In 2006, the International Motor Sport Association (IMSA) introduced IMSA Lites. The series was created to provide an opportunity for drivers competing at the amateur level to advance to a professional series or to prepare for a category such as the American Le Mans Series (ALMS). The mission is to develop future drivers and teams for the ALMS, now called the Cooper Tires Prototype Lites Powered by Mazda.

Initially, the series featured three classes of purpose-built sports racing prototypes Lites 1, Lites 2 and Lites 3. However, Lites 3 entries were declining each year and the 2010 championship was conducted for the Lites 1 and 2 categories.

  • Lites 1 (L1) This is the fastest category and is comprised exclusively of the Elan DP-02 manufactured by Elan Van Diemen. The DP-02 features a carbon fiber monocoque fitted with an aerodynamic package that includes a front splitter, diffuser and rear wing. The car is powered by a 230-horsepower 2.0-liter four-cylinder Mazda MZR motor mounted to a six-speed sequential transmission.
  • Lites 2 (L2) The L2 category was changed in 2013 to adopt the Elan DP-02. This class uses the 2.3-liter four-cylinder Mazda engine, which produces 200-horsepower.

The 2015 IMSA Prototype Lites Championship consisted of seven race weekends, with doubleheaders at each event.

  • March 18-20 Sebring International Raceway
  • April 10-12 NOLA Motorsports Park
  • June 25-27 Watkins Glen International
  • July 9-12 Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
  • August -7-9 Road America
  • August 28-29 Virginia International Raceway
  • September 30 - October 2 - Road Atlanta

Rounds five and six of the 2015 Cooper Tires Prototype Lites Powered by Mazda were held during the Sahlen's Six Hours of The Glen TUDOR United SportsCar Championship event at Watkins Glen International. Drivers would compete in two races around the eleven turn 3.337-mile road course.

On the first lap of round six, nineteen competitors enter Watkin Glen International's corner two. Leading the field is the pole-sitter and points leader, Kenton Koch, in the No. 60 JDC Motorsports Elan DP-02. Trialing Koch and making a fantastic start is the third-fastest qualifier, Austin Versteeg, driving the No. 16 Performance Tech Motors Elan DP-02. In the third spot is the other front-row qualifier, Matt McMurry.
Kenton Koch entered the Watkins Glen International weekend with three victories in four starts and the championship lead. Koch qualified on the pole for Friday's contest driving the No. 60 JDC Motorsports Elan DP-02. He led from flag to flag but not before coming under pressure from Robert Alon. The following day, Koch started in the top spot and collected win number five in challenging weather conditions.
Robert Alon qualified fourth fastest in L1 for the weekend's first race at Watkins Glen International. However, the driver of the No. 00 Performance Tech Motors Elan DP-02 wasted little time moving to the second position. Alon would finish 0.396-seconds behind the winner, Kenton Koch. This equaled his best result from June of last year. On Saturday, Alon was gridded fourth but finished in the fifth position.
Like his L1 counterpart, Kenton Koch, Todd Slusher had three L2 wins in the first four races of the 2015 season. On Friday at Watkins Glen International, Slusher earned his fourth victory of the season after qualifying second in class. He started the finale in a distant second to Brian Alder. Driving the No. 62 ONE Motorsports Elan DP-02, Slusher finished in the runner-up position and still led the title chase.
The third member of the JDC Motorsports team was Clark Toppe, who drove the No. 10 Elan DP-02. Toppe was second in the standings and trailed his teammate Kenton Koch by twenty-two markers. On Friday at Watkins Glen International, he qualified third but finished fourth. Toppe started fifth on the grid the next day but charged to a runner-up result and maintained his place in the standings.
The No. 22 Bar1 Motorsports prepared Elan DP-02 was driven by Brian Alder. Alder was the 2013 and 2014 L2 category champion, but he was having a challenging season in 2015. He had one victory, while the points leader, Todd Slusher, had three. Alder lost more ground to Slusher when he finished second in race one at Watkins Glen International. However, Alder redeemed himself on Saturday with a convincing win.

1L1Kenton KochElan DP-0214-
2L1Robert AlonElan DP-0214-
3L1Austin VersteegElan DP-0214-
4L1Clark ToppeElan DP-0214-
5L1Matt McMurryElan DP-0214-
6L1John FalbElan DP-0214-
7L1McKay SnowElan DP-0214-
8L1Don YountElan DP-0214-
9L1Dave HouseElan DP-0214-
10L2Todd SlusherElan DP-0214-
11L2Brian AlderElan DP-0214-
12L1Lee AlexanderElan DP-0214-
13L1Stuart RettieElan DP-0214-
14L2John SalmonElan DP-0214-
15L1Alastair McEwanElan DP-0214-
16L2Gerhard WatzingerElan DP-0213-
17L1Michal ChlumeckyElan DP-0213-
18L1Tony BullockElan DP-024Did Not Finish
19L1Joel JancoElan DP-020Did Not Finish
20L2Naj HusainElan DP-020Did Not Start

1L1Kenton KochElan DP-0211-
2L1Clark ToppeElan DP-0211-
3L1McKay SnowElan DP-0211-
4L1John FalbElan DP-0211-
5L1Robert AlonElan DP-0211-
6L1Austin VersteegElan DP-0211-
7L1Don YountElan DP-0211-
8L1Michal ChlumeckyElan DP-0211-
9L1Stuart RettieElan DP-0211-
10L2Brian AlderElan DP-0211-
11L2Gerhard WatzingerElan DP-0211-
12L1Lee AlexanderElan DP-0211-
13L2Todd SlusherElan DP-0211-
14L1Matt McMurryElan DP-0211-
15L1Tony BullockElan DP-0210-
16L1Dave HouseElan DP-029-
17L2John SalmonElan DP-028Did Not Finish
18L1Alastair McEwanElan DP-022Did Not Finish
19L1Joel JancoElan DP-022Did Not Finish
20L2Naj HusainElan DP-020Did Not Start

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017

Return to home page.