With the popularity of pickup trucks among consumers, it seemed only natural that NASCAR could successfully introduce a series for these vehicles. The concept of a championship using tube-frame trucks made its debut in 1995 with twenty events. Winning the first NASCAR SuperTruck title was Mike Skinner in a Chevrolet. The current NASCAR Camping World Truck Series schedule is made up of twenty-two events. The season starts February 22 at Daytona International Speedway and concludes at Homestead-Miami Speedway on November 15. Most races are contested on the traditional paved ovals; however, this year, there are two exceptions, the road course at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park and Eldora Speedway, a dirt track.

The trucks are constructed using a formula that is similar to the cars. Bodies are hung on a steel tube-frame chassis built to NASCAR specifications. The vehicles are powered by 6-liter V8 engines, which produce approximately 700-horsepower using the unrestricted regulations and about 450-horsepower in the restricted rules. The naturally aspirated motors are fitted with a four-barrel carburetor and run on 98-octane E15 unleaded gasoline. The minimum weight for a truck without a driver is 3,400-pounds.

Manufacturers participating in the series are Chrysler (RAM), Ford (F-150), General Motors (Chevrolet Silverado) and Toyota (Tundra).

The stop at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park was the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series’ first visit to a road course since 2000 at Watkins Glen International. Drivers would compete for sixty-four laps around the ten-turn 2.459-mile circuit.

Thirty NASCAR Camping World Truck Series drivers head into Canadian Tire Motorsport Park’s turn one for the sixty-four lap Chevrolet Silverado 250. On the pole, for the second time, this season is James Buescher in the No. 31 Motomaster Eliminator Chevrolet Silverado. Sharing the front row with Buescher is the No. 29 Cooper Standard Performance Products Ford F-150 driven by Ryan Blaney.
The fourth-fastest qualifier, Chase Elliott, moved the No. 94 Aaron’s Dream Machine Chevrolet Silverado into first place on the second circuit and held the position for twenty-three laps. Although Elliott lost the top spot, he remained in contention. With the event nearing its conclusion, Elliott caught the race leader, Ty Dillon. On the final lap, he made contact with Dillon and the last turn and won his first series race.
Finishing in the runner-up position at the inaugural Chevrolet Silverado 250 was Chad Hackenbracht. Like Elliott, Hackenbracht was not in the hunt for the championship; his best result to date was fifteenth place at Pocono Raceway. The driver of the No. 51 Tastee Apple / Ingersoll Rand Toyota Tundra qualified eighth fastest. The incidents between Elliott / Dillon and Papis / Skeen allowed him to finish second.
Miguel Paludo also benefitted from the contact between the leaders, Chase Elliot, Ty Dillon, Max Papis and Mike Skeen. The Brazilian put the No. 32 Duroline Brakes and Components Chevrolet Silverado fifth on the starting grid. He moved into the top spot on lap-37 and led for ten circuits. Paludo was sixth on the final lap but moved third-place in the last corner. This was an excellent addition to his runner-up result at Pocono.
The event included some ‘road course ringers’ and one of them was Mike Skeen. Skeen was one of the front runners in the World Challenge series. He was familiar with the track, having won last year’s event. Skeen was at the top of the timesheets in the first two practice sessions and qualified third fastest. On the final lap, he was fourth, but an aggressive move resulted in contact with Max Papis and a thirteen-place finish.
The points leader since round four at Kansas Speedway was Matt Crafton. Crafton could attribute his success to a win at Kansas Speedway and not a single finish outside the top ten. In round fourteen, he qualified thirteenth fastest in the No. 88 Menards Toyota Tundra. He wasn’t competitive and finished tenth. However, the other title contenders encountered issues and Crafton retained his place in the title chase.
Qualifying on the pole for the sixty-four lap Chevrolet Silverado 250 was James Buescher. Buescher was also the fastest qualifier in round four at Kansas Speedway but was yet to collect a victory in 2013. Buescher led the first two circuits of the race before being passed by the eventual winner, Chase Elliott. The driver of the No. 31 Motomaster Eliminator Chevrolet Silverado fell out of contention and finished ninth.
The Richard Childress Racing No. 3 Chevrolet Silverado was driven by Ty Dillon. Dillon entered the weekend fifty-eight markers behind the championship leader, Matt Crafton. He qualified sixth fastest and moved to the front early. As the race wound down, Dillon was in the lead but low on fuel. On the final lap, an aggressive pass by Chase Elliott sent Dillon into the turn ten tire wall and resulted in a seventeenth-place finish.
There were three Canadian entries at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park – Derek White, Martin Roy and Alex Guenette. Guenette was the fastest qualifier in the No. 39 SportChek Chevrolet Silverado but retired on lap-45 with an oil line problem. It was Roy who would deliver the best result for the Canadians. Driving the No. 84 Gamache / Veloce, he qualified twenty-first and finished fourteenth.

14Chase ElliottHendrick Motorsports / Chevrolet Silverado64-
28Chad HackenbrachtKyle Busch Motorsports / Toyota Tundra64-
35Miguel PaludoTurner Scott Motorsports / Chevrolet Silverado64-
49Darrell Wallace Jr.Kyle Busch Motorsports / Toyota Tundra64-
517Ron Hornaday Jr.NTS Motorsports / Chevrolet Silverado64-
67Max PapisNTS Motorsports / Chevrolet Silverado64-
718Ross ChastainBrad Keselowski Racing / Ford F15064-
815Timothy PetersRed Horse Racing / Toyota Tundra64-
91James BuescherTurner Scott Motorsports / Chevrolet Silverado64-
1013Matt CraftonThorSport Racing / Toyota Tundra64-
1124Bryan SilasTR32 / Ford F15064-
1225John Wes TownleyRed Horse Racing / Toyota Tundra64-
133Mike SkeenSharp Gallaher Racing / Chevrolet Silverado64-
1421Martin RoyGlenden Enterprises / Chevrolet Silverado64-
1512German QuirogaRed Horse Racing / Toyota Tundra64-
162Ryan BlaneyBrad Keselowski Racing / Ford F15064-
176Ty DillonRichard Childress Racing / Chevrolet Silverado64-
1810Brendan GaughanRichard Childress Racing / Chevrolet Silverado62-
1922Dakoda ArmstrongTurn One Racing / Chevrolet Silverado61-
2030Norm BenningNorm Benning Racing / Chevrolet Silverado57-
2126Derek WhiteSS-Green Light Racing / Chevrolet Silverado55Rear Hub
2211Jeb BurtonTurner Scott Motorsports / Chevrolet Silverado54-
2328Jennifer Jo CobbJJC Racing / Dodge Ram52-
2423Max GreshamSharp Gallaher Racing / Chevrolet Silverado47-
2514Alex GuenetteDave Jacombs Racing / Chevrolet Silverado45Oil Line
2619Joey CoulterKyle Busch Motorsports / Toyota Tunda41-
2720Brennan NewberryNTS Motorsports / Chevrolet Silverado38Transmission
2816Johnny SauterThorSport Racing / Toyota Tunda34Gas Line
2927Carl LongSS-Green Light Racing / Chevrolet Silverado4Brakes
3029Chris LaffertyJJC Racing / Chevrolet Silverado3Clutch

Copyright Notice:
All content (photographs and text) appearing on this website are the exclusive property of © www.zoompics.com and are protected under International copyright laws. The subject matter on this website may not be reproduced, copied, stored or manipulated.

© Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018

Return to home page.