The 2017 Formula 1600 Championship is an open-wheel series for Formula 1600 race cars organized by Formula Race Promotions. Formula Race Promotions was formed in 2006, with their race weekends being sanctioned by USAC.

This category of race car made its debut in England but quickly became popular internationally for its low cost and competitiveness. These single-seater, open-wheel cars were original referred to Formula Ford and powered by a four-cylinder 1600-cc Ford engine. The Ford motor has since been replaced by the Honda Fit engine. This 1.5-liter HPD Honda L15A7 motor produces approximately 120-horsepower. A mixture of European and North American chassis is used by competitors. Teams are required to use a spec Hoosier Racing Tire.

Series backing comes from Honda Racing, Hoosier Racing Tires, Williams Racing Development, Mathisen Media, Intercomp and Racing Electronics.

The championship consists of six tripleheader weekends plus a doubleheader at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. All events are contested on road courses. The season begins in April at Virginia International Raceway and ends with the final three races at New Jersey Motorsports Park.

  • April 27-30 - Virginia International Raceway
  • May 12-13 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • June 9-11 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • June 30-July 2 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • July 28-30 - Pittsburgh International Race Complex
  • August 25-27 - Summit Point
  • October 7-8 - New Jersey Motorsports Park

The first three rounds of the 2017 F1600 Championship Series was held at Virginia International Raceway. Drivers would compete on Virginia International Raceway’s seventeen-turn 3.270-mile road course.

Team Pelfrey driver, Jonathan Kotyk started sixth in the first Formula 1600 race of the 2017 season. Kotyk moved through the field and won by a margin of 0.02-seconds. In the second contest, he started fourth in the No. 81 Mygale and was leading on the last lap when he made contact with a slower car – he finished ninth. In the weekend’s final race, Kotyk took the checkered flag in second-place.
Qualifying seventh in the F1600 season opener was Zach Holden driving a Honda-powered Mygale prepared by K-Hill Motorsports. With three laps to go in race one, Holden caught the lead pack and finished second. An incident on the last lap of race two eliminated race leader, Jonathan Kotyk and allowed Holden to win. He scored a second victory in the weekend’s finale.
Jonathan Kotyk’s teammate was Matthew Cowley, who drove the No. 80 Team Pelfrey Mygale. The rookie qualified third for the season opener, but lost two positions and finished fifth. In the next contest, Cowley was gridded third and passed Lance Fenderson for a runner-up result. He ended the weekend by starting sixth but advanced during the race and finished in the third position.
Another newcomer to the F1600 Championship Series was Lance Fenderson. Fenderson joined K-Hill Motorsports driving the No. 23 Mygale. He qualified fourth fastest for the season’s first race and captured the final spot on the podium. Fenderson started on the outside of the front row for race two, but was passed by Matthew Cowley and collected another third place. He finished sixth in the finale.
Another member of the K-Hill Motorsports team was Yuven Sundaramoorthy. Sundaramoorthy piloted the No. 13 Mygale and qualified on the pole for race one. However, he encountered a problem and fell to a ninth place result. Sundaramoorthy started the second contest in the sixth position and crossed the finish line in fourth. He claimed another fourth place result in the final race of the event.

16F1600Jonathan KotykMygale / Honda14-
27F1600Zach HoldenMygale / Honda14-
34F1600Lance FendersonMygale / Honda14-
48F1600Joe ColasaccoVan Diemen / Honda14-
53F1600Matthew CowleyMygale / Honda14-
62F1600David OsborneMygale / Honda14-
710F1600Dexter CzubaSpectrum / Honda14-
811F1600Scott RubenzerSpectrum / Honda14-
91F1600Yuven SundaramoorthyMygale / Honda14-
1014F1600John DoleSpectrum / Honda14-
119F1600Joel HaasPiper / Honda14-
1213F1600Sam LockwoodSpectrum / Honda14-
1316F1600Mike ScanlanSpectrum / Honda14-
1412F1600Chris KierceVan Diemen / Honda13-
1515F1600Greg RiceReynard / Honda8-
165F1600Ryan BjerkeSpectrum / Honda4Did Not Finish
1717F1600Kenneth BoquillionMygale / Honda4Did Not Finish

11F1600Zach HoldenMygale / Honda14-
23F1600Matthew CowleyMygale / Honda14-
32F1600Lance FendersonMygale / Honda14-
46F1600Yuven SundaramoorthyMygale / Honda14-
58F1600Joe ColasaccoVan Diemen / Honda14-
610F1600David OsborneMygale / Honda14-
711F1600Scott RubenzerSpectrum / Honda14-
814F1600Sam LockwoodSpectrum / Honda14-
96F1600Jonathan KotykMygale / Honda13-
105F1600Ryan BjerkeSpectrum / Honda13-
119F1600Joel HaasPiper / Honda12-
1217F1600Kenneth BoquillionMygale / Honda12-
1312F1600John DoleSpectrum / Honda4Did Not Finish
1416F1600Greg RiceReynard / Honda3Did Not Finish
157F1600Dexter CzubaSpectrum / Honda0Did Not Finish
1613F1600Mike ScanlanSpectrum / Honda0Did Not Finish
1715F1600Chris KierceVan Diemen / Honda0Did Not Finish

12F1600Zach HoldenMygale / Honda14-
28F1600Jonathan KotykMygale / Honda14-
36F1600Matthew CowleyMygale / Honda14-
45F1600Yuven SundaramoorthyMygale / Honda14-
53F1600Joe ColasaccoVan Diemen / Honda14-
67F1600Lance FendersonMygale / Honda14-
710F1600Joel HaasPiper / Honda14-
81F1600David OsborneMygale / Honda14-
912F1600John DoleSpectrum / Honda14-
1016F1600Mike ScanlanSpectrum / Honda14-
119F1600Scott RubenzerSpectrum / Honda14-
124F1600Ryan BjerkeSpectrum / Honda14-
1311F1600Sam LockwoodSpectrum / Honda8-
-13F1600Kenneth BoquillionMygale / Honda-Did Not Start
-14F1600Greg RiceReynard / Honda-Did Not Start
-15F1600Dexter CzubaSpectrum / Honda-Did Not Start
-17F1600Chris KierceVan Diemen / Honda-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.