The 2016 Toyo Tires F1600 Championship schedule consists of six weekends. Unlike previous years each event would be a tripleheader.

The season kicks off in May at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (CTMP) during the BEMC Spring Trophy Races. In June, the series returns to CTMP as a support event for the VARAC Canadian Historic Grand Prix event. In mid-July, competitors race at Shannonville Motorsport Park during CTCC Summer Challenge weekend. Then the Toyo Tires F1600 Championship makes its third of four stops at CTMP for the BARC Canadian Touring Trophy races. In late August, teams travel to Calabogie Motorsports Park for rounds thirteen, fourteen and fifteen. The BEMC Indian Summer Races is the series’ final weekend of competition and determines class champions.

Series entrants are also eligible to participate in the Formula 1600 Super Series, which includes drivers from Quebec. Points toward the Super Series championship are awarded at four events.

  • Canadian Grand Prix – Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve
  • VARAC Canadian Historic Grand Prix – Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
  • Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres – Trois-Rivieres
  • Ted Powell Races – Calabogie Motorsport Park

The single-seater, open-wheel race cars in the championship are powered by one of two engine options - a four-cylinder, 1600-cc Ford engine or the 1.5-liter HPD Honda L15A7. Both motors produce approximately 120-horsepower. A mixture of European and North American chassis is used by competitors. Minimum vehicle weight is determined by the suspension design and ranges from 1050 to 1125-lbs. Teams are required to use a spec tire – the Toyo Proxes R888.

Drivers collect championship points in one of two groups.

  • F1600A – This category is for newer chassis’ built between 1995 and 2014.
  • F1600B – This group is for cars constructed between 1994 and older with the Ford engine.

The manufacture date for the individual car and not the model is used to determine the year split and whether a vehicle is categorized as F1600A or F1600B.

Rounds seven, eight and nine for the 2016 Toyo Tires F1600 Championship were held at Shannonville Motorsport Park during the CTCC Summer Challenge. Competitors would race in three heats around the 2.47-kilometer Pro-Track layout.

It was a memorable event for rookie Roman De Angelis as he earned his first Toyo Tires F1600 Championship victory. De Angelis qualified third fastest for race one and followed Michael Adams to the checkered flag. However, Adams was penalized two positions for avoidable contact and De Angelis inherited the win. On Sunday, the driver of the No. 4 Brian Graham Racing Piper DL7 earned second and third-place finishes.
Graham Lobban was entered in the opening weekend of the Toyo Tires F1600 Championship. In his first race of the season, Lobban captured the F1600B class win and would score another victory before the Shannonville weekend. He qualified fourth overall in the No. 12 Van Diemen RF94 for round seven and led the category flag-to-flag. On Sunday, Lobban started behind Stephen Adams but added two more wins to his total.
The F1600A championship points leader, Michael Adams, had six victories in as many starts. He qualified second for race one at Shannonville and moved into the race lead after contact with the pole-sitter, Trenton Estop. Adams was first across the finish line but penalized two positions for his part in the incident. The next day started with a win, but he was disqualified for a pass under the yellow in the finale.
Rookie Trenton Estep didn’t enter the series until round four at the VARAC Canadian Historic Grand Prix. Estep started on the pole for round seven at Shannonville Motorsport Park, but he retired after contact with Michael Adams. With repairs made for Sunday, he finished second in the morning contest. Estep crossed the finish line in second place in the finale, but he was awarded the victory after Michael Adams was disqualified.
Two-time Canadian Formula Ford champion Stephen Adams joined the 2016 Toyo Tires F1600 Championship driving the No. 59 Flagship Racing Services Van Diemen RF92. Adams qualified and finished behind the F1600B winner, Graham Lobban, on Saturday. He started in front of Lobban in the weekend’s final two contests but could not maintain the position and collected a pair of second-place results.
Formula Ford veteran Byron Leis’ racing resume dates back to the Bulova series in the 1970s. Leis joined the Toyo Tires F1600 Championship in 2013. His series high-point came earlier this season when he won the F1600B category in round one at the BEMC Spring Trophy Races. Driving the No. 54 SPH Engineering Reynard 92SF, Leis earned a third and two fourth-place finishes in his category at Shannonville Motorsport Park.

13A-1Roman De AngelisPiper DL719-
24B-1Graham LobbanVan Diemen RF9419-
35B-2Stephen AdamsVan Diemen RF9219-
47A-2Ben HurstPiper DL719-
52A-3Michael AdamsMygale SJ1319-
68A-4Danby CrowderVan Diemen RF0519-
79A-5Mike LeeLola T-540E18-
810B-3Byron LeisReynard 92SF18-
96B-4Keith LobbanVan Diemen RF9418-
1013A-6Sean TomaselliVan Diemen RF0117-
1112B-5Bruce KitchenVan Diemen RF926Did Not Finish
1211B-6Ross SmithReynard 83SF4Did Not Finish
131A-7Trenton EstepSpectrum 0143Did Not Finish

11A-1Michael AdamsMygale SJ1319-
213A-2Trenton EstepSpectrum 01419-
32A-3Roman De AngelisPiper DL719-
44B-1Graham LobbanVan Diemen RF9419-
53B-2Stephen AdamsVan Diemen RF9219-
67B-3Keith LobbanVan Diemen RF9419-
76A-4Ben HurstPiper DL719-
85A-5Danby CrowderVan Diemen RF0519-
98A-6Mike LeeLola T-540E19-
109B-4Byron LeisReynard 92SF18-
1112B-5Ross SmithReynard 83SF17-
1211A-7Sean TomaselliVan Diemen RF0116-
1310B-6Bruce KitchenVan Diemen RF9210Did Not Finish

11A-1Trenton EstepSpectrum 01418-
23A-2Roman De AngelisPiper DL718-
35B-1Graham LobbanVan Diemen RF9418-
44B-2Stephen AdamsVan Diemen RF9218-
57B-3Keith LobbanVan Diemen RF9418-
68A-3Danby CrowderVan Diemen RF0518-
710B-4Byron LeisReynard 92SF17-
811B-5Bruce KitchenVan Diemen RF9217-
96A-4Ben HurstPiper DL717-
1012B-6Ross SmithReynard 83SF16-
119A-5Mike LeeLola T-540E13Did Not Finish
1213A-6Sean TomaselliVan Diemen RF0113Did Not Finish
132AMichael AdamsMygale SJ1318Disqualified

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.