In September 2006, NASCAR announced the purchase of Canada’s premier stock car series - CASCAR. They also revealed a long-term sponsorship agreement with the Canadian Tire Corporation. The series’ first event took place in 2007 at Cayuga Speedway. The first season included many of the teams that had previously participated in the CASCAR series.

The 2015 championship opened at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park as it had done since 2012. The schedule looked much as it had in 2014 – the exception was the introduction of Sunset Speedway following the closure of Barrie Speedway. The opening round was followed by Autodrome Chaudiere, Sunset, Circuit ICAR, Edmonton International Raceway, Auto Clear Motor Speedway, Autodrome Saint-Eustache, Circuit Trois-Rivieres, Riverside International Speedway and the second visit to Canadian Tire Motorsport Park before ending the season at Kawartha Speedway.

The series cars are constructed to specifications and rules common to most stock car series. The chassis is a steel tube frame covered with a fiberglass body that is required to weigh no less than 3000-lbs. Body styles are from manufacturers such as Dodge (Avenger, Challenger and Charger), Ford (Fusion) and Chevrolet (Monte Carlo and Impala). Engine type and displacement are related to the make and model of the vehicle. The carbureted eight-cylinder motors produce approximately 600-horsepower.

After eleven races, four drivers had an opportunity to win the 2015 NASCAR Canadian Tire Championship – Scott Steckly, Jason Hathaway, Andrew Ranger and L.P. Dumoulin. Competitors would race on Kawartha Speedway’s 0.375-mile semi-banked oval for 250-laps in the Pinty’s 250 at Kawartha.

Twenty-two drivers were entered for the 2015 NASCAR Canadian Tire series finale. On the pole was the point’s leader, Scott Steckly driving the Canadian Tire-sponsored Dodge. Sharing the front row with Steckly was another Dodge piloted by the rookie, Cayden Lapcevich. Behind Steckly and Lapevich are third and fourth fastest qualifiers, Gary Klutt and title contender, Jason Hathaway.
The early season point’s leader, Jason Hathaway was one of four drivers in the hunt for the 2015 championship. Driving the No. 3 HGC/Williamson/Choko Chevrolet, Hathaway was just nine-markers behind three-time series champ, Scott Steckly. He qualified fourth and took the lead from Steckly on lap-48. Hathaway would not relinquish the position and captured his third win of the season – but fell short of the title.
Three-time series champion, Scott Steckly entered the finale as the point’s leader. A finish of fifth or better would give Steckly a record fourth title. He grabbed the pole, his fourth of the season, by just 0.040-seconds. At the drop of the green flag, Steckly jumped out front and led the first forty-eight-laps. He was passed by Jason Hathaway and finished second but Steckly secured the championship by four points.
Rookie, Cayden Lapcevich competed in only six NASCAR Canadian Tire events during 2015 and scored a season-high finish of third at Sunset Speedway. At Kawartha, Lapcevich qualified on the outside of the front row in the Tim Horton’s sponsored Dodge. During the race, his performance slipped and at the checkered flag, Lapcevich was in sixth place.
Just nine-points behind the championship leader, Andrew Ranger was one of two drivers with the best chance of the securing the 2015 title. If Ranger accomplished this goal, he would be tied with Scott Steckly for the most championships – at three. Unfortunately for Ranger, he was never a contender during the weekend. He started and finished tenth. Ranger was third in the final standings.
Another rookie, Marc-Antoine Camirand missed the two practice sessions. Without any track time, the driver of the Grafoid/Braille Battery Chevrolet could only manage to qualify twentieth in the twenty-two car field. However, it all came together for Camirand when it counted and during the race, he moved up fifteen-positions to finish fifth. His great drive earned him the Coca-Cola Move of the Race award.
Two-time NASCAR Canadian Tire Series Champion, D.J. Kennington was winless in 2015 and Kawartha would be his final opportunity for a victory. The highlight of Kennington’s season was a pole at Riverside International Speedway and a third-place finish at Autodrome Chaudiere. In the season finale, Kennington was gridded eight but ‘true to form’ he moved through the field and equaled his best result of the season – third.
Defending champion, L.P. Dumoulin had a mathematical chance of being the first back-to-back champ. However, at twenty-three points behind the leader Steckly, the other contenders – Jason Hathaway and Andrew Ranger had a much better chance of securing the crown. Dumoulin qualified fifth in the WeatherTech sponsored Dodge and finished fourth. He was fourth in the final standings.
Scott Steckly celebrates his fourth NASCAR Canadian Tire Series Championship. Steckly’s season started slowly with his worst finish a sixteenth in round three at Autodrome Chaudiere. His year turned around during the west coast swing when he won the races at Edmonton and Saskatoon. Steckly’s third victory of the year came in the penultimate round at Riverside International Speedway.

14Jason HathawayHGC/Williamson/Choko Chevrolet250-
21Scott StecklyCanadian Tire Dodge250-
38D.J. KenningtonCastrol Edge/Mahindra Tractors Dodge250-
45L.P. DumoulinWeatherTech Canada/Bellemare / Dodge250-
55Marc-Antoine CamirandGrafoid/Braille Battery Chevrolet250-
62Cayden LapcevichTim Hortons Dodge250-
79Alex TaglianiEpiPen/CGI/CanTorque Chevrolet250-
87Joey McColmTSC Stores Ford250-
917J.F. DumoulinBernier Crepeau Chrysler/Bellemare Dodge250-
1010Andrew RangerMopar/Pennzoil Dodge250-
113Gary KluttCTL Corp./Legendary Motorcar Dodge250-
1214Josh CollinsEastbound International Speedway Ford250-
136Mark DilleyLeland/Johnsonville/BDI Ford249-
1415James Van DomselaarSteel-Craft Door Products Chevrolet248-
1519Noel DowlerEmpire Mechanical Dodge247-
1621Adam DowlerMFP/Empire Mechanical Dodge246-
1722Brandon WhiteGrafoid Chevrolet246-
1812Anthony SimoneInnovative Plumbing & Mechanical Dodge230Fuel Pump
1913Matthew ScannellOMVIC/IGPC Ethanol/B&G Performance Dodge228-
2011Dwayne BakerGD Coates Superstore/Baker Perf. Dodge169Suspension
2116Kevin LacroixAuto Parts Plus/Total Dodge162Radiator
2218Jason WhiteHal-Nor Plumbing/Powder Ventures Dodge143Drive Line

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018

Return to home page.