In 2015, the Pro Formula Mazda Championship entered its twenty-fifth season as one of North America's premier open-wheel driver development series. Series graduates have gone on to race in F1, Indy Cars, NASCAR and IMSA.

The attraction of the Pro Formula Mazda series is the scholarship program. Nearly $1 million in prizes and awards will be distributed in 2015. The series champion will receive a scholarship package from Mazda to advance to Indy Lights, presented by Cooper Tires in 2016. Other champion's awards include a Cooper Tires Award for tires and a series award for race entries.

After several years the Mazda open-wheel championship replaced its race-proven Star Mazda with a new model. Beginning in 2004, competitors began racing a Pro Formula Mazda. It has proven to be a safe and reliable car.

The Pro Formula Mazda is manufactured by the Van Diemen / Elan Motorsports Technologies group. The chassis is a carbon-fiber tub with fiberglass bodywork. The front and rear suspension is a pushrod setup with two-way adjustable shock absorbers. Stopping the Pro Formula Mazda are four-piston calipers with vented rotors. It is powered by a 240-horsepower Renesis Mazda engine, also used in the road-going version of the Mazda RX-8. Bolted to the motor is a six-speed sequential transmission with a no-lift shift.

The opening weekend of the 2015 Pro Formula Mazda Championship was held at Saint Petersburg and ended in September at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. Races were in support of the IndyCar Series, except for the contest at Lucas Oil Raceway. All road and street course events were doubleheaders, except for Indianapolis Motor Speedway which hosted three rounds.

  • March 28-29 – St. Petersburg
  • April 11-12 – NOLA Motorsports Park
  • April 25-26 – Barber Motorsports Park
  • May 7-9 – Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • May 23 – Lucas Oil Raceway
  • June 13-14 - Streets of Toronto
  • July 18 - Iowa Speedway
  • August 1-2 – Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • September 12-13 – Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

In addition to the overall title, championships were on the line for:

  • Expert Championship - Drivers aged 30 and older
  • Team Championship

Rounds nine and ten of the 2015 Pro Formula Mazda Championship were held a Toronto's Exhibition Place. Drivers would compete in two contests around the eleven-turn 1.755-mile temporary street circuit.

Last season's USF2000 National Champion, Florian Latorre, drove the No. 10 Cape Motorsports Pro Formula Mazda. After several disappointing outings, Latorre found the top spot on the podium. In round nine at Toronto, he qualified on the pole and went flag-to-flag for his first series win. On Sunday, Latorre grabbed the lead but spun and had contact with Alessandro Latif, which resulted in a fourteenth-place finish.
After a couple of near misses, Pato O'Ward finished on the podium. The rookie drove the No. 82 Team Pelfrey Pro Formula Mazda. On his first visit to Toronto, O'Ward qualified fifth. On the opening lap of the race, he moved from his starting position to third. O'Ward passed Garrett Grist on the fourteenth circuit for second and finished 5.35-seconds behind the winner, Florian Latorre. O'Ward finished third in the finale.
Before the series stopped at Toronto, Timothe Buret earned five podium finishes, one of which was a victory at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Driving the No. 6 Juncos Racing Pro Formula Mazda, Buret was gridded sixth for Saturday's contest. He ran in fourth for much of the race, but when Pato O'Ward made his pass on Garrett Grist, Buret followed and finished third. He ended the weekend with a seventh-place result.
The podium for round nine of the 2015 Pro Formula Mazda Championship at Toronto's Exhibition Place. In the center is the reigning Cooper Tires USF2000 Champion and race winner, Florian Latorre. This was the first series victory for the Frenchman. On the left is the runner-up Pato O'Ward. Interestingly, this was O'Ward's first series rostrum. The final place on the podium is occupied by Juncos Racing's Timothe Buret.
Canadian Garrett Grist drove for Andretti Autosport last season and collected victories at Lucas Oil Raceway and Mid-Ohio. During the off-season, Grist switched teams and joined Juncos Racing in the No. 5 Pro Formula Mazda. He qualified second for round nine and held the position until being passed by a hard-charging Pato O'Ward. Grist dropped to a fifth-place finish. In the finale, he started on the pole and captured the win.
In 2015, Weiron Tan joined the Pro Formula Mazda Championship. Previously, the Malaysian had competed in open-wheel series in Asia, Europe and the Middle East. Tan drove the No. 22 Pro Formula Mazda for Andretti Autosport for this year's campaign. He started third in Saturday's contest at Toronto and finished thirteenth. Tan rebounded in the final event with a second-place result.
The podium for Sunday's Pro Formula Mazda Championship race at Toronto. In the center is the winner, Garrett Grist. After starting first, Grist lost the top spot but regained the lead at the end of a full-course yellow to earn his first victory of 2015. On the left is Weiron Tan. Like Grist, his results on Saturday were miserable, but he made up for it in the finale with a second-place result. Finishing third was Pato O'Ward.

11Florian LatorrePro Formula Mazda19-
25Patricio O'WardPro Formula Mazda19-
36Timothé BuretPro Formula Mazda19-
411Victor FranzoniPro Formula Mazda19-
52Garett GristPro Formula Mazda19-
615Kyle ConneryPro Formula Mazda19-
74Santiago UrrutiaPro Formula Mazda19-
814Raoul OwensPro Formula Mazda19-
913Alessandro LatifPro Formula Mazda19-
1016Bryson SchuttePro Formula Mazda19-
1117Bobby EberlePro Formula Mazda19-
1218Jay HorakPro Formula Mazda18-
133Weiron TanPro Formula Mazda0Accident
147Neil AlbericoPro Formula Mazda0Accident
158Will OwenPro Formula Mazda0Accident
169José GutiérrezPro Formula Mazda0Accident
1710Dalton KellettPro Formula Mazda0Accident
1812Daniel BurkettPro Formula Mazda0Accident

11Garett GristPro Formula Mazda17-
23Weiron TanPro Formula Mazda17-
36Patricio O'WardPro Formula Mazda17-
47Santiago UrrutiaPro Formula Mazda17-
58José GutiérrezPro Formula Mazda17-
614Raoul OwensPro Formula Mazda17-
75Timothé BuretPro Formula Mazda17-
89Will OwenPro Formula Mazda17-
912Daniel BurkettPro Formula Mazda17-
1015Kyle ConneryPro Formula Mazda17-
1116Bryson SchuttePro Formula Mazda17-
1218Jay HorakPro Formula Mazda16-
1313Alessandro LatifPro Formula Mazda15Accident
142Florian LatorrePro Formula Mazda13Accident
1517Bobby EberlePro Formula Mazda12-
1611Victor FranzoniPro Formula Mazda4Accident
174Neil AlbericoPro Formula Mazda2Accident
-10Dalton KellettPro Formula Mazda-Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.