The 2017 Atlantic Championship is an open-wheel series for Formula Atlantic race cars organized by Formula Race Promotions. Formula Race Promotions was formed in 2006, with their race weekends sanctioned by USAC.

This most popular car in the Atlantic Championship Series is the Swift 016.a chassis. Swift Engineering introduced this model in 2006. The cars are powered by a 2.3-liter DOHC four-cylinder Mazda Cosworth MZR engine, which produces 300-horsepower. The transmission is a Swift/Hewland sequential shift with five forward speeds and a single reverse gear. Finally, Hoosier tires are mounted on 15" X10" front and 15" X14" rear wheels.

In addition to Hoosier Tires, the championship receives support from Mazda, Polestar Motor Racing, Anze Suspension, K-Hill Motorsports, Atlantic Creations, Robert Talbot and Mathisen Media.

The championship consists of seven doubleheader weekends, each contested on road courses. The season begins in April at Virginia International Raceway and ends with the final two races at New Jersey Motorsports Park.

  • April 27-30 - Virginia International Raceway
  • May 12-13 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • June 9-11 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • June 30-July 2 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • July 28-30 - Pittsburgh International Race Complex
  • August 25-27 - Summit Point
  • October 7-8 - New Jersey Motorsports Park

The 2017 Atlantic Championship Series opening rounds were held at Virginia International Raceway. Drivers would compete in two races around the seventeen-turn 3.270-mile road course.

Driving the No. 40 Polestar Motor Racing prepared Formula Atlantic Swift 016.a was Keith Grant. Grant was the 2015 series champion. He qualified on the outside of the front row for the season opener, but a late race caution allowed Grant to move from third to first-place and score the victory. The following day, he was gridded in the third position and earned the final spot on the podium.
Peter Portante moved to Formula Atlantic after finishing second in last season’s F1600 Championship Series. In the season opener, Portante started last. He maneuvered through the field and a late race caution allowed him to catch the leader, David Grant. Portante was unable to get by Grant and finished third. In race two, Portante qualified second and passed David Grant on the last lap to win by a margin of 0.053-seconds.
The 2012 series champion, David Grant, started on the Formula Atlantic pole in the season opener and appeared to have control of the contest until a late caution bunched the field. With four laps to go, the race restarted - while trying to hold off Peter Portante, he was passed by Keith Grant and finished second. The following day, Grant repeated his performance – he started first and finished in the runner-up spot.
The No. 34 Mazda-powered Swift 014.a was driven by Spencer Brockman. Brockman did not participate in the qualifying session for the season opener and started Saturday’s contest in the eleventh position. In the race, he finished tenth. During the second qualifying session, Brockman recorded the sixth fastest time. In the final event, he finished fourth after passing Jenna Grillo and the retirement of Richard Zober.
Richard Zober was back for another season of the Atlantic Championship Series, driving the No. 66 Comprent Motorsports prepared Swift 16.a. Last year, Zober finished fourth in the standings, with his best result being a third place at Road Atlanta. He started his 2017 campaign by qualifying sixth for round one and finishing in the fourth position. On Sunday, Zober started fourth but retired on lap-5.
Sunday’s Formula Atlantic podium at Virginia International Raceway. In the center is the race winner, Peter Portante, who drove the K-Hill Motorsports prepared Swift 016.a. Portante is flanked on the rostrum by the Polestar Racing Group teammates, Keith and David Grant. David, the 2012 Atlantic series champion, finished in the runner-up position. While Keith, who won the 2015 title, completed the rostrum.

12FAKeith GrantSwift 016.a / Mazda21-
21FADavid GrantSwift 016.a / Mazda21-
313FAPeter PortanteSwift 016.a / Mazda21-
46FARichard ZoberSwift 016.a / Mazda21-
59FALee AlexanderSwift 016.a / Mazda21-
610FALewis Cooper Jr.Swift 016.a / Mazda21-
78FABruce HamiltonSwift 014.a / Mazda21-
84FAJenna GrilloSwift 016.a / Mazda21-
95FABob CorlissSwift 014.a / Mazda21-
1011FASpencer BrockmanSwift 014.a / Mazda21-
113FAChris AshSwift 016.a / Mazda20-
127FABlake MountSwift 016.a / Mazda3Did Not Finish
1312FAMike JacquesSwift 016.a / Mazda1Did Not Finish

12FAPeter PortanteSwift 016.a / Mazda22-
21FADavid GrantSwift 016.a / Mazda22-
33FAKeith GrantSwift 016.a / Mazda22-
46FASpencer BrockmanSwift 014.a / Mazda22-
55FAJenna GrilloSwift 016.a / Mazda22-
69FALewis Cooper Jr.Swift 016.a / Mazda22-
77FABlake MountSwift 016.a / Mazda22-
812FAChris AshSwift 016.a / Mazda22-
910FAMike JacquesSwift 016.a / Mazda21-
1011FALee AlexanderSwift 016.a / Mazda21-
913FABob CorlissSwift 014.a / Mazda12-
104FARichard ZoberSwift 016.a / Mazda5Did Not Finish
118FABruce HamiltonSwift 014.a / Mazda4Did Not Finish

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.