The Infiniti / Indy Pro Series made its debut in mid-2002 with an inaugural season of seven races run in conjunction with the Indy Car Racing Series. In 2008 the championship was renamed the Firestone Indy Lights Series when Firestone tires became the primary sponsor. In 2014, Cooper Tires replaced Firestone as the sole tire supplier for the series. This also resulted in a name change, and it is now titled Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires.

The series is the third and final step on the Mazda Road to Indy. The Mazda Road to Indy is the only driver development program in the world to feature a champion's scholarship at every level to advance to the next step on the ladder. The Indy Lights champion is awarded a scholarship package of nearly $1 million to assist in the ascent to the IndyCar Series. In addition, to the healthy prize fund, competitors also benefit from television coverage on the NBC Sports Network.

The sixteen-race schedule kicked off at Saint Petersburg and concluded in September at Watkins Glen International.

  • Saint Petersburg 100 - 1 - Streets of St. Petersburg
  • Saint Petersburg 100 - 2 - Streets of St. Petersburg
  • Legacy Indy Lights 100 - 1 - Barber Motorsports Park
  • Legacy Indy Lights 100 - 2 - Barber Motorsports Park
  • Grand Prix of Indianapolis - 1 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • Grand Prix of Indianapolis - 2 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • Freedom 100 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • Grand Prix of Road America - 1 - Road America
  • Grand Prix of Road America - 2 - Road America
  • Mazda Iowa 100 - Iowa Speedway
  • Grand Prix of Toronto - 1 - Exhibition Place, Toronto
  • Grand Prix of Toronto - 2 - Exhibition Place, Toronto
  • Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Mid-Ohio - 1 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Mid-Ohio - 2 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • Illinois 100 - Gateway Motorsports Park
  • Grand Prix of Watkins Glen - Watkins Glen International

Of significant news in the off-season was the replacement of the Infiniti-powered Dallara IPS. Since 2002, drivers have competed in the Dallara IPS, but in 2015 they would be using the Dallara IL-15 and a new engine. The open-wheel, single-seat racer has a ground-effect underbody and outboard wings front and rear. The monocoque chassis is constructed using carbon fiber honeycomb composite. The Dallara has a minimum weight of 1,400 pounds, which includes all lubricants and coolants used during the event, but does not include fuel or the driver.

COOPER/INDY LIGHTS racing tires are mounted on Motegi aluminum wheels - 15-inch diameter x 10 front and 15-inch diameter x 14 rear.

The car is powered by a four-cylinder 2.0-liter turbocharged Mazda AER P63 engine developed by Advanced Engine Research. The motor produces 450 horsepower with a push-to-pass feature which increases the horsepower by an additional fifty. The Dallara IL-15 is fitted with a six-speed sequential transmission.

The new package is capable of 200 mph.

Rounds eleven and twelve of the Indy Lights series were conducted at Toronto's Exhibition Place. Drivers would compete in two contests around the eleven-turn 1.755-mile temporary street circuit.

The points leader, Kyle Kaiser, made his Indy Lights series debut in 2015. Last season, he collected two victories and finished third in the championship. Kaiser's position in the standings could be attributed to his consistency. He won at Indianapolis, but more importantly, Kaiser had completed every race lap. Toronto would be his best weekend of the season with two wins which padded his championship lead.
Canadian Zachary Claman DeMelo was in his second season of the Indy Lights series. Claman DeMelo entered round eleven seventh in the points. Driving the No. 13 Dallara IL-15, he qualified third fastest for Saturday's contest and finished second after Matheus Leist crashed. The next day, Claman DeMelo started fifth and finished third. His performance during the event moved him from seventh to fourth in the standings.
Rookie Aaron Telitz won last year's Pro Mazda Championship. This season he was driving the No. 9 Belardi Auto Racing Dallara DL-15. Telitz made an impressive debut, starting on the pole at Saint Petersburg and winning the race. In Toronto, he qualified a disappointing eleventh in race one but was able to finish fifth. On Sunday, Telitz started seventh and delivered an incredible drive to finish in the runner-up spot.
In his first year of Indy Lights, Santiago Urrutia collected four victories and was second in the championship. This season the driver of the No. 5 Arrow Exhaust Dallara IL-15 was struggling. He had four runner-up results but four finishes outside the top ten, one of which was an accident. In the first race at Toronto, Urrutia finished third after starting fifth. In the finale, he lost an engine and was credited with an eleventh-place result.
The round twelve podium for the Indy Lights championship at Toronto's Exhibition Place. In the center is the current points leader and race winner, Kyle Kaiser, from Juncos Racing. On the left side of the podium is the runner-up, Aaron Telitz. Completing the rostrum is Canadian Zachary Claman DeMelo, whose results during the weekend moved him from seventh in the championship standings to fourth.

11Kyle KaiserDallara IL-1535-
23Zachary Claman DeMeloDallara IL-1535-
35Santiago UrrutiaDallara IL-1535-
48Colton HertaDallara IL-1534-
511Aaron TelitzDallara IL-1534-
66Juan PiedrahitaDallara IL-1518-
713Nicolas DaperoDallara IL-1535-
87Neil AlbericoDallara IL-1535-
914Garth RickardsDallara IL-1534-
1012Ryan NormanDallara IL-1534-
119Shelby BlackstockDallara IL-1528-
124Dalton KellettDallara IL-1521Off Course
132Matheus LeistDallara IL-153Accident
1410Nico JaminDallara IL-153Accident

13Kyle KaiserDallara IL-1545-
27Aaron TelitzDallara IL-1545-
35Zachary Claman DeMeloDallara IL-1545-
48Juan PiedrahitaDallara IL-1545-
511Matheus LeistDallara IL-1545-
614Ryan NormanDallara IL-1545-
710Nicolas DaperoDallara IL-1545-
813Garth RickardsDallara IL-1544-
99Dalton KellettDallara IL-1544-
101Colton HertaDallara IL-1525Suspension
112Santiago UrrutiaDallara IL-1511Engine
124Nico JaminDallara IL-151Accident
136Shelby BlackstockDallara IL-151Accident
1412Neil AlbericoDallara IL-151Accident

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.