tom Martin. At the checkered flag, Sparks was in third.
Flight cancellations caused Bryan Ortiz to miss the first practice session and he arrived only ten-minutes before the second. Despite losing valuable track, Ortiz driving the Copeland Motorsports MX-5 qualified second just 0.1588-seconds slower than the pole-sitter, Patrick Gallagher. In Saturday’s contest, he lost a position to the race winner, Robert Stout and captured the final spot on the podium. During race two, Ortiz had a mechanical issue and finished eleventh.
Todd Lamb’s weekend started with lots of promise. The 2009 series champion was the quickest in the first practice session and dropped to third in the second. During qualifying, Lamb’s lap times improved but so did that of the competition – he started seventh. In round seven, he made his way to first place but a late in the race incident with Nathanial Sparks ended his day. Lamb’s car suffered severe damage and did not start race two.
The top three finishers for round eight of the 2017 Global MX-5 Cup season. In the center is the winner Patrick Gallagher who scored his fifth win of the year. Standing to Gallagher’s right is runner-up and rookie, Matt Cresci driver of the Slipstream Performance Mazda MX-5. Rounding out the podium is the series defending champion, Nathanial Sparks.

16Robert StoutMazda MX-524-
21Patrick GallagherMazda MX-524-
32Bryan OrtizMazda MX-524-
43Matt CresciMazda MX-524-
55Nathanial SparksMazda MX-524-
64Tom Martin IIIMazda MX-524-
710Max FaulknerMazda MX-524-
88Luke OxnerMazda MX-524-
99Keith JensenMazda MX-524-
1013Alex BachouraMazda MX-524-
1116Ashton HarrisonMazda MX-524-
1214Nick EvancichMazda MX-523-
137Todd LambMazda MX-520Contact
1415Patrick WilmotMazda MX-512Contact
1511Hernan PalermoMazda MX-50Contact
1612Zach LeeMazda MX-50Contact
1717Joe DaSilvaMazda MX-50Contact

11Patrick GallagherMazda MX-526-
23Matt CresciMazda MX-526-
36Nathanial SparksMazda MX-526-
48Max FaulknerMazda MX-526-
59Luke OxnerMazda MX-526-
67Tom Martin IIIMazda MX-526-
715Nick EvancichMazda MX-526-
813Zach LeeMazda MX-526-
914Patrick WilmotMazda MX-526-
1016Ashton HarrisonMazda MX-526-
112Bryan OrtizMazda MX-526-
124Robert StoutMazda MX-525-
1310Hernan PalermoMazda MX-525-
1411Keith JensenMazda MX-523Contact
1517Joe DaSilvaMazda MX-514Mechanical
1612Alex BachouraMazda MX-51Contact
175Todd LambMazda MX-50Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017

Return to home page.