The Infiniti / Indy Pro Series made its debut in mid-2002 with an inaugural season of seven races run in conjunction with the Indy Car Racing Series. In 2008 the championship was renamed the Firestone Indy Lights Series when Firestone tires became the primary sponsor. The series is the third and final step on the Mazda Road to Indy.

The Mazda Road to Indy is the only driver development program in the world to feature a championís scholarship at every level to advance to the next step on the ladder. The Indy Lights champion is awarded a scholarship package of nearly $1 million to assist in the ascent to the IndyCar Series. In addition, to the healthy prize fund, competitors also benefit from television coverage on the NBC Sports Network.

In 2014, there were some changes to the series:

  • Cooper Tires replaced Firestone tires and are now co-branded COOPER/INDY LIGHTS. Also, the series is now called Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires.
  • Shock absorbers were replaced by the new Dynamic DSSV cartridge type.
  • Andersen Promotions was appointed the new series administrator, not only for Indy Lights but also for Pro Mazda and USF2000.

The fourteen-race schedule kicked off at Saint Petersburg and concluded in August at Sonoma Raceway.

  • Saint Petersburg 100 - Streets of St. Petersburg
  • Long Beach 100 - Long Beach Street Circuit
  • Legacy Indy Lights 100 - 1 - Barber Motorsports Park
  • Legacy Indy Lights 100 - 2 - Barber Motorsports Park
  • Grand Prix Indianapolis - 1 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • Grand Prix Indianapolis - 2 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • Freedom 100 - Indianapolis Motor Speedway
  • Pocono 100 - Pocono Raceway
  • Grand Prix of Toronto - Exhibition Place, Toronto
  • Grand Prix of Mid-Ohio - 1 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • Grand Prix of Mid-Ohio - 2 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • Milwaukee Mile 100 - Milwaukee Mile
  • Grand Prix of Sonoma 1 - Sonoma Raceway
  • Grand Prix of Sonoma 2 - Sonoma Raceway

Drivers compete in the Dallara IPS, designed and manufactured for the Infiniti Pro Series. The open-wheel, single-seat racer is equipped with a ground-effect underbody and outboard wings front and rear. The monocoque chassis is constructed using carbon fiber and composites. The Dallara has a minimum weight of 1,430 pounds, which includes all lubricants and coolants used during the event, but does not include fuel or the driver.

COOPER/INDY LIGHTS racing tires are mounted on 15-inch diameter x 10 front and 15-inch diameter x 14 rear wheels.

The car is powered by a 3.5-liter Infiniti Q45 engine, producing approximately 420 horsepower at 8,200 rpm and can reach speeds of 190 horsepower on superspeedways. The power is transferred to a Ricardo six-forward gear transmission with a sequential shifter.

Rounds ten and eleven of the Indy Lights championship were held at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Drivers would compete in two contests around the thirteen-turn 2.258-mile road course. The first race was forty-minutes in length and the second would be forty laps.

Mid-Ohio was one of four venues that would host doubleheaders.

The contenders for this year's championship appeared to be Gabby Chaves and Zach Veach. However, by the end of the Mid-Ohio weekend, there was a third challenger. Jack Harvey entered round ten in third place, forty-eight points behind Chaves. However, Harvey would dominate the proceedings and collect two wins. The result moved him to second in the standings, just eighteen markers out of the lead.
The Indy Lights points leader, Gabby Chaves, entered round ten with a twenty-one-point gap over Zach Veach and ended the weekend eighteen markers ahead of Jack Harvey. Chaves qualified fourth fastest for race one at Mid-Ohio but could not match the pace of Harvey and finished second. The following day, he started fourth and inherited a third-place result when Matthew Brabham and Luiz Razia had contact.
Brazilian Luiz Razia had some solid runs earlier in the year and was victorious in the second race at the Indianapolis Grand Prix. However, accidents at Pocono Raceway and Toronto's Exhibition Place removed him from contention for this season's crown. Razia bounced back with a third-place finish in Saturday's race at Mid-Ohio. His bad luck returned in race two when contact on lap-1 caused him to finish eleventh.
Second-year Indy Lights competitor Zach Veach had a solid start to the season with victories at Saint Petersburg and Barber Motorsports Park. Veach led the championship until round eight when Gabby Chaves 'got the upper hand.' Veach qualified third for the weekend's first race at Mid-Ohio and battled with Matthew Brabham before finishing fourth. He ended the weekend with a second-place result after starting fifth.
Rookie Matthew Brabham won the weekend's first race at the Indianapolis Grand Prix in the No. 83 Andretti Autosport Dallara IPS. Last season's Pro Mazda Champion started fifth race one at Mid-Ohio and was in fourth place when he had transmission issues; he dropped back to finish fifth. He was gridded third for the finale; however, he spun off on the opening lap with a flat tire and could not continue.

11Jack HarveyDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
24Gabby ChavesDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
32Luiz RaziaDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
43Zach VeachDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
55Matthew BrabhamDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
66Axcil JefferiesDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
77Zack MeyerDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
810Scott AndersonDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
98Juan PiedrahitaDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
1012Juan Pablo GarciaDallara IPS / Infiniti30-
119Jimmy SimpsonDallara IPS / Infiniti29-
1211Ryan PhinnyDallara IPS / Infiniti29-

11Jack HarveyDallara IPS / Infiniti40-
25Zach VeachDallara IPS / Infiniti40-
34Gabby ChavesDallara IPS / Infiniti40-
46Axcil JefferiesDallara IPS / Infiniti40-
57Juan PiedrahitaDallara IPS / Infiniti40-
612Juan Pablo GarciaDallara IPS / Infiniti40-
710Ryan PhinnyDallara IPS / Infiniti40-
88Jimmy SimpsonDallara IPS / Infiniti40-
911Scott AndersonDallara IPS / Infiniti40-
109Zack MeyerDallara IPS / Infiniti39-
112Luiz RaziaDallara IPS / Infiniti39-
123Matthew BrabhamDallara IPS / Infiniti0Accident

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019

Return to home page.