The Infiniti / Indy Pro Series made its debut in mid-2002 with an inaugural season of seven races run in conjunction with the Indy Car Racing Series. In 2008 the championship was renamed the Firestone Indy Lights Series when Firestone tires became the primary sponsor. In 2014, Cooper Tires replaced Firestone as the sole tire supplier for the series. This also resulted in a name change, and it is now titled Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires.

The series is the third and final step on the Mazda Road to Indy. The Mazda Road to Indy is the only driver development program in the world to feature a champion's scholarship at every level to advance to the next step on the ladder. The Indy Lights champion is awarded a scholarship package of nearly $1 million to assist in the ascent to the IndyCar Series. In addition, to the healthy prize fund, competitors also benefit from television coverage on the NBC Sports Network.

The sixteen-race schedule kicked off at Saint Petersburg and concluded in September at Mazda Raceway Laguna.

  • Mazda Grand Prix of Saint Petersburg - 1 - Streets of St. Petersburg
  • Mazda Grand Prix of Saint Petersburg - 2 - Streets of St. Petersburg
  • Grand Prix of Long Beach - Long Beach Street Circuit
  • Legacy Indy Lights 100 - 1 - Barber Motorsports Park
  • Legacy Indy Lights 100 - 2 - Barber Motorsports Park
  • Mazda Grand Prix of Indianapolis - 1 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • Mazda Grand Prix of Indianapolis - 2 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • Freedom 100 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • Grand Prix of Toronto - 1 - Exhibition Place, Toronto
  • Grand Prix of Toronto - 2 - Exhibition Place, Toronto
  • Milwaukee Mile 100 - Milwaukee Mile
  • Iowa Corn Indy 100 - Iowa Speedway
  • Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Mid-Ohio - 1 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Mid-Ohio - 2 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • Indy Lights Grand Prix Presented By Cooper Tires - 1 - Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca
  • Indy Lights Grand Prix Presented By Cooper Tires - 2 - Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

Of significant news in the off-season was the replacement of the Infiniti-powered Dallara IPS. Since 2002, drivers have competed in the Dallara IPS, but in 2015 they would be using the Dallara IL-15 and a new engine. The open-wheel, single-seat racer has a ground-effect underbody and outboard wings front and rear. The monocoque chassis is constructed using carbon fiber honeycomb composite. The Dallara has a minimum weight of 1,400 pounds, which includes all lubricants and coolants used during the event, but does not include fuel or the driver.

COOPER/INDY LIGHTS racing tires are mounted on Motegi aluminum wheels - 15-inch diameter x 10 front and 15-inch diameter x 14 rear.

The car is powered by a four-cylinder 2.0-liter turbocharged Mazda AER P63 engine developed by Advanced Engine Research. The motor produces 450 horsepower with a push-to-pass feature which increases the horsepower by an additional fifty. The Dallara IL-15 is fitted with a six-speed sequential transmission.

The new package is capable of 200 mph.

The 2015 Indy Lights series began with a doubleheader at the Streets of Saint Petersburg. Drivers would compete in a thirty-lap contest on Saturday and end the weekend with a forty-five-lap race around the fourteen-turn 1.800 temporary street circuit.

Ed Jones was among many newcomers to this season's Indy Lights championship. Jones, who calls Dubai home, has competed in several European open-wheel series and claimed the 2013 European F3 Open title. This season, he was driving the No. 11 Toys for Boys Miami / United Rivers Dallara IL-15. At St. Pete, Jones was the class of the field. He started on the pole both days and went flag-to-flag for the victories.
Jack Harvey lost last year's Indy Lights championship on a tie-breaker. In 2015, he was back with Schmidt Peterson / Curb-Agajanian driving the No. 42 Dallara IL-15 with the familiar livery. In the weekend's first race, Harvey qualified third but was in second by the first turn. He chased the eventual winner, Ed Jones, but was never close enough to challenge for first place. Sunday would end with the same results.
Spencer Pigot finished as the runner-up in the Mazda Road to Indy USF2000 National Championship in 2011 and 2012. In 2014, he won the Pro Mazda Championship with Juncos Racing and used his prize money to compete in this year's Indy Lights series. Pigot joined Juncos Racing for his debut and drove the No. 12 Mazda / Doug Mockett Dallara IL-15. In rounds one and two, he grabbed a pair of third-place finishes.
Canadian Scott Hargrove finished second in last year's Pro Mazda championship when his transmission failed in the final race. However, he won the IMSA Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Canada. His participation at St Pete was funded by some British Columbia businessmen and was a one-off. Hargrove qualified and finished fourth in round one. On Sunday, he finished sixth after losing positions to Spencer Pigot and Kyle Kaiser.
After two less-than-stellar seasons with the Marussia F1 Team, Max Chilton joined Carlin to participate in the 2015 Indy Lights series. Chilton drove the No. 14 BlippAR-sponsored Dallara IL-15 at Saint Petersburg. He started Saturday's race on the outside of the front row but was eliminated on lap-2 when there was contact with Felix Serralles. In the finale, Chilton redeemed himself with a fourth-place finish.

11Ed JonesDallara IL-1530-
23Jack HarveyDallara IL-1530-
35Spencer PigotDallara IL-1530-
44Scott HargroveDallara IL-1530-
56Kyle KaiserDallara IL-1530-
611Juan PiedrahitaDallara IL-1530-
710Scott AndersonDallara IL-1530-
813Ethan RingelDallara IL-1530-
99R.C. EnersonDallara IL-1530-
1012Shelby BlackstockDallara IL-1529-
118Matthew BrabhamDallara IL-1528-
122Max ChiltonDallara IL-151Accident
137Felix SerrallesDallara IL-151Accident

11Ed JonesDallara IL-1545-
23Jack HarveyDallara IL-1545-
35Spencer PigotDallara IL-1545-
42Max ChiltonDallara IL-1545-
57Kyle KaiserDallara IL-1545-
64Scott HargroveDallara IL-1545-
76Matthew BrabhamDallara IL-1545-
88Felix SerrallesDallara IL-1545-
910Juan PiedrahitaDallara IL-1545-
1011Scott AndersonDallara IL-1545-
1112Shelby BlackstockDallara IL-1545-
1213Ethan RingelDallara IL-1545-
139R.C. EnersonDallara IL-154Engine

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.