The Infiniti / Indy Pro Series made its debut in mid-2002 with an inaugural season of seven races run in conjunction with the Indy Car Racing Series. In 2008 the championship was renamed the Firestone Indy Lights Series when Firestone tires became the primary sponsor. In 2014, Cooper Tires replaced Firestone as the sole tire supplier for the series. This also resulted in a name change, and it is now titled Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires.

The series is the third and final step on the Mazda Road to Indy. The Mazda Road to Indy is the only driver development program in the world to feature a champion's scholarship at every level to advance to the next step on the ladder. The Indy Lights champion is awarded a scholarship package of nearly $1 million to assist in the ascent to the IndyCar Series. In addition, to the healthy prize fund, competitors also benefit from television coverage on the NBC Sports Network.

The sixteen-race schedule kicked off at Saint Petersburg and concluded in September at Mazda Raceway Laguna.

  • Mazda Grand Prix of Saint Petersburg - 1 - Streets of St. Petersburg
  • Mazda Grand Prix of Saint Petersburg - 2 - Streets of St. Petersburg
  • Grand Prix of Long Beach - Long Beach Street Circuit
  • Legacy Indy Lights 100 - 1 - Barber Motorsports Park
  • Legacy Indy Lights 100 - 2 - Barber Motorsports Park
  • Mazda Grand Prix of Indianapolis - 1 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • Mazda Grand Prix of Indianapolis - 2 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • Freedom 100 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • Grand Prix of Toronto - 1 - Exhibition Place, Toronto
  • Grand Prix of Toronto - 2 - Exhibition Place, Toronto
  • Milwaukee Mile 100 - Milwaukee Mile
  • Iowa Corn Indy 100 - Iowa Speedway
  • Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Mid-Ohio - 1 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Mid-Ohio - 2 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • Indy Lights Grand Prix Presented By Cooper Tires - 1 - Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca
  • Indy Lights Grand Prix Presented By Cooper Tires - 2 - Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

Of significant news in the off-season was the replacement of the Infiniti-powered Dallara IPS. Since 2002, drivers have competed in the Dallara IPS, but in 2015 they would be using the Dallara IL-15 and a new engine. The open-wheel, single-seat racer has a ground-effect underbody and outboard wings front and rear. The monocoque chassis is constructed using carbon fiber honeycomb composite. The Dallara has a minimum weight of 1,400 pounds, which includes all lubricants and coolants used during the event, but does not include fuel or the driver.

COOPER/INDY LIGHTS racing tires are mounted on Motegi aluminum wheels - 15-inch diameter x 10 front and 15-inch diameter x 14 rear.

The car is powered by a four-cylinder 2.0-liter turbocharged Mazda AER P63 engine developed by Advanced Engine Research. The motor produces 450 horsepower with a push-to-pass feature which increases the horsepower by an additional fifty. The Dallara IL-15 is fitted with a six-speed sequential transmission.

The new package is capable of 200 mph.

Rounds nine and ten of the Indy Lights series were conducted at Toronto's Exhibition Place. Drivers would compete in two contests around the eleven-turn 1.755-mile temporary street circuit. Sunday's race was shortened to thirty laps due to rain.

On lap-14 of Saturday's race, there was contact between the leaders, Nelson Piquet and R.C. Enerson. The incident led to the pair's retirement giving the lead and win to the third-fastest qualifier, Spencer Pigot. Pigot started on the pole for Sunday's contest. He would lead flag-to-flag for his fourth victory of the season. The result also moved him within eleven points of the championship leader, Jack Harvey.
Jack Harvey finished second in last year's championship due to a tie-breaker. 2015 would be an opportunity for Harvey to redeem himself. He headed into Toronto with sixth podium results, of which two were victories and the points lead. Harvey qualified fourth in round nine and finished 0.682 seconds behind the winner, Spencer Pigot. The next day, in wet conditions, he started fifth and collected a runner-up result.
Kyle Kaiser piloted the No. 18 InterVision Dallara IL-15. The former Pro Mazda competitor was in his rookie season. Although Kaiser had accidents at Long Beach and Indianapolis, he entered round nine, fifth in the championship points. In the weekend's first race, at Toronto, Kaiser finished third after Felix Serralles was disqualified. On Sunday, he had another crash but retained his position in the title chase.
Since his impressive debut at Saint Petersburg, where he won both rounds, newcomer Ed Jones collected his third victory at Indianapolis and sat third in points. At Toronto, Jones qualified sixth for race one in the No. 11 Toys for Boys Miami / United Rivers Dallara IL-15 and finished fifth. The finale would be more challenging. Jones started second and despite a spin and visit to the pits, Jones finished third.
R.C. Enerson tested the limits of the new Dallara IL-15 in the weekend's first race at Toronto. Enerson was second fastest in qualifying, driving the No. 7 Lucas Oil Dallara IL-15. On lap-14 of the race, he left his braking too late and ran over the back of Nelson Piquet, Jr. The car flew into the air and went backward and upside down, hitting the catch fence. Enerson was unhurt and returned to finish fifth on Sunday.

13Spencer PigotDallara IL-1534-
24Jack HarveyDallara IL-1534-
39Kyle KaiserDallara IL-1534-
47Shelby BlackstockDallara IL-1534-
56Ed JonesDallara IL-1534-
611Ethan RingelDallara IL-1518Mechanical
71Nelson Piquet, Jr.Dallara IL-1514Accident
82R.C. EnersonDallara IL-1513Accident
910Scott AndersonDallara IL-151Accident
108Juan PiedrahitaDallara IL-150Accident
115Felix SerrallesDallara IL-1534Disqualified

11Spencer PigotDallara IL-1530-
25Jack HarveyDallara IL-1530-
32Ed JonesDallara IL-1530-
48Juan PiedrahitaDallara IL-1528-
53R.C. EnersonDallara IL-1527-
67Shelby BlackstockDallara IL-1525-
76Felix SerrallesDallara IL-1525-
84Nelson Piquet, Jr.Dallara IL-1519Accident
99Kyle KaiserDallara IL-1518Accident
1010Scott AndersonDallara IL-1517-
1111Ethan RingelDallara IL-1512Accident

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.