The 2016 Toyo Tires F1600 Championship schedule consists of six weekends. Unlike previous years each event would be a tripleheader.

The season kicks off in May at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (CTMP) during the BEMC Spring Trophy Races. In June, the series returns to CTMP as a support event for the VARAC Canadian Historic Grand Prix event. In mid-July, competitors race at Shannonville Motorsport Park during CTCC Summer Challenge weekend. Then the Toyo Tires F1600 Championship makes its third of four stops at CTMP for the BARC Canadian Touring Trophy races. In late August, teams travel to Calabogie Motorsports Park for rounds thirteen, fourteen and fifteen. The BEMC Indian Summer Races is the series’ final weekend of competition and determines class champions.

Series entrants are also eligible to participate in the Formula 1600 Super Series, which includes drivers from Quebec. Points toward the Super Series championship are awarded at four events.

  • Canadian Grand Prix – Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve
  • VARAC Canadian Historic Grand Prix – Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
  • Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres – Trois-Rivieres
  • Ted Powell Races – Calabogie Motorsport Park

The single-seater, open-wheel race cars in the championship are powered by one of two engine options - a four-cylinder, 1600-cc Ford engine or the 1.5-liter HPD Honda L15A7. Both motors produce approximately 120-horsepower. A mixture of European and North American chassis is used by competitors. Minimum vehicle weight is determined by the suspension design and ranges from 1050 to 1125-lbs. Teams are required to use a spec tire – the Toyo Proxes R888.

Drivers collect championship points in one of two groups.

  • F1600A – This category is for newer chassis’ built between 1995 and 2014.
  • F1600B – This group is for cars constructed between 1994 and older with the Ford engine.

The manufacture date for the individual car and not the model is used to determine the year split and whether a vehicle is categorized as F1600A or F1600B.

The second half of the 2016 Toyo Tires F1600 Championship started with rounds ten, eleven and twelve at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park during the BARC Canadian Touring Trophy Races weekend. Drivers would compete in three heats around the ten-turn 2.459-mile road course.

Lap-1 of round ten for the 2016 Toyo Tires F1600 Championship at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park and fourteen competitors head into Moss Corner. Leading the field is the pole-sitter, Trenton Estep, in the No. 90 Exclusive Autosport Spectrum 014. Trailing Estep is the No. 6 Britain West Motorsports Mygale SJ13 is the second-fastest qualifier, Michael Adams. Trailing Adams are Roman De Angelis and Ben Hurst.
The winner of the weekend’s first race was Michael Adams. Adams was the second-fastest qualifier in the No. 9 Mygale SJ13 but passed the race leader, Trento Estep, on lap-1 for the victory. He started on the pole for Sunday’s first contest and traded the top spot with Estep and Roman De Angelis before earning the win. In the finale, Adams started behind Estep and finished in the runner-up position.
Stephen Adams, the father of Michael, joined this year’s series during the second weekend of competition at the VARAC Canadian Historic Grand Prix. The two-time Canadian Formula Ford champion was driving the No. 59 Van Diemen RF92 in the F1600B category. Adams moved to the front early in round ten and claimed the victory. He won Sunday’s first event but was unable to finish the second race.
Rookie Trenton Estep was another competitor that didn’t join the Toyo Tires F1600 Championship until the VARAC weekend. Estep was competing with Exclusive Autosport in the No. 90 Spectrum 014. To date, his record included five podium results, of which one was a victory. He started the weekend at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park with a pole and second-place finish. The next day a runner-up result was followed by a win.
In the opening weekend of racing, Formula Ford veteran Byron Leis scored his first Toyo Tires F1600 Championship victory. The driver of the No. 54 Reynard 92SF was gridded twelfth overall for round ten but moved up the order and finished second in F1600B. Leis claimed a third in class Sunday morning. In the finale, he captured his third podium of the event with his second runner-up result of the weekend.
Another rookie displaying a lot of talent in this year’s series was Roman De Angelis. After many runner-up results, De Angelis earned his first victory in round seven at Shannonville Motorsport Park during the CTCC Summer Challenge. He spent the weekend at the BARC Canadian Touring Trophy Races battling with Michael Adams and Trenton Estep. By the end of the event, De Angelis had three third-place finishes.
Although David Graham only participated in a limited number of events, he was always competitive. Graham opened the season with three podium results driving the No. 8 Van Diemen RF92. His next weekend was the BARC Canadian Touring Trophy Races. Graham began the weekend with a third in the F1600B category after a spin in Moss Corner. On Sunday, he earned a second place and his first win of 2016.
CASC Ontario Region road racing veteran Bruce Kitchen was having a difficult season. In nine starts, the best result for the No. 69 Van Diemen driver was fifth-place finish in the F1600B category at Shannonville Motorsport Park. Kitchen’s year heading into the BARC weekend also included four DNFs. He was unable to start round ten, but with repairs made for Sunday, Kitchen earned fourth and third-place finishes.

12A-1Michael AdamsMygale SJ1315-
21A-2Trenton EstepSpectrum 01415-
33A-3Roman De AngelisPiper DL715-
44A-4Ben HurstPiper DL715-
58B-1Stephen AdamsVan Diemen RF9215-
69A-5Danby CrowderVan Diemen RF0515-
712B-2Byron LeisReynard 92SF15-
87B-3David GrahamVan Diemen RF9215-
910A-6Mike LeeLola T-540E15-
1011A-7J.D. ReimsSpectrum 01414-
1114B-4Noel CastellWright Kitty Hawk14-
1215B-5Michael McGregorLola T-44013-
136B-6Kevin KapelkeVan Diemen RF936Did Not Finish
1413B-7Andrew MasonVan Diemen RF905Did Not Finish
-5BSteve BodrugVan Diemen RF93-Did Not Start
-16BBruce KitchenVan Diemen RF92-Did Not Start
--ASean TomaselliVan Diemen RF01-Did Not Start

11A-1Michael AdamsMygale SJ1315-
23A-2Trenton EstepSpectrum 01415-
32A-3Roman De AngelisPiper DL715-
44A-4Ben HurstPiper DL715-
55B-1Stephen AdamsVan Diemen RF9215-
66A-5Danby CrowderVan Diemen RF0515-
77B-2David GrahamVan Diemen RF9215-
89A-6Mike LeeLola T-540E15-
98B-3Byron LeisReynard 92SF15-
10-B-4Bruce KitchenVan Diemen RF9214-
1113B-5Noel CastellWright Kitty Hawk14-
12-A-7Sean TomaselliVan Diemen RF0114-
1314B-6Michael McGregorLola T-44013-
1411A-8J.D. ReimsSpectrum 0148Did Not Finish
-10BKevin KapelkeVan Diemen RF93-Did Not Start
-12BAndrew MasonVan Diemen RF90-Did Not Start
--BSteve BodrugVan Diemen RF93-Did Not Start

11A-1Trenton EstepSpectrum 01414-
22A-2Michael AdamsMygale SJ1314-
33A-3Roman De AngelisPiper DL714-
44A-4Ben HurstPiper DL714-
57B-1David GrahamVan Diemen RF9214-
610B-2Byron LeisReynard 92SF14-
78A-5Mike LeeLola T-540E14-
811B-3Bruce KitchenVan Diemen RF9214-
99A-6J.D. ReimsSpectrum 01414-
1013B-4Noel CastellWright Kitty Hawk13-
1112A-7Sean TomaselliVan Diemen RF0112-
1214B-5Michael McGregorLola T-44012-
135B-6Stephen AdamsVan Diemen RF926Did Not Finish
146A-8Danby CrowderVan Diemen RF056Did Not Finish
15-B-7Andrew MasonVan Diemen RF903Did Not Finish
--BKevin KapelkeVan Diemen RF93-Did Not Start
--BSteve BodrugVan Diemen RF93-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.