The Nissan Micra Cup series made its debut in 2015. The championship was designed to provide racers with the most affordable new race vehicle in Canada. To keep costs down and ensure all the Micras were equal, the cars are prepared by a single performance shop – Motorsports in Action.

The Micra is powered by a 1.6-liter DOHC 4-cylinder engine which produces 109-horsepower. For safety purposes, much of the interior (seats, door panels, etc.) is removed and a safety cage, five-point harness, window net and FIA-approved racing seat are installed. To improve the performance of the cars, they are fitted with a racing suspension kit, high-performance brake pads, Pirelli racing tires and a modified exhaust system.

In the first season, there were six race weekends - all being held in Quebec. The popularity of the series grew and in 2016, there were three race weekends held in Ontario and five in Quebec, each of which were doubleheaders. The second season starts in mid-May at Calabogie Motorsport Park. This event was followed by the first of three visits to Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant. The series stays in Quebec for races at Autodrome St-Eustache for rounds five and six. The championship then competes for the first time at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park during the Mobil 1 SportsCar Grand Prix. Teams return to Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant in late July. Next on the calendar is the historic Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres. The series makes its second visit to Canadian Tire Motorsport Park for rounds thirteen and fourteen. Champions are crowned in the final weekend of competition at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant.

The 2016 Nissan Micra Cup’s penultimate event was held at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park during the Chevrolet Silverado 250 Weekend. Drivers would compete in two thirty-minute heat races around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

A field of twenty-six drivers enters Canadian Tire Motorsport Park’s turn ten for the start of round fourteen for the 2016 Nissan Micra Cup. On the pole is the current points leader, Xavier Coupal, in the No. 572 Albi Nissan sponsored Nissan Micra. Sharing the front row with Coupal is last season’s champion and title contender, Olivier Bedard. Row two is occupied by Nic Hammann and Kevin King.
Leading the championship hunt by twenty-nine markers heading into the rounds at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park was Xavier Coupal. Coupal qualified fourth fastest for Saturday’s contest in the No. 572 Nissan Micra. He moved up the order during the race and by the halfway point Coupal, grabbed the lead and victory. In the finale, an incident on lap-1 forced Coupal to retire and with it, he was now second in the standings.
After four podium results in 2016, Stefan Rzadzinski found the top step at the rostrum in round eleven at Trois-Rivieres. Driving the No. 69 Motorsports in Action Nissan Micra, Rzadzinski started the weekend’s first contest in the eleventh position but retired on lap-2. On Sunday, he redeemed himself. Rzadzinski was gridded seventh but charged through the field and took the lead and win with three laps remaining in the race.
The reigning Nissan Micra Cup champion, Olivier Bedard, entered the Canadian Tire Motorsport Park event second in the title chase. Bedard put the No. 1 Albi Nissan sponsored Nissan Micra on the pole for round thirteen and led the race until lap-7 when he was passed by Xavier Coupal. In the final race of the weekend, he started and finished second. However, Coupal’s retirement gave Bedard the points lead.
The No. 2 Nissan Micra was driven by American Nic Hammann. Hammann was a successful candidate from the Nissan GT Academy for Gamers. His record entering the penultimate weekend included two podium results. Hammann was the sixth fastest in the qualifying session for round thirteen. Steady progress during the race resulted in his third rostrum of 2016. On Sunday, Hammann started third but finished fifteenth.
Valerie Limoges was gridded fifth for the start of Saturday’s race at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. The driver of the No. 4 H. Gregoire Nissan sponsored Nissan Micra moved to fourth place before disappearing from the lap chart. Limoges left impound early and was disqualified. In the finale, she started in the fifth position and passed Aaron Povoledo late in the contest to secure the final spot on the podium.

14Xavier CoupalNissan MicraÉquipe Albi Total14
21Olivier BedardNissan MicraÉquipe Albi Total14
36Nic HammannNissan MicraAlbi Nissan14
49Stephane GauthierNissan MicraSorel-Tracy Nissan14
514Brian MakseNissan MicraGuelph & Waterloo Nissan14
610Pierre ClavetNissan MicraHull Nissan14
78Normand BoyerNissan MicraAlbi Nissan14
83Marc-Antoine DemersNissan MicraGT Academy Global14
97Method TopolnikNissan MicraAzure Synoptic Racing14
1012Aaron PovoledoNissan MicraTotal Canada14
1113Chris SahakianNissan MicraTeam United Auto14
12-Valerie ChaissonNissan MicraLes Blocs Normand Inc.14
1315Martin GrayNissan MicraAlta Group Nissan14
1416Mario BerthiaumeNissan MicraMB Performance14
152Kevin KingNissan MicraSorel-Tracy Nissan14
1620Edward WongNissan MicraAlta Group Nissan14
1719Peter DyckNissan MicraNRW Rennsport14
1821Lindsay RiceNissan MicraTeam United Auto14
1917Alex HabrichNissan MicraUnicorn Motorsports14
2024Ashley SahakianNissan MicraTeam United Auto14
2122Preet BanerjeeNissan MicraNissan Canada Media Car14
2225Chuck KaiserNissan MicraNissan Canada Media Car14
2323Craig Willoughby SR.Nissan MicraLloyd's Laboratories14
2418Yves AubeNissan MicraVal-d'Or Nissan11
2511Stefan RzadzinskiNissan MicraAlbi Nissan2
-5Valerie LimogesNissan MicraMotorsports in Action9

17Stefan RzadzinskiNissan MicraAlbi Nissan15
22Olivier BedardNissan MicraÉquipe Albi Total15
35Valerie LimogesNissan MicraMotorsports in Action15
46Aaron PovoledoNissan MicraTotal Canada15
54Kevin KingNissan MicraSorel-Tracy Nissan15
610Marc-Antoine DemersNissan MicraGT Academy Global15
78Normand BoyerNissan MicraAlbi Nissan15
89Stephane GauthierNissan MicraSorel-Tracy Nissan15
912Chris SahakianNissan MicraTeam United Auto15
1014Pierre ClavetNissan MicraHull Nissan15
1116Martin GrayNissan MicraAlta Group Nissan15
1215Brian MakseNissan MicraGuelph & Waterloo Nissan15
1321Edward WongNissan MicraAlta Group Nissan15
1417Mario BerthiaumeNissan MicraMB Performance15
153Nic HammannNissan MicraAlbi Nissan15
1618Yves AubeNissan MicraVal-d'Or Nissan15
1720Lindsay RiceNissan MicraTeam United Auto15
1822Alex HabrichNissan MicraUnicorn Motorsports15
1919Peter DyckNissan MicraNRW Rennsport15
2023Preet BanerjeeNissan MicraNissan Canada Media Car15
2124Ashley SahakianNissan MicraTeam United Auto15
2225Craig Willoughby SR.Nissan MicraLloyd's Laboratories15
2326Chuck KaiserNissan MicraNissan Canada Media Car15
2411Method TopolnikNissan MicraAzure Synoptic Racing12
2513Valerie ChaissonNissan MicraLes Blocs Normand Inc.10
261Xavier CoupalNissan MicraÉquipe Albi Total1

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017

Return to home page.